2 gentoo installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mika Pesu
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 2:05 pm    Post subject: 2 gentoo installation Reply with quote

how can i install 2 gentoo linux in 1 computer without losing any data?
i have already installed gentoo 1.2 and i want to have "test bed" for other's like gentoo 1.3b.

-how can i share configure files between these two systems?
-if i have to re-partion my hard disks how can i do that so i don't lose any data?
alec
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, you can have multiple gentoo's. Just have two partitions (i'm no partitioning expert, still use PartitionMagic or the Mandrake install disc).

If your /boot is a seperate partition, then things are easy. Just copy your new kernels there (if you have a new one - you can probably use the same one for both, just create two grub entries pointing to it with different roots).

Sharing config files is relatively painless - just copy them. You'll probably need to edit some of them, though, especailly for optimizations.
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have users (you really should :)), having /home as a separate partition will help you share user data between the two configurations. I use this to try out even other distributions without too much fuss. As alec suggests, copying config files may be the best option (don't have /etc as a separate partition!). I would be careful in doing this since you may be using different compiler options between the two gcc versions, etc.

For resizing partitions, a non-commercial option is GNU "parted". I have not used this recently, so I am not sure how well it works.
Mika Pesu
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote