Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
what does linux give me that sparc does not?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
snowsquirrel
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:06 pm    Post subject: what does linux give me that sparc does not? Reply with quote

I have used Linux at home for about 6 years now; Debian for 4, gentoo1, slack 1. I have been working at a solaris shop for the last 2 years. I have an Ultra 10 running Solaris 9 at home, which I use to work at home, as our data is endian sensitive.

I am considering install gentoo on the U10. To me, the main advantages are: larger package base, I am more familiar with linux admin. The disadvantages are: can't use Xsun, so that means monkeying with XF86Config for resolution changes etc, no dbx, sound system not as simple works.

From a user perspective, solaris and linux are pretty similar. It is the administration, and programming where the differences come in.

Is gentoo on sparc any faster than solaris? I would assume solaris 9 is already optimized for sparc.

What else am I missing. I am assuming most of the people running gentoo on sparcs, had run solaris on them at one time. what differences for or against have you noticed.

~S
frankOnPPC
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, i think its faster, using a ultra 5 and some other boxes.

it depends what you like to do ....
if you must have some commercial software like oracle avaiable for development, stay on solaris.

but to be honest, its cool to use linux om it, take a look how snappy linux is.

overall, it gives your a virtal live again.

if you have enough diskspace, feel free to install both and compare it by yourself.

For me, I'm got tired of all this different unix/derivatives, like MacOS X, Solaris, HP-US, AIX, Sinix a.s.o.