SPARCstation 20 Boot Problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
DarxusZzZ
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2003 9:34 pm    Post subject: SPARCstation 20 Boot Problem Reply with quote

Hi, I have a question regarding a SS20, it's more hardware than Gentoo related, but I'm planning to install Gentoo on it when I can get the silly thing working. If anyone is willing to take the time to help. I'm a bit new to the world of sparcs and this one is being a pain. I've been working on it for three days now with not much luck.

I have just bought an elderly SPARCstation20, it came with a TurboGX video card. I do not have a SUN monitor so I am using a 13W3-HD15 adapter to plug my ADI MicroScan4GP monitor into it. I am getting no video display. I understand the framebuffer has issues with the 13W3 adapter, but I believe the TurboGX is supposed to work fine.

Now I have attached a null modem from that machine to this, and attempted to rouse it using an ASCII terminal emulator on boot. Again nothing.

What sort of problems could this be caused by?
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2003 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi DarxusZzZ,

Got a couple of suggestions, hope they help.

1) When using the serial cable for console, make sure to unplug the monitor and keyboard or the SS20 will keep attempting to use them as the console.

2) Open the SS20 up and make sure everything looks plugged in correctly (RAM, cards, CPU, etc).

Post back with your findings.
DarxusZzZ
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2003 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tested the serial console both with and without all the peripherals plugged in, to no avail.

Everything internal that can be plugged in, is plugged in. I switched around the RAM SIMMs to see if that provided any help, then tried them each in the first slot, solo, to no avail.