Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
JAVA_CLASSES classes.zip
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1145
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 8:43 pm    Post subject: JAVA_CLASSES classes.zip Reply with quote

i am trying to install the java version of icq...but i cant find the classes.zip ....i set the JAVA_HOME to /opt/blackdown-jdk-1.3.1 and the executable i left as it points to the home then /bin/lib but the path to the classes.zip fails and i can not find this...anyone have a clue where it is being hidden?

ciao
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomte
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 9:02 pm    Post subject: Re: JAVA_CLASSES classes.zip Reply with quote

rommel wrote:
i am trying to install the java version of icq...but i cant find the classes.zip

Which package? AFAIK theres more then one java icq-client;

concerning classes.zip:
correct, there's none; what is it good for? never needed one ;-)

rommel wrote:
there is no /bin/java directory and i was able to get past the java exec path by pointint it to the mozilla plugin folder but i dont know if this is right

append /opt/blackdown-jdk-x.y.z/jre/bin to your PATH to be able to start it using 'java client-main-class'.

Is the client started via a script? have a look at it to see what it expects,
maybe it is sufficient to export JAVA_HOME=/opt/blackdown-jdk-x.y.z
(edit /etc/profile to enable PATH and other manual env-settings to all users, edit ~/bash_profile to set env for a specific user alone
rommel wrote:
...anyway why is this blackdown installing in sucha different manner then everything i am able to find on the net like through google...help

/opt is an appropriate place, IMHO

regards,
tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok this is what i ahve done but it still isnt working..\\\\\//////

JAVA_HOME="/opt/blackdown-jdk-1.3.1"
JAVA_EXEC="$JAVA_HOME/bin/java"
JAVA_CLASSES="$JAVA_HOME/jre/lib/rt.jar"
ICQ_HOME="$HOME/ICQJava"


and i wasnt saying there was anyting wrong with the path i just couldnt find the classes.zip till i found its no longer used in the new java i guess...but it still doesnt work...this is the icq .981a

anything else you would try....i saw an article that said to comment out all the if and fi lines so the rt.jar wouldnt hang the install
Back to top
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1145
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well after edititng the install file to accept the rt.jar instead of failing for not finding the classes.zip this is what happens when i run sh ICQ from the ICQJava folder

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.ClassFormatError: Mirabilis/ICQ/NetAware/CNetAwareApp (Local variable name has bad constant pool index)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass0(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:486)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:111)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:248)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(URLClassLoader.java:56)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:195)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:188)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:297)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:286)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:253)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(ClassLoader.java:313)

lol...man i love linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomte
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

#!/bin/sh
#

more LICENSE.TXT

JAVA_HOME="/path/to/java"
JAVA_EXEC="$JAVA_HOME/bin/java" # may be $JAVA_HOME/jre/bin/java
ICQ_HOME="."

if test ! -f "$JAVA_EXEC"; then
    echo ""
    echo ""
    echo ""
    echo ""
    echo "Invalid JAVA_EXEC: java executable not found"
    exit 1
fi

if test ! -d "$ICQ_HOME"; then
    echo ""
    echo ""
    echo ""
    echo ""
    echo "Invalid ICQ_HOME: contains illegal path"
    exit 1
fi

echo "#!/bin/sh" > $ICQ_HOME/ICQ
echo "$JAVA_EXEC -classpath $ICQ_HOME/ICQ.jar:$ICQ_HOME:$JAVA_CLASSES Mirabilis.ICQ.NetAware.CNetA
wareApp -path $ICQ_HOME" >> $ICQ_HOME/ICQ

chmod 755 $ICQ_HOME/ICQ

echo "Installation finished"



I got it installed this way (the script does nothing but generating a shell script for your convinience. Note that I removed the "rm install" line, you don't want to edit it everytime you want to regenerate you start script, do you?)

theres another pitfall: you need a 1.1.x jdk (according to mirabilis installation-instructions). 1.3.1 crashes with a classloader error (at least blackdown).

I don't want to install a 1.1.x jdk, so you're on youre own :-(
but they are still around; let me know if you succeed!

and apologies for sounding a bit 'sloppy' in my last post...

regards,
tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1145
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol...well that explains it cuz i am using jdk-1.3.1....lol....aarrgghhh forget it i have gaim installed adn its working...i'll wait for mirabilis to get the bugs out...they are usually pretty fast at cranking out updates...thanks for your help though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum