Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
USE in make.conf
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tebers
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 115
Location: Germany, Kirchheim near Munich

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 8:19 am    Post subject: USE in make.conf Reply with quote

Ok ist getting math now.

I consider the flags in the USE parameter as a list.

Is this list merged with the list in /etc/profile/make.default,
while a "-flag" is considred to remove the member out of the list ?

Thorsten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure I completely understand your question, but I believe the answer is yes.

If you have a USE variable string set as follows:

Code:
USE="java -gtk kde"


Then portage will compile things with java support, without gtk support and with kde support.

hth

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tebers
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 115
Location: Germany, Kirchheim near Munich

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, i have been misunderstood.

example:

we have in /etc/make.profile/make.default the USE settings of:

aaa bbb ccc ddd eee ..... zzzzz = list (a)

and in /etc/make.conf

these USE settings of:

-ccc ddd -eee ... nnn = list(b)

so the merge of list (a,b) =

aaa bbb ddd fff ... nnn ... zzz


so my question is , does it behave like this or
is /etc/make.con taking proiority against /etc/make.profile/make.default
thus resulting only the use setting in make.conf taking effect regardless what is in .....

Thorsten

ps:
Sometimes I just have days where I struggle with english...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hellfire
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 54
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Easiest answer: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/use-howto.html

-h
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hellfire wrote:
Easiest answer: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/use-howto.html


Actually, that document doesn't answer tebers' question. However, the man page for make.conf does. To quote:

The man page for make.conf wrote:

This file contains various variables that are used by
Portage. Portage will check the currently-defined envi-
ronment variables first for any settings. If no environ-
ment settings are found, Portage then checks
/etc/make.conf. If no setting is found in /etc/make.conf,
Portage checks /etc/make.profile/make.defaults. If no
setting is found there, the default setting is grabbed
from /etc/make.globals. Please note that all user set-
tings should be made in the environment or in
/etc/make.conf, which is intended to be customized by the
user.



--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tebers wrote:
Sometimes I just have days where I struggle with english...


Even on your worst day, your English is much better than my German. :)

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just want to be sertain about this. use list in Thorstons example:
Quote:

we have in /etc/make.profile/make.default the USE settings of:
aaa bbb ccc ddd eee ..... zzzzz = list (a)

and in /etc/make.conf

these USE settings of:

-ccc ddd -eee ... nnn = list(b)

the result would be:
Code:
ddd nnn
right?
I was confused about this. It appears from the docs that this is the way.
-MF
Back to top
huw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 May 2002
Posts: 220
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought I understood but now I am confused too!

If you add a -optionX in /etc/make.conf to disable support for something in the defaults, why do you need to add optionY to enable another option?


Last edited by huw on Thu May 23, 2002 5:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
huw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 May 2002
Posts: 220
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Answer is because there are use variables that are not in make.defaults

So obvious I'm kicking myself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I understand that part pretty clearly (at least I think I do, I could be mistaken). Anyway, the part I don't understand is what to do if a package wants something you don't. For example, I had -kde -arts and something (freeamp I think) required arts. Well, I don't use KDE, so why should I have to have it? Just seems odd. From that standpoint, I don't get USE at all. The docs tell you to use -kde -arts at a minimum to disable KDE, yet other non-KDE programs fail to build. Is this just an ebuild issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tebers
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 115
Location: Germany, Kirchheim near Munich

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as I have looked now to the man-page I have come to this conclusion.
we get this
Code:

we have in /etc/make.profile/make.default the USE settings of:

aaa bbb ccc ddd eee ..... zzzzz = list (a)

and in /etc/make.conf

these USE settings of:

-ccc ddd -eee ... nnn = list(b)


the result will be
Code:

list(b)= -ccc ddd -eee ... nnn

means use not ccc and not eee but use ddd ... nnn

Therefore I would recommend copy all the flags from the /etc/make.profile/make.default to /etc/make.default and and negate all that you do not want with an "-"


Thorsten


Last edited by tebers on Thu May 23, 2002 5:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
huw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 May 2002
Posts: 220
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The freeamp ebuild script contains
Code:
use arts
so that's why it's asking for it. Now why that is neccessary is a different question...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kanuslupus wrote:
Anyway, the part I don't understand is what to do if a package wants something you don't


USE variables have no effect on package requirements. Only suggestions. If something requires QT or arts or gtk or whatever in order to run properly, then emerge is going to install it regardless of what USE variables you have set.

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

klieber wrote:
kanuslupus wrote:
Anyway, the part I don't understand is what to do if a package wants something you don't


USE variables have no effect on package requirements. Only suggestions. If something requires QT or arts or gtk or whatever in order to run properly, then emerge is going to install it regardless of what USE variables you have set.

--kurt
Interesting... freeamp would not build until I remakred out my USE line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2002 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kanuslupus wrote:
Interesting... freeamp would not build until I remakred out my USE line.


Could be a bug in the freeamp ebuild. That shouldn't have an effect on whether or not a package builds.

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum