Setting up internet, mounting.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Qweasda
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 4:40 am    Post subject: Setting up internet, mounting. Reply with quote

Hello.
I got Gentoo and installed it from a stage one install and got everything set up and running good. First off, I love the speed of it, even fluxbox seems to run faster than other distros. :)

Now my problems. I'm new to Linux, came from Mandrake and Redhat with automounting/supermounting setups (where you pop in a CD/floppy and it mounts itself)
Well I want to mount a floppy, and a CD but have no luck.
'mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom' doesn't work, I also tried just about every other varient similar to that, no luck. I get either "you must supply a filesystem" or something along that line. So I tried 'mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso0669' as well as throwing that iso0669 in every space of that command I just posted..no luck.
For the floppy: Is it not located in /dev/fd0? I thought that's what RH and MDK used.
How do I mount/use my floppy?

About the internet. I want to mount these items to get my internet to work. During setup my internet worked perfectlyjust by typing 'dhcpcd eth0' In the actual distro it doesn't work. I know what the module it uses, however: natsemi.
I don't have this module, and tried using a CD (which I burnt myelf) and floppy to compile the modules (which I downloaded). but can't mount!

Oh, and in case it matters, I used the gentoo-sources kernel.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I can literally do nothing without my internet. Thanks!
prolific
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

to mount cdrom type

mount -t iso9660 /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom

for the floppy do

mount -t [FileSystemType] /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy