View previous topic :: View next topic  

Is the Newbie forum useful?
Remove the Newbie forum & merge threads to other forums
37%
 37%  [ 45 ]
As above, but change the Newbie forum into a FAQ forum
43%
 43%  [ 52 ]
Newbie forum, and its problems, should be left alone because... (post reason)
12%
 12%  [ 15 ]
I have a better idea (post idea)
5%
 5%  [ 7 ]
Total Votes : 119

ClippyHater
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2002 5:36 pm    Post subject: Ok, I'm a noob to Linux and Gentoo, here are my thoughts Reply with quote

There truly are a ton of duplicated threads scattered across the forums. For instance, I had posted a request for help with kdevelop initially in the noob forum, since I figured people would explain things in such a way that I'd understand it. After a bit without responses, I posted the same request for help in Portage and Programming, and almost immediately got a response there. IMO, most noobs are in the same boat: they need knowledge, don't want to waste experience users time in a non-noob forum, and perhaps they end up dual-posting their question.

What a noob really needs, imo, is a really well indexed knowledge base. Perhaps a drill-down scheme (apache->[config|security|etc], development->[general|desktop|cli], etc). Perhaps a wiki would be the best bet...? Anyway, if there was an easily, accurately searchable knowledge base, I'm sure more would use it. For instance, search on fonts... go ahead... 682 results. Ok, a bit overwhelming. So, try 'fonts and kde'... 125 results. These forums are great, and there's a TON of knowledge in here for noobs and pros alike, however, getting to the specific bit of knowledge is extremely time consuming.