Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Any official Gentoo-OSX thread?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo for Mac OS X (Portage for Mac OS X)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hydraulix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 447
Location: Baltimore, Maryland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow this is looking great. Just one question. How can I get portage to work in X11? It only works in the Terminal. Which is realllllly sloooooow. I keep getting "command not found"


I'm thinking it goes into my bashrc file? Or maybe adding something in ~.xinitrc?
_________________
It is the fate of operating systems to become free.
- Neal Stephenson

If only You and Dead people can read hex, how many people can read hex?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richwareham
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hydraulix wrote:
Wow this is looking great. Just one question. How can I get portage to work in X11?


Add /usr/lib/portage/bin to your PATH in (IIRC) .profile / .bashrc. If its a Gentoo-like system there is probably a /etc/profile that could do with being source'd too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hydraulix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 447
Location: Baltimore, Maryland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damn. I just copied all the /usr/lib/portage/bin to /usr/sbin for a quick fix. Do you think that's going to hurt later on or should I just forget it?
_________________
It is the fate of operating systems to become free.
- Neal Stephenson

If only You and Dead people can read hex, how many people can read hex?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DiskBreaker
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 224

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hydraulix wrote:
Damn. I just copied all the /usr/lib/portage/bin to /usr/sbin for a quick fix. Do you think that's going to hurt later on or should I just forget it?


1.
Code:
export PATH=$PATH:/usr/lib/portage/bin
(in your .bashrc)

2.
Code:
for I in /usr/lib/portage/bin/*; do rm -i /usr/sbin/`basename $I`; done


Voilà.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richwareham
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DiskBreaker wrote:

2.
Code:
for I in /usr/lib/portage/bin/*; do rm -i /usr/sbin/`basename $I`; done



I've often wondered if all languages should posess a shorthand form of for(i=...), certainly it must be the most used of all loop indices :).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DiskBreaker
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 224

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

richwareham wrote:
I've often wondered if all languages should posess a shorthand form of for(i=...), certainly it must be the most used of all loop indices :).


Absolutely! Sometimes you just want to loop but do not need to reference the index inside the loop, so in that case there would be no need to specify an index at all (for the programmer, that is).

Well, in shell scripting at least the Z Shell zsh allows for a somewhat more compact construct:
Code:
for i in /usr/lib/portage/bin/*; ls

You save yourself typing the "do" and "done" keywords.

Otherwise Perl has still the most shorthand-form of all languages I can think of :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
as-33
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 25
Location: Coburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the following error when I try to emerge system:

Code:

Calculating system dependencies \
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "sys-devel/autoconf" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.57-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.57a-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.58-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.58 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r3 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r4 (masked by: missing keyword)

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.
!!!    (dependency required by "net-misc/wget-1.9.1-r2" [ebuild])


!!! Problem with ebuild net-misc/wget-1.9.1-r2
!!! Possibly a DEPEND/*DEPEND problem.

!!! Depgraph creation failed.


What to do now?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
as-33
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 25
Location: Coburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The resolution was to remove fink from the PATH variable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sohryu Asuka Langley
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Nov 2002
Posts: 199
Location: Hannover, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know what this exactly is !? :?

Does it mean... enemy territory will run under osx !!! ohhh man that would be great... argh :D
_________________
There are 10 sorts of people on this world.
Who understand binary and don't ! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aethyr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Apr 2003
Posts: 1085
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sohryu Asuka Langley wrote:
I don't know what this exactly is !? :?

Does it mean... enemy territory will run under osx !!! ohhh man that would be great... argh :D


Unfortunately, no. Enemy Territory is an x86 binary ebuild. It will only work for things that compile from source.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gibberish
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Moenchengladbach, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as-33 wrote:
I get the following error when I try to emerge system:

Code:

Calculating system dependencies \
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "sys-devel/autoconf" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.57-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.57a-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.58-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.58 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r3 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r4 (masked by: missing keyword)

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.
!!!    (dependency required by "net-misc/wget-1.9.1-r2" [ebuild])


!!! Problem with ebuild net-misc/wget-1.9.1-r2
!!! Possibly a DEPEND/*DEPEND problem.

!!! Depgraph creation failed.


What to do now?


Use "emerge -v system" and not "emerge -uv system".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hydraulix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 447
Location: Baltimore, Maryland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DiskBreaker wrote:
Hydraulix wrote:
Damn. I just copied all the /usr/lib/portage/bin to /usr/sbin for a quick fix. Do you think that's going to hurt later on or should I just forget it?


1.
Code:
export PATH=$PATH:/usr/lib/portage/bin
(in your .bashrc)

2.
Code:
for I in /usr/lib/portage/bin/*; do rm -i /usr/sbin/`basename $I`; done


Voilà.




Very nice. Thanks again. :)
_________________
It is the fate of operating systems to become free.
- Neal Stephenson

If only You and Dead people can read hex, how many people can read hex?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
revil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 68
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if this helps anyone, but I also got the problem not finding emerge. I had a terminal open before i installed portage. I used the same terminal to do the rest of the install. however, when time came to do emerge system, it couldn't find emerge. So all I did was open a new terminal re-did the bootstrap (if i couldn't find emerge, could the bootstrap script, my guess is no), and then ran emerge, which worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeoWolf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 45
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:18 pm    Post subject: I kind of have some concerns... Reply with quote

I've been waiting for this release for quite some time now. I'm an OS X user however I've always been a tad envious of my roommate's system thanks to his using Gentoo Linux on his laptop and possesing portatage. My concern is that Gentoo MacOS seems to install it's apps in the main files where OS X also keeps it's own stuff. This makes me kind of weary in that bothi Fink and DarwinPorts, other OS X package managers avoid this and install in their own subfolder, as to not overwrite or otherwise worry about the Apple issues versions of software. Doesn't this mean portage installs can overwrite Apple's versions and cause problems say if you uninstall portage at a later date or if Apple issues an update that overwrites a binary installed by portage? Also will there be a MacOS section appearing in the forums in the near future? Even despite these concerns though I'm thrilled at all of the great prospects Gentoo MacOS presents.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AvantLegion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can anyone please explain the whole "making a disk image" part of the install instructions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
efp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

as-33 wrote:
I get the following error when I try to emerge system:

Code:

Calculating system dependencies \
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "sys-devel/autoconf" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.57-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.57a-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.58-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.58 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r3 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r4 (masked by: missing keyword)

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.
!!!    (dependency required by "net-misc/wget-1.9.1-r2" [ebuild])


!!! Problem with ebuild net-misc/wget-1.9.1-r2
!!! Possibly a DEPEND/*DEPEND problem.

!!! Depgraph creation failed.


What to do now?


I think the solution is to remove fink directories from you PATH variable, as you suggest, and re-executing /usr/portage/scripts/bootstrap-macos.sh.
_________________
L'architecture est mise en oeuvre la nature
-- E.L. Boulee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blackfede
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AvantLegion wrote:
For me, "emerge sync" just gives me a stream of "Failed cache update" errors for every ebuild.

I'm guessing I need to create that image, but the wiki doesn't explain crap.

Quote:
hdiutil create -size 750m <Imagename> -volname <Volumename> -fs UFS




If you read the documentation, you will find that problem is not related to gentoo MacOS, but to the new structure of the portage cache. You dont have to care of this error because it will disapper nex...ypu dont need to do any image of any type! :roll: Yust read the doc! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pindar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some of you seem to have emerged gentoolkit successfully. How did you do that? I always get these errors (with or without fink in my $PATH):
Code:
emerge -p gentoolkit

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies |
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy ">=sys-apps/portage-2.0.50" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-apps/portage-2.0.50-r8 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-apps/portage-2.0.50-r9 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-apps/portage-2.0.51_pre13 (masked by: package.mask, missing keyword)
# <carpaski@gentoo.org> (11 Apr 2004)
# Internal testing phase


For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.
!!!    (dependency required by "app-portage/gentoolkit-0.2.0_pre8" [ebuild])

As far as I can see, portage doesn't have the macos keyword in any version, so how did you get past that error?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dephzon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to /etc/make.conf you have to add "ppc" to ACCEPT_KEYWORDS, afterwards you will be able to emerge gentoolkit-dev. I tried it, it works fine, but I want to wait for the macos keyword in those packages in fear to mess with macos libaries when emerging not-tested packages....

my /etc/make.conf
Code:

# We use the ppc keyword until enough apps are macos keyworded

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="macos ppc"


Regards
dephzon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pindar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2004 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dephzon wrote:
I want to wait for the macos keyword in those packages in fear to mess with macos libaries when emerging not-tested packages....

I should have done the same, but my fingers itched to try and see whether it works. Now I'm stuck midway; a couple of packages built fine, but portage always craps out with these errors:
Code:
libsandbox.c: In function `init_wrappers':
libsandbox.c:218: error: `RTLD_NEXT' undeclared (first use in this function)
libsandbox.c:218: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
libsandbox.c:218: error: for each function it appears in.)
libsandbox.c: In function `get_dlsym':
libsandbox.c:346: error: `RTLD_NEXT' undeclared (first use in this function)
libsandbox.c: In function `open':
libsandbox.c:542: warning: `mode_t' is promoted to `int' when passed through `...'
libsandbox.c:542: warning: (so you should pass `int' not `mode_t' to `va_arg')
libsandbox.c: In function `init_env_entries':
libsandbox.c:956: warning: implicit declaration of function `strndupa'
libsandbox.c:956: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast
libsandbox.c:965: warning: implicit declaration of function `strndup'
libsandbox.c:965: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast
In file included from libsandbox.c:1363:
getcwd.c:224:1: warning: "__lstat" redefined
getcwd.c:207:1: warning: this is the location of the previous definition
In file included from libsandbox.c:1363:
getcwd.c: In function `__egetcwd':
getcwd.c:346: error: `__ptr_t' undeclared (first use in this function)
getcwd.c:346: error: parse error before "dotlist"
getcwd.c:388: warning: implicit declaration of function `_D_ALLOC_NAMLEN'
getcwd.c:419: warning: implicit declaration of function `_D_EXACT_NAMLEN'
getcwd.c:443: error: void value not ignored as it ought to be
getcwd.c:461: error: parse error before "dotlist"
getcwd.c:472: error: parse error before "dotlist"
getcwd.c: In function `egetcwd':
getcwd.c:483: error: argument `size' doesn't match prototype
libsandbox.c:136: error: prototype declaration
In file included from libsandbox.c:1364:
canonicalize.c: In function `erealpath':
canonicalize.c:153: warning: implicit declaration of function `__mempcpy'
canonicalize.c:153: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast
canonicalize.c:163: error: void value not ignored as it ought to be
make: *** [libsandbox.o] Error 1

I hope I didn't bork my system... I would say there is something to be said for the fink/DarwinPorts way of having all installed packages in one non-system directory. Nonetheless, I'm still very happy about emerge on os x!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed the bootstrap injecting a lot of things that I didn't have which worried me.

When it was done, emerge didn't work because it says I don't have python. I've done a complete install of Xcode 1.2 for Panther and I thought that it had all the stuff I was going to need for portage. Where am I supposed to get Python? I tried compiling from source but it failed saying it can't find limits.h.

My suspicion is that OSX may be missing some things from the initial install.
_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blackfede
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ypu must install the full DeveloperTools Package, in order to have portage work. Anyway, the fastest way to find out if you have python installed on you machine is to open a terninal and write "python", if the python ide start you have it ;-p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ukq7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Mar 2003
Posts: 23
Location: Yurop

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DiskBreaker wrote:
Hydraulix wrote:
Damn. I just copied all the /usr/lib/portage/bin to /usr/sbin for a quick fix. Do you think that's going to hurt later on or should I just forget it?


Code:
export PATH=$PATH:/usr/lib/portage/bin
(in your .bashrc)


Some people prefer tcsh. :p So in your .tcshrc add:

Code:
set path=( $path /usr/lib/portage/bin )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daSilVetZ
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 66
Location: CT

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i hope they update bugs.gentoo.com asap in order to reflect gentoo-macos, so we can report working packages .. i submitted a couple in the general gentoo section but i'm sure it got overwhelmed by all the other reports..
_________________
Think Different, Think Emerge.

:: TiBook 1Ghz :: 768 RAM :: 60GB HD+80GB Ext FW
:: 19" EN9110 LCD ::
:: iSight :: Apple Wireless Mouse :: iPod mini Silver::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blackfede wrote:
Ypu must install the full DeveloperTools Package, in order to have portage work. Anyway, the fastest way to find out if you have python installed on you machine is to open a terninal and write "python", if the python ide start you have it ;-p


Yeah it didn't do that. I thought Xcode was the full package. Unless there's something else missing.
_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo for Mac OS X (Portage for Mac OS X) All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum