Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
looking for mipsel live-cd (or something that boots gentoo)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
zaai
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 7:58 pm    Post subject: looking for mipsel live-cd (or something that boots gentoo) Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm trying to build Gentoo on a mipsel machine, so I'm looking for a mipsel live-cd.
Sofar I only found the regular mips live-cd (Big Endian).

Alternatively, I can setup a cross-compile toolchain but I've never done this before and the task seems rather daunting. I also don't have weeks to figure it all out.

If someone has a simple howto for crosscompiling a Gentoo environment then I would be happy to try it out. I did find several guides to cross compiling but again, those all require modifying scripts to fit the Gentoo directory structure. I'm not that familiar with Gentoo.
The closest I could find to crosscompiling Gentoo is the 'crossdev' package but that fails with:
Quote:
$ crossdev --arch=mipsel

* No valid binutils packages were found. If you're using unstable packages, then this means
that no binutils packages were found with unstable keywords. Mark a package as unstable, or use
stable packages.

Odd, since I do have the latest stable binutils. There must be some other requirement.
Quote:
$ emerge -p -v binutils

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild R ] sys-devel/binutils-2.15.92.0.2-r1 -bootstrap -build -debug -multitarget +nls (-uclibc) 10,824 kB

Hmm, does this means it should be build with bootstrap, build, multitarget, uclibc flags?
Someone mentioned that crossdev is deprecated but I didn't find a better alternative.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Athlon64 X2 4800+ on Asus M2N SLI deluxe with 4GB Dual channel