Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
MPlayer
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo for Mac OS X (Portage for Mac OS X)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tsuraan2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 9:46 pm    Post subject: MPlayer Reply with quote

I submitted this as a bug report, but nobody seems to have noticed, so I'm submitting it here too. I'm made a hackish ebuild for installing MPlayer under macos. The link is http://tsuraan.icompute.com/mplayer-1.0_pre5-r4.ebuild . You have to be really conservative on the USE flags because most of the options for MPlayer don't work yet, but the player itself works rather well, at least for me.

I'd love to hear if this is working for other people.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JHuber
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2004 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use the native port of mplayer on osx. works fine.
_________________
I always thought signatures were silly. Of course I am silly too.......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pi-cubic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JHuber wrote:
I use the native port of mplayer on osx. works fine.

is it possible to run the native mplayer from the command line?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trentin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sure it is, you just have to do a tiny hack:
open the terminal and go to:

/Applications/MPlayer\ OS\ X\ 2.app/Contents/Resources/

and from here either just copy the binary mplayer into say /usr/local/bin, or just make a symlink i i did.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pi-cubic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nice, i just realized that 2 binaries exist. one executable "mplayer" and another called "Mplayer OS x". The first can be invoked from the command line...

(but how do i include /usr/local/bin in my path :roll: )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trentin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

very simple :-) just add /usr/local/bin to your PATH variable in your ~/.bash_profile or ~/.profile (if you use for instance the korn shell, like me), or you can add it to the /etc/profile file.

for example (type this into one of the files mentioned above)

export PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/bin


remeber, MacOS X is a UNIX, so pretty much all of the stuff you used to do with linux (or one of the UNIXes) can be done here in the same or very similar way (that is if you have been a unix user :-))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pi-cubic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

trentin wrote:

remeber, MacOS X is a UNIX, so pretty much all of the stuff you used to do with linux (or one of the UNIXes) can be done here in the same or very similar way (that is if you have been a unix user :-))


the thing is that i had in mind the darwin bsd has its special "correct" places for many things, so i wanted to learn the "correct" way. but the more i get in touch with darwin i realize the thing you said :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 122
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just to note, the full path to the command line executable for me (12-12-04 mplayer) is as follows:

Code:
/Applications/MPlayer\ OS\ X\ 2.app/Contents/Resources/mplayer.app/Contents/MacOS/mplayer

_________________
ubuntu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
remkade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 74
Location: Somewhere

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can actually download the mplayer sources and compile them from scratch. Works fine for me. I actually like it better than Mplayer OS X. I think if you try to install them both you will mess up the OS X gui version.
_________________
generic signature here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trentin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i don't think this should be an issue, because the standard ./configure; make; make install would put the mplayer binary into /usr/local/bin, where as the MPlayer.app would use the binary that is located in its bundle.
_________________
http://speedmonkey.net - life from a more interesting point of view
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hparra
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Location: Mission Viejo, California

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 2:13 am    Post subject: mplayer native vs. emerged Reply with quote

I have an iBook G3 600. No Quartz Extreme, a sad ATI Rage 128. Playing movies of a certain size on Mplayer native ran very slowly. I bumped into another mplayer port called djoPlayer which seemed to run a little faster. Was wondering if any of those flags that you had to be conservative on were optimization flags.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duty
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tsuraan2, I tried your ebuild but it conked out with '../postproc/swscale_internal.h:148: error: parse error before "vector"'. It does this with the standard ebuild too, but at a different spot.

Anyone know how to fix this error?

Also 1.0-pre6 fails due to 'ldt_keeper.c:119: error: unknown register name `eax' in `asm'', this is in an #IFDEF ALTIVEC block but I turned off altivec use flag and it didn't help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo for Mac OS X (Portage for Mac OS X) All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum