Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] automount at boot doesn't mount network stuff
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vic_norman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Pittsburgh

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 6:40 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] automount at boot doesn't mount network stuff Reply with quote

All,

My next problem is that when autofs is started at boot time it just mounts
/misc

but doesn't do everything else -- like /us where the normal user's home directories are.

If I log in as root after booting up and do this:

/etc/init.d/autofs restart

then it replies with

*Stopping automounter... ok
* Starting automounter...
/misc /n.sun4-4.1 /nobackups /deleted /bfscad /homes /cad /us /-

and I can ls /us/norman and see norman's files. Perfect.

Why doesn't this happen at bootup? Here is my /etc/auto.master:

Code:

/misc    /etc/autofs/auto.misc


My /etc/autofs/auto.misc file contains just commented lines. Nothing else.

My /etc/conf.d/autofs looks like this:
Code:

localoptions=''
daemonoptions='--timeout 60'



NOTE: I just realized that the dhcpcd is started up at boot time after the automounter is started. Could this be the problem? If so, how do I fix it?

Vic


Last edited by vic_norman on Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vic_norman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Pittsburgh

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:44 pm    Post subject: Please help! Reply with quote

Can't anyone help me? I'm beggin' ya.

Vic
:(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does your fstab look like?

I use autofs here and haven't seen it do anything like that. However, IIRC the default config of autofs will start with only /misc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vic_norman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Pittsburgh

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jason,

Here is my /etc/fstab.

Code:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.14 2003/10/13 20:03:38 azarah Exp $
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.

# <fs>             <mountpoint>    <type>     <opts>            
<dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hda1      /      ext3      noatime      0 1
/dev/hda2      none      swap      sw      0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0   /mnt/cdrom   iso9660      noauto,ro,user      0 0
#/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy   auto      noauto         0 0
/dev/hda4      /usr      ext3      noatime         0 0
/dev/hda5      /var      ext3      noatime         0 0
# /dev/hda4      /home      ext3      noatime         0 0
none         /proc      proc      defaults      0 0
none          /proc/openprom   openpromfs   defaults      0 0
none         /dev/shm   tmpfs      nodev,nosuid,noexec   0 0


Note: it looks like this because of some mistakes I made early on, with partitioning, etc. See this thread.

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=264559

Thanks for your help. I appreciate it.

Vic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hab136
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 18
Location: Charlotte, NC

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 7:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Gentoo 2.4.27: automount at boot doesn't mount network s Reply with quote

If these are nfs mounts, you need to have nfs running before autofs.

At the top of /etc/init.d/autofs, there is:

Code:
depend() {
        need localmount
        use ypbind nfs
}


This just checks for the nfs server ("nfs"). Since you need for it to wait for the nfs client, add "portmap" to the end of it, so it looks like this:

Code:
depend() {
        need localmount
        use ypbind nfs portmap
}


So that it will wait on portmap if it's installed in the default run level. You can put it under "need", if you want it to fail if portmap isn't installed.

And, if you haven't already:

Code:
rc-update add autofs default
rc-update add portmap default


there are some bugs on this, with some good discussion:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=4248
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=4782

It looks like they added the "use portmap" and then took it out? huh?

Look at the autofs.rc* files in /usr/portage/net-fs/autofs/files/ for the various verisons of the init script. Weird.

I submitted a new bug. https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=74662
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vic_norman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Pittsburgh

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:05 pm    Post subject: Solution! Reply with quote

That did the trick! Thanks!

Vic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For me here, as long as portmap is running, autofs handles all of the nfs components just fine. No editing of init scripts or starting of NFS is required.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum