using new nitro sources
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mpalmer
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 8:10 pm    Post subject: using new nitro sources Reply with quote

I've been following the nptl 'developer's method' install guide ( https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=189250 ), but I wanted to use the new nitro sources instead of gentoo-dev-sources

after emerging system (and a few others) and setting the date, i got the .ebuild, put it in a portage_overlay directory and ran (sorry, i don't remember filenames and paths off the top of my head)

Code:
ebuild /(path)/nitro-sources-3.whatever.ebuild digest

is this what i should have done? this is my first attempt at it all--what all is included in an 'emerge,' and how is it different from an 'ebuild'? should i have gone though some of the 'kernal configuration' stuff before this?

i've been picking things up pretty quickly, but i'm a little unsure about this one...

and please, if i totally screwed stuff up, give me an idea how to fix it ;)
FireBee
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 8:50 pm    Post subject: Ebuild and emerge Reply with quote

you ebuild [file] digest then you emerge it. Emerge uses the information in ebuilds to download and compile the sources. Most of the programs get their ebuilds from the portage tree, but in some cases you have to download the ebuild.
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'll want to create a directory "/usr/local/portage"
Then put "PORTDIR_OVERLAY=/usr/local/portage" in your make.conf

Then go into /usr/local/portage and create a subdirectory of "sys-kernel" and inside that directory create one called "nitro-sources."

Then put the ebuild file into "/usr/local/portage/sys-kernel/nitro-sources"

Now "cd /usr/local/portage/sys-kernel/nitro-sources"