will gentoo run?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
davidson
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2002 3:25 pm    Post subject: will gentoo run? Reply with quote

hi there i was looking around the site for awhile and noticed you needed 64mb to run gentoo.. well i have 32 and was wondering if it would still run fine on that. (note that i am new to linux and would like to give it a shot) also i have no idea what x86 is (im not even sure if that was right what i just typed :? ) but i have a p233, 3gig, 32mb of ram and i was wondering.. will gentoo run on my pc or is it just to outdated?
pjp
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2002 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are ways around it, but it isn't easy. For the most part, it would require another machine that had at least 64MB of RAM. Assuming you could get the additional RAM, the installation would take quite a while. Compiling takes a good amount of time, especially on older machines.
scocou
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2002 5:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote