Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
alsa howto
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2002 3:28 pm    Post subject: alsa howto Reply with quote

Ok,
I have sound card like:

Code:

Bus  0, device  31, function  5:
    Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio (rev 4).
      IRQ 9.
      I/O at 0xe800 [0xe8ff].
      I/O at 0xef00 [0xef3f].


and I've heard that I neede to use alsa.
Any1 here knows is I do need alsa and if is here any tutorial around?
Thanks
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vibidoo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2002
Posts: 409

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2002 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the alsa guide under Gentoo ?

Your card should be a snd-intel8x0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2002 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vibidoo wrote:

Your card should be a snd-intel8x0


What this must say for me? :-)
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vibidoo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2002
Posts: 409

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2002 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just want to say that it should be the device name you will use to emerge alsa

I have a intel base mainboard I use snd-intel8x0

Code:

#env ALSA_CARDS='intel8x0' emerge alsa-driver


and in /etc/modules.d/alsa

alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2002 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vibidoo wrote:
Just want to say that it should be the device name you will use to emerge alsa

I have a intel base mainboard I use snd-intel8x0

Code:

#env ALSA_CARDS='intel8x0' emerge alsa-driver


and in /etc/modules.d/alsa

alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0


Do I have to reboot?
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2002 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, followed by the howto and what U said and I got:

Code:

# /etc/init.d/alsasound start
 * Initialising ALSA....
 * Starting sound driver: snd-intel8x0 /lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o: init_module: No such device
Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
      You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o failed
/lib/modules/2.4.19-gentoo-r10/kernel/sound/pci/snd-intel8x0.o: insmod snd-intel8x0 failed


Dmesg says:
Code:

Intel 810 + AC97 Audio, version 0.21, 17:59:43 Dec 22 2002
PCI: Found IRQ 9 for device 00:1f.5
PCI: Sharing IRQ 9 with 00:1f.3
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 00:1f.5 to 64
i810: Intel ICH2 found at IO 0xef00 and 0xe800, IRQ 9
i810_audio: Audio Controller supports 6 channels.
ac97_codec: AC97 Audio codec, id: 0x4144:0x5360 (Analog Devices AD1885)
i810_audio: AC'97 codec 0 Unable to map surround DAC's (or DAC's not present), total channels = 2
i810_audio: setting clocking to 40967


Any clue?
Thanks
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lucas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2002
Posts: 33
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2002 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How is sound in your kernel configured?
You should have sound compiled as a module and no cards selected.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2002 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lucas wrote:
How is sound in your kernel configured?
You should have sound compiled as a module and no cards selected.


Me too ( soundcore.o ) as module.
Now my computer loads fine, alsa loads fine BUT NO SOUND :-(
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vibidoo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2002
Posts: 409

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2002 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you try this , because as you with the 2.4.19r10 I didn't get alsa to work .

So I downloaded from alsa-project the alsa-driver-0.9.0rc6.tar.bz2 ; lib ; util and Alsa OSS ver 0.9.0rc1 .

Untar each directory

went into each , in this order =( 1]driver , 2]lib ,3]utils , 4]oss)

just make a
Code:

./configure
make install

In each directory

and put in /etc/modules.autoload
Code:
                                         
snd-intel8x0
snd-mixer-oss
snd-pcm-oss


and to get sound , on the console
Code:

amixer set Master  100 unmute
amixer set PCM 100 unmute
amixer set Headphone 100 unmute

test the sound with aplay ....

if it's ok
you should create a script to load the amixer set ... at default runlevel

for me it works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DArtagnan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 942
Location: Israel, Jerusalem

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2002 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vibidoo wrote:
Could you try this , because as you with the 2.4.19r10 I didn't get alsa to work .

So I downloaded from alsa-project the alsa-driver-0.9.0rc6.tar.bz2 ; lib ; util and Alsa OSS ver 0.9.0rc1 .

Untar each directory

went into each , in this order =( 1]driver , 2]lib ,3]utils , 4]oss)

just make a
Code:

./configure
make install

In each directory

and put in /etc/modules.autoload
Code:
                                         
snd-intel8x0
snd-mixer-oss
snd-pcm-oss


and to get sound , on the console
Code:

amixer set Master  100 unmute
amixer set PCM 100 unmute
amixer set Headphone 100 unmute

test the sound with aplay ....

if it's ok
you should create a script to load the amixer set ... at default runlevel

for me it works


Youhooooooooooooooooooooo ;-) works
Code:

liviu@starshooter liviu $ amixer set Master  100 unmute
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 63
  Front Left: Playback 63 [100%] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 63 [100%] [on]
liviu@starshooter liviu $ amixer set PCM 100 unmute
Simple mixer control 'PCM',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 31
  Front Left: Playback 31 [100%] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 31 [100%] [on]
liviu@starshooter liviu $ amixer set Headphone 100 unmute
Simple mixer control 'Headphone',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 63
  Front Left: Playback 63 [100%] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 63 [100%] [on]


Before I did only :
Code:

amixer set Master  100 unmute
amixer set PCM 100 unmute

and did not worked...

Thanks :-)
_________________
All for one and one for All
--

MACPRO machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vibidoo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2002
Posts: 409

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2002 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

there are too a usefull tools coming with alsa

alsamixer it's a gui tools .

With this tools I setup the 3d sound and now the sound is nearly perfect .

Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum