Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Sparc Ultra5 128 Mb ram
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Rich_Kemp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2004 5:22 pm    Post subject: Sparc Ultra5 128 Mb ram Reply with quote

I've been given an Ultra5 with 128Mb of ram... do I have to use the full stage 3 install, or am I doomed to not be able to run Gentoo at all...?

(Total newcomer to Suns - it was being thrown out...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rich_Kemp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2004 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright - a bit more on this. I burned the LiveCD, and booted from it. The introwhatever says:

"Sun Ultra 5/10 UPA/PCI (UltraSPARC-IIi 360MHz), Keyboard Present
OpenBoot 3.19, 128 MB (50 ns) memory installed, Serial #12670108."
and the ethernet address and host ID.

then

"Rebooting with command: boot cdrom
Boot device: /pci@1f,0/pci@1,1/ide@3/cdrom@2,0:f File and args:
SILO Version 1.4.4
\
-- Welcome to Gentoo SPARC Linux --
-- Version 2004.1 --
boot: gentoo-2.4
Allocated 8 Megs of memory at 0x40000000 for kernel
Loaded kernel version 2.4.25
Loading initial ramdisk (943758 bytes at 0x40C00000)...
Illegal Instruction
ok"

What's up? Do I just not have enough memory? I tried with two separate LiveCDs - initially the minimum install, and then the universal one.

Can anyone help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Digiman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 116
Location: Mobile, AL

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

128 MB should be fine.

are you installing from this iso install-sparc-minimal-2004.1.iso?

might try re-downloading it and burning it again...

Hope that helps...
_________________
-- Digiman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4078
Location: Barcelona, Spain

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What speed are you burning at?
Apparently some people have problems when they burn the install CDs at anything greater than 4x, although I personally haven't had problems.
_________________
Gentoo Noob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rinacabj
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2003
Posts: 82
Location: Richmond, VA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got a bunch of these Ultra 5s to put Gentoo on. They can be a pain to get to boot right, but once they do you're good to go. As suggested before, try to burn the cd at a slower speed. Other than that, just keep trying until you get it. Sometimes I have to "boot cdrom" 5 times before it'll actually do it. Also, trying the 2004.0 cd has worked for me in situations where the 2004.1 wouldn't.

Other than that, Gentoo goes on like a charm. I do a stage2 build on these but I'm sure a stage3 or stage1 would work. Takes about a day to "emerge system" on them. And about an hour to do the kernel. But once they're running they're not too sluggish. X.org works great with full 1024x768.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liquidchile
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just did an stage 1 on an Ultra 5 with 128 megs of ram and it went perfectly.
Also, I recieved the same illegal instruction error as you did while attempted to boot from the 2004.1 live cd. I tried the cd image from gustavoz, however, and it booted fine. I believe the only difference is a slightly older version of silo:

http://dev.gentoo.org/~gustavoz/sparc/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frankOnPPC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 169
Location: Fulda, Hessen, Germany, Europe, Earth

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:59 pm    Post subject: I guess Reply with quote

I guess its realy that silo-1.4.4 thing,
I tried it on a Sparc-Station 4, never runs, forget it....
I tried it on a Sparc-Classic, never runs, forget it.....
I tried it on a Ultra 5, never runs, forget it....
I tried it with 2004.0, runs, yes, on all a.m. boxes.
So, whats the point ?
Rel. 2004.1 is for a couple of maschines a waste of CD-ROMS, a waste of time, a waste of bandwith.
So, if possible, mark the liveCD as buggy. Add a text on the directory with a warning.
Don't missunderstand me, I'm realy a great fan of Gentoo, I use it on 2 PowerMacs, 2 SunBoxes (the ultra 5 is a box i got today, and I tried all the tipps, as try it 5 times (or more), burn it with 4x)
At the end, its silo 144, it is, sorry to be so harsh, unusable.
To use that version on 2004.1 make it unusable.
Hopefully silo 1.4.5 would be better and find (it it is better) its way to the next LiveCDs ( I guess 2004.2).

Sorry, sometimes not amused as I spend some CD-Roms, some useless time on it, OK, take it as a test-response for 2004.1

BTW: 2004.0 runs perfect....on this ultra 5
To use this instead of 2004.1 solved it.
But I also like to try the 2004.1 with silo 132, as a.m.

Realy, this silo 1.4.4 thing is the damon to drive you crazy....

cheers,
Frank
_________________
always look at yellow site of Linux on the PPC.
Its PPCNUX.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brianakee
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may want to make sure that you have the latest Boot PROM code installed. I have several kernel related boot problems that were resolved by updating the PROM code.

This in itself was kind of a pain. The easiest way I found to complete this upgrade is to complete a minimal Solaris installation. Then follow the instruciton from the Boot PROM update readme file.

It may not solve your problem, however it may be worth the time bofore you get you gentoo system build completed.

TM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtombre
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Littleton, CO

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 5:59 pm    Post subject: Kernel panic: Ultra 5 Reply with quote

I have been able to do the full install from statge1 kernal-2.4.27. When I try to boot I get a kernal error--
Code:
Unable to handle kernel paging request at virtual address 000000014006200
...
swapper(1): Oops
...
Instruction DUMP: c0f23fd8 c0f23fe0 c0f23fe8 <c0f23ff0> c0f23ff8 0260000c 808a6004 02600004 808a6002
Kernel panic: Attempted to kill init!



Any ideas??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you see right before that kernel panic?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtombre
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Littleton, CO

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A local colorado guy! I have Ultra Sparc 5. hda is a 120GB Solaris 9 partition. hdd is a 120GB Gentoo partition. I use 'boot' for solaris, and boot disk2 for Gentoo. When I ok> boot disk2, it goes into SILO and immedialtely starts to boot gentoo.

I do have /boot on hdd slice 1, and / on hdd slice 1. Documentation had mixed notes, but I think I could get away with just /. Not sure if that is associated with my problem.

Thx, Jay (Littleton)

Code:

ide0 :BM-DMA at 0x1fe03c00020-0x1fe02c00027, BIOS settings: hda:pio, hdb:pio
ide0 :BM-DMA at 0x1fe03c00028-0x1fe02c0002f, BIOS settings: hdc:pio, hdd:pio
hda: Maxtor..
ide: Assuming 33Mhz system bus speed for PIO modes
hdc: CRD-8322B, ATAPI CD/DVD ROM
hdd: Maxtor...
ide0 at 0x1fe02c00000-0x1fe02c0000a on irq 4,7e0
ide1 at 0x1fe02c00010-0x1fe02c0001a on irq 4,7e0 (Shared with ide0)
hda: attached ide-disk driver
hda: host protected area =>1
hda: 240121728 sectorys (122942 MB) ...
hdd: attached ide-disk driver
hdd: host protected area =>1
hdd: 240121728 sectorys (122942 MB) ...
hdc: attached ide-cdrom driver
hdc: ATAPI 32X...
Uniform CD-ROM Driver Revision: 3.12
Partition check:
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1 p2 p3 p4 p6 p7 p8
Unable to handle kerner paging request at virtual address 0000000140062000
tsk->{mm,active_mm}->context = 0000000000000000
tsk->{mm,active_mm}->pgd = fffff80017010c00
          \|/ ____ \|/
          "Q'/ .. \'@"
          /_| \__/ |_\
             \__U__/
swapper(1): Oops
CPU[0]: local_irq_count[0] irqs_running[0]
TSTATE: 0000004480009605 TPC: 0000000000664614 TNPC: 0000000000664618 Y: ffffc5c0 Not tainted
g0: <16 bit addr> g1: <16 bit addr> g2: <16 bit addr> g3:  <16 bit addr>
g4: <16 bit addr> g5: <16 bit addr> g6: <16 bit addr> g7: <16 bit addr>
o0: <16 bit addr> o1: <16 bit addr> o2: <16 bit addr> o3: <16 bit addr>
o4: <16 bit addr> o5: <16 bit addr> o6: <16 bit addr> o7: <16 bit addr>
l0: <16 bit addr> l1: <16 bit addr> l2: <16 bit addr> l3: <16 bit addr>
l4: <16 bit addr> l5: <16 bit addr> l6: <16 bit addr> l7: <16 bit addr>
i0: <16 bit addr> i1: <16 bit addr> i2: <16 bit addr> i3: <16 bit addr>
i4: <16 bit addr> i5: <16 bit addr> i6: <16 bit addr> i7: <16 bit addr>
Caller[<16 bit addr>]
Caller[<16 bit addr>]
Caller[<16 bit addr>]
Caller[<16 bit addr>]
Caller[<16 bit addr>]
Caller[<16 bit addr>]
Caller[<16 bit addr>]
Caller[<16 bit addr>]
Caller[<16 bit addr>]
Caller[<16 bit addr>]
Instruction DUMP:...
Kernel panic: Attempted to kill init!
Press L1-A to return to boot prom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtombre
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Littleton, CO

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like it may be trying to load the kernel from the wrong disk?? Should be target 3 or 4???? Solaris has it being c0t3d0
Partition check:
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1 p2 p3 p4 p6 p7 p8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Two thoughts that come to mind;


    silo.conf points to hda having the root instead of hdd
    hdd doesn't have a sun disklabel


not sure if either of these are the case but I'd guess that was your culprit based on what you've pasted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtombre
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Littleton, CO

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have verified that silo.conf points to hdd. You may be correct on the 2nd one? Ideas on how to resolve that? Do I need a sun disklabel if there is no sun partition on hdd? I have tried the boot: /boot/kernel-2.4.27 from silo and it takes off, but I get the same error. So it looks like silo is on the correct disk, and the disk is mounted, but my kernel wants the hda.

With a straight gentoo disk, do I need silo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robmus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2004 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yah you always need a sun disklable, its called wholedisk. fire up fdisk

Code:
# fdisk /hdd


you'll get

Code:
Command (m for help):


you want to type 's' <enter>

configure your harddrive settings (autoconfigure never works, so dont bother) enter in all the head/cylinder and interleave junk (much like oldschool bios on PC) and save your configuration.

when you're done, type "p" in fdisk, and make sure it says



Code:

Device Flag     Start     End          Blocks     Id     System
/dev/hdd3         0        <your end cyl> <blocks>   5    Whole Disk


you absolutly NEED a sun disklabel on all SPARC computers.

cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtombre
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Littleton, CO

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all the help! I have got the sparc gentoo up and running. emerged kde, but kde gui not operational yet. Still alot to learn about, but moving forward. Thx again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum