Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No OpenOffice?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jeevz
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 15 Apr 2002
Posts: 195
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2002 11:24 pm    Post subject: No OpenOffice? Reply with quote

Is it just me or is there no Open Office in portage?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2002 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's masked, so emerge won't install it.
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nick
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2002 11:31 pm    Post subject: openoffice Reply with quote

i installed successfully on gentoo from the binaries available at the openoffice site
Back to top
Jeevz
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 15 Apr 2002
Posts: 195
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2002 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fghellar wrote:
It's masked, so emerge won't install it.


Why would it be masked? Any reason? Did you install it successfully?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ketanrp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2002 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that it's masked because it takes a really long time to compile, like 12+ hours, not sure though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2002 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Take a look in that /usr/portage/profiles/package.mask file, there should be a short explanation there.
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nitro
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Apr 2002
Posts: 661
Location: San Francisco

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2002 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I too have sucessfully installed the binaries from openoffice.org. Go grab them @ http://www.openoffice.org/dev_docs/source/build_641d/index.html

No compiling! :)
No compiling! :?
_________________
- Kyle Manna

Please, please SEARCH before posting.

There are three kinds of people in the world: those who can count, and those who can't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
niyogi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 199
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2002 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well... i wonder in this case whether or not compiling really optimizes openoffice significantly more than installing the binaries.... openoffice is a rather large program.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeevz
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 15 Apr 2002
Posts: 195
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2002 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thanks all! Guess I will go the precompiled route.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Target
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to package.mask, openoffice is very dangerous?
What's a user-space office suite going to do? Cause a kernel panic? :p
Back to top
Appu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 39
Location: Hyderabad, India

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ketanrp wrote:
I think that it's masked because it takes a really long time to compile, like 12+ hours, not sure though.


Another reason could be that it requires gcc3. I unmasked it to check out its dependencies (and basically do an emerge --fetchonly) and found out that it wants gcc3.

Regards,
Prashanth Adita Susarla
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbibber
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 16
Location: Mechelen - Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 1:36 pm    Post subject: Binaries don't work either... :/ Reply with quote

*ahem* I don't even get good results installing the latest stable binaries from the openoffice site (641d) :oops: .
When I start it with
Code:
./soffice

swriter appears for 2 seconds and then stops.
The machine is a PII-300Mhz and I compiled the whole system with -O3 and only for the i686 (march=i686). Staroffice 5.2 runs without any problems.
Funny thing:
- I log in with another pc on the machine (with ssh),
- I export
Code:
export DISPLAY="0:0"
, and run the same program, it works !! (oh boy... :o)

Does anyone have the same problem?

Thanks
Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeevz
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 15 Apr 2002
Posts: 195
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 2:31 pm    Post subject: Re: Binaries don't work either... :/ Reply with quote

bbibber wrote:
Does anyone have the same problem?


I actually haven't gotten around to installing it yet. Too busy tweaking other parts of my system. :)

I will try sometime this week and see what happens. If I get the same error I will be sure to let you know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silvaran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 4:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Binaries don't work either... :/ Reply with quote

bbibber wrote:
swriter appears for 2 seconds and then stops.


I had the same problem.. so I ran it again and it works... I had another problem (nss if it's related) in that openoffice was looking in /usr/local for everything (including user-specific settings). My solution was to use setup -net to install to /usr/local, but delete ~/.openoffice (where I installed user-specific files), ~/.user60.rdb and ~/.sversionrc. Then run /usr/local/program/soffice. It'll quit, but spawn the installation. I installed it network (so the install takes only a few k or so to my home directory), and once that was done (~10 seconds) I ran /usr/local/program/soffice again and it worked fine.
_________________
Should you immerse yourself in the fluidity of life, only to drown in its revelations?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbibber
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 16
Location: Mechelen - Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 7:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Binaries don't work either... :/ Reply with quote

Silvaran wrote:
bbibber wrote:
swriter appears for 2 seconds and then stops.

My solution was to use setup -net to install to /usr/local, but delete ~/.openoffice (where I installed user-specific files), ~/.user60.rdb and ~/.sversionrc. Then run /usr/local/program/soffice.


It tried it (except I didn't delete .sversionrc because staroffice 5.2 uses it as well, so I deleted the openoffice entry) but it didn't work...

Bummer, I 'll just keep on using so 5.2 then :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wilke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 40
Location: University of Twente

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2002 3:31 pm    Post subject: Installing Openoffice.org 1.0 binaries (the *right* way) Reply with quote

When installing the binaries on a multi-user system (or when you don't want to login as root, or be the 'owner' of /usr/local/openoffice), install like this:

- Download Openoffice.org 1.0 binary package.
- Unpack it in your home dir (or /tmp, or wherever)
- Become root
- cd setup
- ./setup -net
- Install to /usr/local/openoffice (or wherever you want)
- exit root shell
- optional: remove setup-dir from your homedir or /tmp (don't need it anymore).
- Run /usr/local/openoffice/setup for every user that should be able to use Openoffice
- Choose the 'workstation' install (only 2 MB or so)
- Fill in the info (name, address, etc.) for every user.
- Wait a bit, or restart KDE or GNOME (if you use either of those), the menu-options should be installed automagically.

This info should be on their site somewhere as well, but it's not exactly very easy to find.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grahamdog
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2002
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2002 4:26 pm    Post subject: there is an ebuild Reply with quote

There is an ebuild for OpenOffice:

emerge openoffice-bin

It only installs the pre-compiled binaries, but it worked fine for me.
For some reason OpenOffice won't open work saved in Microsoft Office, any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DNH
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 60
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2002 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

for those of you who like being able to easily remove packages via portage, the binary version is also available through portage: A quick
Code:
emerge openoffice-bin
will download and install it with the -net option, enabling multiple user accounts on one install. Be sure and
Code:
emerge rsync
first to get the latest ebuild.
_________________
The answer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lannie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2002
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2002 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello :)

if i can remember right... (it has been while) you could just install the actual openoffice 1.0 binaries.. by going to the openoffice-bin directory...
(ie. /usr/portage/app-office/openoffice-bin )

and do
Code:
 merge *watever openoffice-bin ebuild file u want*



i'm at university at the moment so i can't remember the actual details.. i'll will verify this later on the day :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum