Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
prom question--video resolution
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bung-foo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2002
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 4:42 am    Post subject: prom question--video resolution Reply with quote

My display is set at 1152x900 @ 60 hz and its killing my eyes. I can't change the resolution with X and I've read that you can set the display resolution and refresh rate in prom. Is this true?

What is the command to do this on an ultra 80? I've been trolling the net for an hour or so and I can't find this info.

Thanks.


Abe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 5:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First thing you want to do is to find a refresh rate and resolution that both your monitor and framebuffer support. As an example, I'll assume you want to use 1280x1024 @ 76 Mhz (this is also a common setting for Sun Framebuffers in Ultra Workstations).

In OBP, you'll want to run the following command

Code:
ok setenv display-device screen:r1280x1024x76


Then just reset and away you go!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bung-foo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2002
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Weeve. I'll give it a go when I get back from school this evening.


Abe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bung-foo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2002
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, I get an error that says:

display-device?
ok>

love the smart ass openprom ;-)

So, I looked around some more and found that show-displays will list your display devices. It lists my elite 3d. So, uh, how do I make the prom see a display device for the purpose of changing its resolution?


Abe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SmokingBunnies
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 May 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i had to use

setenv output-device screen:r1024x768x70


for 102x768 display at 70Hz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bung-foo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2002
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey thanks this worked great.

"setenv output-device screen:r"

Yeah! Less eye strain!


Abe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peaceful
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 287
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone know how to set framebuffer options for the linux framebuffer that takes over after the PROM?

The framebuffer on my ancient SparcStation 10 defaulted to a great resolution, but the right edge goes way off the physical monitor and garbles the screen.

I figure it must be a SILO option that you pass to the kernel, but I haven't had any luck in my searching yet...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bung-foo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2002
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sounds like the refresh rate is wrong for your monitor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peaceful
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 287
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bung-foo wrote:
sounds like the refresh rate is wrong for your monitor.


I've tried things like

Code:
setenv output-device screen:r1024x768x70


and

Code:
setenv output-device screen:r1024x768x60


and

Code:
setenv output-device screen:r800x600x60


it gives the little "ok, output-device = ..." line in the prom, then I type reset and nothing has changed.

Do I have to do a save command or something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peaceful
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 287
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weeve wrote:
First thing you want to do is to find a refresh rate and resolution that both your monitor and framebuffer support.


How do you figure this out? The date on my SparcStation 10 PROM is 1992 and I know the monitor (and the box) were bought circa 1995-96

I've tried a whole bunch of resolution/refresh combinations and so far nothing has changed a bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jester20
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2004 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The FB console with out the prom part would be set with the vga= or video= options for the kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The way to find out what modes are supported is look up the sun part number on your framebuffer at http://sunsolve.sun.com

That will show you what modes are supported and what you can pick from. vga= and video= will only work on the pgx series of framebuffers since they are based on the ATI Mach64 chipset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peaceful
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 287
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 2:41 pm    Post subject: Frustrating Reply with quote

Ok, this is really frustrating. My monitor still won't change it's resolution/refresh, even though it doesn't complain when I do

setenv output-device screen:r####x###x##
reset

NOTHING HAPPENS! AAaaaarggh!

The ###'s are replaced by any of the values in the list below (I tried them all), which I got from http://sunsolve.sun.com/handbook_pub/Systems/SS10/GRAPH_Aux_Video_Bd.html

1024x768x60
1024x768x70
1024x800x84
1152x900x66
1152x900x76
1280x1024x66
1600x1280x66

This SparcStation 10 has been sitting on my desk, half-usable for a month now. Anyone have any idea why the PROM doesn't complain about the screen resolution, but doesn't do anything either? Is the PROM just too old? Do '92 PROMS have flash capability? (doubt it) What do I do?

edit: The same page that lists the resolutions also says
"8. Use the cg14config (1M) command to change resolutions. "
(Under solaris, I would assume). Does this give any clues?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peaceful
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 287
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cmon, someone out there has to have experience with SparcStation 10 screen resolutions!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bung-foo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2002
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry man my experience is limited to an ultra 80. My experience around here is that if no one has posted, no one knows. Although there is always the possibility that the people who know have just missed your post.


Abe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peaceful
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 287
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, get this: I got so sick of the problem that I swapped my SparcStation 10 for a 1st generation iMac (333Mhz) with my coworker. We move the SS10 over to his cube, and the last column in the framebuffer suddenly works correctly!

Apparently, the monitor (and cable) just needed to be whacked upside the head. Anyway, consider the problem solved.

Thx for all those who offered help/suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum