Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
You can use LILO on AMD64 Gentoo. Here's how.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
salfter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 7:21 pm    Post subject: You can use LILO on AMD64 Gentoo. Here's how. Reply with quote

I decided to set up my Athlon 64 box (a Socket 754 3200+ on a Gigabyte GA-K8NS) with AMD64 Gentoo alongside the x86 WinXP Pro it normally runs. I added another hard drive, grabbed the latest AMD64 Gentoo CD, and got most things running properly...except the bootloader. The docs recommended GRUB, which I've always avoided as much as possible because it tends to be a pain in the *ss to install, compared to LILO. My setup is further complicated by wanting to start the boot process with the NT bootloader; by copying the MBR written by GRUB or LILO to a file and moving that file to where the NT bootloader can see it, it can hand off the boot process when you want to start Linux.

Trying to use the grub-static ebuild didn't work so well...it'd get as far as printing "GRUB" in the upper left corner, but no further. A tip that I had seen elsewhere was to boot from a Knoppix CD and install LILO from there. While waiting for the Knoppix image to download, though, I came up with something better.

I already had several x86 Gentoo systems up and running, so I ran
Code:
emerge --buildpkgonly lilo
on one of them, made a tarball of /usr/portage/packages (the only package in it was the newly-created LILO package), and unpacked the tarball on the AMD64 Gentoo system.
Code:
emerge emul-linux-x86-baselibs && emerge --usepkgonly --nodeps lilo
will then install LILO from the package, along with the x86 libraries it needs to run.

Once that's in place, you just create/edit /etc/lilo.conf as you normally would, run
Code:
lilo
, and reboot.

In my case, the MBR written by LILO got dd'd into a file, scp'd to another system, and copied to c:\bootsect.lnx once the system was booted in WinXP again. Rebooting and selecting "Gentoo Linux" in the NT bootloader then brought up LILO, which then loaded Gentoo without incident.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazycat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 838
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I personaly find lilo more pain in the *ss. I always forget to run it after i change kernel and it can't change options before booting. So if u make a little error u're srewed. The thing is most people are used to it but actually it's not flexible enough. I'll link the post to the faq.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronmon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2002
Posts: 1043
Location: Key West, FL

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a long-time fan of LILO also. Passing options at boot is really simple, crazycat. As for running 'lilo -v' after installing a new kernel, it has become automatic to me. I have forgotten to do it maybe once in ~8 years. Besides, if you screwed something up in lilo.conf you find out about it before you reboot.

It's too bad I didn't know about this last month when I got my Athlon 64 setup. If I had, I would be using it instead of Grub.
_________________
Ask Questions the Smart Way - by ESR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
e980238
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2004
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome, im am totally going to try this out. I have not been able to get grub to boot yet, same problem you were having.
_________________
Theres no place like ::1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mariourk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2003
Posts: 807
Location: Urk, Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still use Knoppix to do the 'lilo thing' (boot with Knoppix, edit /etc/lilo.conf and run lilo from there) So, if this works, you are my hero :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronmon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2002
Posts: 1043
Location: Key West, FL

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ended up building the .tbz2 in my 32 bit chroot and installing it with --usepkgonly. After that, everything can be done from 64 bit.
_________________
Ask Questions the Smart Way - by ESR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
busfahrer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, now that's how... would you mind telling us why? 8)

/me puts on his flamebait pants and runs :lol:
_________________
HOWTO: Removing disks from an LVM volume
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mariourk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2003
Posts: 807
Location: Urk, Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't work on my system :cry:
Code:

Calculating dependencies
!!! There are no packages available to satisfy: "lilo"
!!! Either add a suitable binary package or compile from an ebuild.

Does any one know why? :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronmon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2002
Posts: 1043
Location: Key West, FL

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

While logged into 32 bit chroot:
Code:

0756 i686 pts/3 /
root@maxx # emerge -Bvp lilo

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild  N    ] sys-boot/lilo-22.6.1  -debug -devmap -static 416 kB

Total size of downloads: 416 kB


Why? Because lilo is dependable and easy to use. Not everyone likes GRUB.
_________________
Ask Questions the Smart Way - by ESR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AnXa
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 250

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem man, but only pain in my ass was that lilo when I tried it. It is most hardest to install, run,configure and use. Use grub, it works better and is easier in anyway and it looks better than lilo. And why in hell you have to run lilo again when you change something in it's configs? in grub you just put your things in and they appear in next boot up.

But if you got lilo running your computer and you really like it then everything is fine. :)

Edit. I ignored the notes about using grub-static in my amd64 box. I just compiled grub and it works fine. I don't get why it should be pure 32bit when it works and compiles in pure64bit already. somebody should update that amd64 notes thing.
_________________
The idea isn't about how do you see or hear it, it's about how do you experience it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mariourk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2003
Posts: 807
Location: Urk, Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just compiled lilo on my laptop by unpacking the source and do a 'make'
After that I copied the whole directory to my AMD64 computer and did a 'make install'
It worked sweet. Why didn't I thinks of this before? :?

For who is interested, you can download the compiled source here
Just unpack it, enter the directory and do a make install
Code:

tar -xvjf lilo-22.6.1-32bits_compiled.tar.bz2
cd lilo-22.6.1-32bits_compiled
make install

Enjoy :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
t0mcat
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 111
Location: Catania, Italy

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've just extracted in the root the tbz compiled in the desktop.
worked like a charm :)
_________________
il gattaccio
a.k.a etienne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon5710
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 232
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I give up.... First grub refuses to boot.. (Grub stage1.5 loading etc.....)

and when i use this lilo thingy... (the tar provided).... it boots up with saying nothing more than just L

Bha...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mariourk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2003
Posts: 807
Location: Urk, Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon5710, are you sure your /etc/lilo.conf is correct and dat you ran 'lilo' after
editing /etc/lilo.conf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigun
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 2196

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LILO pwns.... danke.
_________________
"It's ok, they might have guns but we have flowers." - Perpetual Victim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigun
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 2196

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it working.... but it loads gentoo *SLOW*... like take 30 seconds before it even begins to load the first module.
_________________
"It's ok, they might have guns but we have flowers." - Perpetual Victim


Last edited by Bigun on Fri Feb 04, 2005 2:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mariourk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2003
Posts: 807
Location: Urk, Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no trouble at all :? I guess your problem is related with something else??
_________________
If there is one thing to learn from history, it's that we usualy don't learn anything from it, at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigun
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 2196

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mariourk wrote:
I have no trouble at all :? I guess your problem is related with something else??


No idea... but tried grub and it loaded like it should have.... I'm also was using the LILO from the URL you listed. I'm wondering if that could be the issue.... if the thing was compiled against a 386 or something.
_________________
"It's ok, they might have guns but we have flowers." - Perpetual Victim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mariourk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2003
Posts: 807
Location: Urk, Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I compiled lilo on my laptop. That is a Pentium3.
This in in the make.conf
Code:

CFLAGS="-march=pentium3 -Os -pipe"

I installed it on my own AMD64 and it works like a dream.
_________________
If there is one thing to learn from history, it's that we usualy don't learn anything from it, at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigun
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 2196

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mariourk wrote:
I compiled lilo on my laptop. That is a Pentium3.
This in in the make.conf
Code:

CFLAGS="-march=pentium3 -Os -pipe"

I installed it on my own AMD64 and it works like a dream.


This may sound odd, but if you could send me the binary you compiled, I can post a link to it from my site, so people won't have to go through the trouble.
_________________
"It's ok, they might have guns but we have flowers." - Perpetual Victim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mariourk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2003
Posts: 807
Location: Urk, Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I allready provided it in a tarball in one of my previous posts. :wink:
But here it is again.
_________________
If there is one thing to learn from history, it's that we usualy don't learn anything from it, at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigun
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 2196

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mariourk wrote:
I allready provided it in a tarball in one of my previous posts. :wink:
But here it is again.


Alrighty, I didn't know that was the one you compiled. But that's the one that is *real* slow.

Blah, I got grub to work, when they get a successful version of the 64 bit LILO out, I'll use it.
_________________
"It's ok, they might have guns but we have flowers." - Perpetual Victim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mariourk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2003
Posts: 807
Location: Urk, Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just crossing my mind. I don't think the CFLAGS I posted where actually used because
I compiled lilo manually instead of using emerge.
I have really no idea why it works so slow on your AMD64.
I worked fine for me. t0mcat had also good experience with it.
Weird :?
_________________
If there is one thing to learn from history, it's that we usualy don't learn anything from it, at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Corona688
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Jan 2004
Posts: 1204

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

'nother grub-junkie here. What can I say, it worked 100% following gentoo's amd64 installation walkthrough, and does what it's supposed to without me having to find it's pants for it every time I build a new kernel.

That said I'm wondering how we can get this lilo thing in portage for amd64, choice is good.
_________________
Petition for Better 64-bit ATI Drivers - Sign Here
http://www.petitiononline.com/atipet/petition.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigun
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 2196

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Corona688 wrote:
'nother grub-junkie here. What can I say, it worked 100% following gentoo's amd64 installation walkthrough, and does what it's supposed to without me having to find it's pants for it every time I build a new kernel.

That said I'm wondering how we can get this lilo thing in portage for amd64, choice is good.


I've e-mailed the guy in charge of the LILO project about our lil' situation, and gave him a link to this thread.

*crosses fingers*
_________________
"It's ok, they might have guns but we have flowers." - Perpetual Victim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum