Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
why should lfs users try gentoo?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
doRphine

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2002 4:14 pm    Post subject: why should lfs users try gentoo? Reply with quote

I am already a lfs(linux from scratch) user. I have been using lfs for more than 10 months and I like it. For the most people, main reasons for trying out lfs is:
1. learn about linux
2. You have 100% control over your linux system.
I read Gentoo doc. Gentoo basically had the same idea with lfs.
In addition to lfs, it seems like it's offering:
1. Easier way of upgrading software
2. Much simpler installation procedure than lfs.

Does any lfs users out there who moved to gentoo? I like to hear more about lfs vs Gentoo issues.
steveD

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2002 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a lfs user too. LFS teaches me how to compile and build software from source code. All I need is a Linux skeleton OS which has all compiler tools built-in so that I can build other stuffs. Gentoo provides me this skeleton (stage2 or stage3 ISO image). For LFS I have to build everything and it depends on another distro on your computer. With Gentoo, I don't need any distro in my computer at all. All I need it the stage2 and stage3 image on CDROM. I can blank out all partitions and start everything from scratch.