View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
RyanBarnard
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 7:55 pm    Post subject: Gentoo Linux Insecurities Reply with quote

I would like to direct peoples attention to a post by Tom St. Denis in the sci.crypt newsgroup. The link to his post is: http://groups.google.com/groups?dq=&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&group=sci.crypt&selm=5tednRIQYqHA-sTcRVn-gQ%40rogers.com

And I will paste his post into this message at the bottom.

Is this true? Does the Gentoo ports system need some rethinking? I've been running Gentoo for a few months now on multiple machines, and I definitely don't want to have to worry about possible trojan on my system.

Ryan
-------------------------------------------------------
Subject: Gentoo Linux insecurities...
Newsgroups: sci.crypt
Date: 2004-09-28 06:30:06 PST

This note is mostly based off of research by Dan Kaminsky [so he should
get the credit]. I just turned it into an attack on Gentoo.

If you look at the collisions in MD5 you'd think so what. Just a few
bits in odd places. Can't forge signatures. But you can [as Dan
pointed out to me] turn this into a real attack. In particular you can
really hurt Gentoo with it.

Some basics... if x != y and md5(x) == md5(y) then md5(x+q) == md5(y+q).

Simple right?

Ok now onto gentoo. Gentoo is a "ports" system which uses ebuild
scripts to download, configure and install [source based] packages. It
checks the md5sum of files to make sure the downloads were correct.
Here's the trick though.

Suppose you have two files which are made up of

vec1, vec2 == two payloads with the difference that causes the collision
header == file header + shell script to do work
payload == encoded payload. Actually it has two seperate payloads
inside it. One encoded with sha1(vec1) as the key for AES, the other