Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
The F? Virtual Window Manager
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 64, 65, 66, 67  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gulivert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 863
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MagnusBerg wrote:
gulivert wrote:
Thanks ..... - page 9 :wink: or look this video


Real cool video. I saved it to my disk so I can look at it whenever I need to be inspired. But how did you do it?


Very thanks ....

To make video, I used gvidcap, it's the part of xcidcap :wink:
_________________
Macbook Pro Unibody 9.1 - Kernel 4.4.6 - Awesome 3.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gulivert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 863
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jefklak wrote:
gulivert, is there a way to fasten the shading menus or do you have to hack it in the source code manually? (Using your custom patch)
Thanks :)


I do not understand your question, the shades of the menus are by default with fvwm and xcompmgr Please excuse me, I speak French
Or you speak about the menu for start/stop the shades???

if it is the case, I added a new entry in the menu like this :

Quote:
DestroyMenu Menux
AddToMenu Menux
+ "= X config =" Title X confiig
+ "NVIDIA-settings"%$[fvwm_icon_path]/nvidia.png% Exec exec nvidia-settings
+ "Start composite"%$[fvwm_icon_path]/composite.png% Popup MenuComposite
+ "Stop composite"%$[fvwm_icon_path]/composite.png% Exec exec killall xcompmgr


DestroyMenu MenuComposite
AddToMenu MenuComposite
+ "= Composite =" Title X composite
+ "no shadows"%$[fvwm_icon_path]/composite.png% Exec exec xcompmgr -fF
+ "with shadows"%$[fvwm_icon_path]/composite.png% Exec exec xcompmgr -fFc


it is well until you wait like answer?
_________________
Macbook Pro Unibody 9.1 - Kernel 4.4.6 - Awesome 3.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefklak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 818
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No that's not what I mean.
The "shading" (e.g. when you start an application, it takes some seconds for the window to "appear" as a part of the effect) I would like to make the windows appear more faster because its a bit too slow. Also menus etc (FvwmRootMenu too) appear after x seconds - THAT shading - I would like to make it a little bit quicker.

Je ne parle pas tres bon francais et je n'ai auqune idee commont expliquer ca en francais... desole
_________________
{Linux User #333296}
Kernel 2.6.9-nitro4!
<< hurrah
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MagnusBerg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 370
Location: Burgsvik, Gotland, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gulivert wrote:
To make video, I used gvidcap, it's the part of xvidcap :wink:


All right friends, screenshots is out of date now it's video who rules. Just wait for my first release... ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manywele
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 739
Location: Inside

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gulivert: Nice video. How did you make the changing transparency by scrolling on the titlebar work?

[EDIT] Never mind. I found your post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rainmaker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 1650
Location: /home/NL/ehv/

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had to add

Code:
Section "Extensions"
        Option  "XEVIE"         "Disable"
        Option  "Composite"     "Enable"
EndSection


to my xorg.conf for the transparany to work. It kept comming back with the "no composite found" error message.
_________________
If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Unne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 616

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, everyone loves useless eye-candy right? I tried Enlightenment recently, and one thing I liked was that when you changed pages in a virtual desktop, you could enable a neat effect where your whole screen would slide in the direction of the page you were switching to. Well I managed to replicate that effect in FVWM. It was easier than I'd imagined it would be.

You need this Perl script. Writing this in something other than Perl may improve performance, but Perl is what I know.

Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl

# ScrollDesktop
# This script enables Enlightenment-like page switching, i.e. instead of just switching, the whole screen slides and zooms in various directions.  Useless eye-candy, yes, but I likes it.

use warnings;
use strict;

# Pages are counted starting from 0,0 in the upper left.
my ($cur_x, $cur_y, $des_x, $des_y) = @ARGV;

# This controls the speed of the animation. 
# Bigger step = less smooth but faster.
my $step = 4;

my $delta_x = ($des_x - $cur_x) * $step;
my $delta_y = ($des_y - $cur_y) * $step;

# To clarify: 1280x1024 = (64*20)x(64*16), that's where the numbers below come from.  (And a $step is factored out to let you tweak things more easily with less math.) 
# This is going to depend on your screen resolution.  If you don't use 1280x1024, you need to change the numbers below.  There might be a cool way to auto-detect and generate these numbers, but it's beyond me.  The speed and smoothness of the animation is likely highly dependent on your graphics card, CPU, etc. etc. anyways.  So you're going to need to mess with these numbers.

# NOTE: 1280x1024 is a 5:4 ratio.  All other major screen resolutions I can think of are 4:3.  Happy calculating.  :)

# NOTE ALSO: The FVWM Scroll command can also take percentages instead of pixel values.  You may be tempted to use this.  However unless your screen resolution is evenly divisible by 100, you're not going to end up scrolling to exact page margins; you're going to be a few pixels off each time.

for(1..(64/$step)) { print "Scroll " . $delta_x * 20 . "p " . $delta_y * 16 . "p\n" }


And then just a few lines of code in your .fvwm2rc:

Code:
# ALT+F# = go to a different page. 
Key F1 A        M   ScrollPage 0 0
Key F2 A        M   ScrollPage 1 0
Key F3 A        M   ScrollPage 2 0
Key F4 A        M   ScrollPage 3 0
Key F5 A        M   ScrollPage 0 1
Key F6 A        M   ScrollPage 1 1
Key F7 A        M   ScrollPage 2 1
Key F8 A        M   ScrollPage 3 1

DestroyFunc ScrollPage
AddToFunc ScrollPage
+ I PipeRead `$[FVWM_USERDIR]/scroll_page.pl $[page.nx] $[page.ny] $0 $1`


And that's it. ALT+F1 will take you to page 0,0. If you were on page 3,1 for example, your whole screen would zoom up and to the left.

See the comments in the Perl script for details. You're going to have to mess with the constants to get it to work unless you run 1280x1024 like I do. This is completely untested with anything but my settings: 1280x1024 resolution, one desktop, 4x2 pages. And the performance of this function isn't exactly perfect, but it's certainly usable. Maybe someone will find it useful nonetheless.
_________________
Obligatory hompage link.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lews_Therin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 657
Location: Banned

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anybody here have working mini-icons on a 64-bit system with FVWM? They work on fvwm (same config file and version) on a p4, and fluxbox on my amd64 can find them perfectly, but fvwm just displays a blank spot on my titlebar where it should be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefklak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 818
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Really nice unne but I am having some problems with it.
ScrollPage +1p 0p works, but sometimes the whole thing scrolls diagonal instead of up/down, maybe there's a focus problem or so, I don't really know...
_________________
{Linux User #333296}
Kernel 2.6.9-nitro4!
<< hurrah
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ruzbeh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damnit! Someone posted a fvwm theme guide for beginners, but I can't find the link. I haven't had much luck with Google either!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Freejack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 52
Location: Germany, near Marburg

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep! Its really anoing to read 65+ pages.
How about a small FAQ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keffin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 202
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unne wrote:
OK, everyone loves useless eye-candy right? I tried Enlightenment recently, and one thing I liked was that when you changed pages in a virtual desktop, you could enable a neat effect where your whole screen would slide in the direction of the page you were switching to. Well I managed to replicate that effect in FVWM.


Excellent script! For anyone else who runs in 1024x468, I had to change the numbers on that last line of code to 16 and 12 respectively. Actually I run only 1 row of 4 pages on my desktop so I need not pass any vertical scrolling information.

Also I managed to alter the script slightly to use my mouse wheel to move forward/back pages. Unfortunately since I don't really know perl I had to make it simpler by losing the ability to use it properly if you have move than 1 row of pages, and the number of pages is hardcoded, but if it would help anyone just say the word and I'll post it.
_________________
Always cut the deck if it ups your odds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefklak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 818
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Freejack wrote:
Yep! Its really anoing to read 65+ pages.
How about a small FAQ?


I tought someone already tried to split this page up into another thread with tons of links, sorted by category e.d. Too bad that didn't work out very well... Maybe if I have too much time i'll try to make a little guide on this thread on monday :)

Keffin:
yeah but I want to bind a key to ALT+up/down/left/right
So that is right now GotoPage +1p 0p, etc. - can't use 1 0 that way :)
_________________
{Linux User #333296}
Kernel 2.6.9-nitro4!
<< hurrah


Last edited by Jefklak on Sat Sep 11, 2004 1:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keffin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 202
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jefklak wrote:
Really nice unne but I am having some problems with it.
ScrollPage +1p 0p works, but sometimes the whole thing scrolls diagonal instead of up/down, maybe there's a focus problem or so, I don't really know...


You do not need the p's in the call to ScrollPage, the script expects pure number inputs from what I understand.
_________________
Always cut the deck if it ups your odds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Unne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 616

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jefklak wrote:
Really nice unne but I am having some problems with it.
ScrollPage +1p 0p works, but sometimes the whole thing scrolls diagonal instead of up/down, maybe there's a focus problem or so, I don't really know...


If you have more than one row of pages, then it's supposed to scroll diagonally sometimes. :wink:

Keffin wrote:
Jefklak wrote:
Really nice unne but I am having some problems with it.
ScrollPage +1p 0p works, but sometimes the whole thing scrolls diagonal instead of up/down, maybe there's a focus problem or so, I don't really know...


You do not need the p's in the call to ScrollPage, the script expects pure number inputs from what I understand.


