View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mogosjoh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2002 5:21 pm    Post subject: Gentoo Linux... 6 Months Later Reply with quote

Well, I've been running gentoo full time now for over six months, and I've been overall very happy with it, but I do have some complaints. I am assuing that some (hopefully all) of these things are happening because of my own oversights, but who knows. Maybe I just need to wait for the 2.6 kernel to come out. Anyway, here goes:

-multitasking. everybody touts it. it works well, but, for instance, when I am extracting shn files as a regular user (not root) and I try to do other things, everything is slow. My mouse jumps around screen, my typing is erratic at best, and the system is generally laggy