Pure number inputs = percentages of a page, number inputs with p's on them = pixels. Like I said in the script comments, percentages don't work if you use certain screen resolutions.
_________________
Obligatory hompage link.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keffin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 202
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unne wrote:
Pure number inputs = percentages of a page, number inputs with p's on them = pixels. Like I said in the script comments, percentages don't work if you use certain screen resolutions.


The script seems to call the fvwm scroll command with the 'p' argument whether you call the script with it or not. The script also does maths with the inputs, I do not understand how that would work at all if you called it with string arguments such as 1p.
_________________
Always cut the deck if it ups your odds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Unne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 616

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keffin wrote:
Unne wrote:
Pure number inputs = percentages of a page, number inputs with p's on them = pixels. Like I said in the script comments, percentages don't work if you use certain screen resolutions.


The script seems to call the fvwm scroll command with the 'p' argument whether you call the script with it or not. The script also does maths with the inputs, I do not understand how that would work at all if you called it with string arguments such as 1p.


Oh, I misunderstood. Yes, call MY function with numerical arguments, not with p arguments. The script adds p's itself. Perl will still do math on strings that have numbers and letters in them, by doing some magic and chopping off the letters in fairly predictable ways, but it's very messy.
_________________
Obligatory hompage link.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefklak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 818
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, I don't really get it I'll try to play around for it a while...
Is there no way to bind it to left/right/up/down keys using +1p/0p or so?
You normally don't need to scroll diagonally... I don't understand :S

Code:
Move from 1 > 2 using ALT+Right, etc:
-------------------------
|  1 |       |   2 |   | 3 |
|  4 |       |  5  |   | 6 |
-------------------------

_________________
{Linux User #333296}
Kernel 2.6.9-nitro4!
<< hurrah
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Unne
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 616

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to bind ALT+up/down/left/right to "go one page up", "go one page down", etc., then you can do this:

Code:
DestroyFunc ScrollLeft
AddToFunc ScrollLeft
+ I PipeRead "$[FVWM_USERDIR]/scroll_page.pl $[page.nx] $[page.ny] `perl -e 'print $[page.nx] - 1'` $[page.ny]"


That function will take you one page to the left, no matter what page you're on. $[page.nx] is the x-coordinate of the current page; just tell the function to scroll to that page minus 1, to go left; and keep the y-coordinate the same, so you don't go up or down. You can figure out the others I'm sure.
_________________
Obligatory hompage link.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ruzbeh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I've been editting around a bit, I really don't understand anything of it, except for the menu, which is kinda easy.

Currently, I have -> CLICK , Milk is so sexy. 8)

How do you get images inside your menu?

And how do I get smaller fonts in Firefox, it doesn't wanna listen to GTK2. :evil:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keffin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 202
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ruzbeh wrote:
Well I've been editting around a bit, I really don't understand anything of it, except for the menu, which is kinda easy.

Currently, I have -> CLICK , Milk is so sexy. 8)

How do you get images inside your menu?

And how do I get smaller fonts in Firefox, it doesn't wanna listen to GTK2. :evil:


Example menu item:
Code:
+ %//home/keffin/.fvwm/themes/GANTpngs/Photoshop_7_32x32x32.png%"The GIMP"     Exec exec gimp-2.0


For fonts in firefox, there is an option to set the font sizes in the preferences.
_________________
Always cut the deck if it ups your odds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theBlackDragon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Nov 2002
Posts: 768
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keffin wrote:
Ruzbeh wrote:
Well I've been editting around a bit, I really don't understand anything of it, except for the menu, which is kinda easy.

Currently, I have -> CLICK , Milk is so sexy. 8)

How do you get images inside your menu?

And how do I get smaller fonts in Firefox, it doesn't wanna listen to GTK2. :evil:


Example menu item:
Code:
+ %//home/keffin/.fvwm/themes/GANTpngs/Photoshop_7_32x32x32.png%"The GIMP"     Exec exec gimp-2.0


For fonts in firefox, there is an option to set the font sizes in the preferences.


The setting in firefox itself doesn't work for the interface fonts, but only for the fonts the webpages are rendered with... To change the interface fonts run gnome-control-center and change the fonts in the fonts capplet...
_________________
Fvwm|Fvwm forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikecore
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 342
Location: Toledo, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 9:07 pm    Post subject: I have a noob question Reply with quote

I am setting up fvwm on my box and I would like to change my screen res right now it is 1200x800 16 depth I would like to goto 1024x768 24 depth I am running x.org
How do I do this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikecore
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 342
Location: Toledo, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Foreget it I was able to figure it out
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Exci
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 265
Location: The Netherlands, Zoetermeer

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ruzbeh wrote:
Damnit! Someone posted a fvwm theme guide for beginners, but I can't find the link. I haven't had much luck with Google either!


http://www.zensites.net/fvwm/guide


I couldnt resolve it a second ago, but it's the one that was posted in this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 64, 65, 66, 67  Next
Page 65 of 67

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum