Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problem with default route...Help
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
snorkel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Milwaukee, WI

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 12:26 pm    Post subject: Problem with default route...Help Reply with quote

Hi,
I just finished installing from stage1 and everything works including my nic, however I can't get to the net unless I manually add the default route every time I boot.
Is there a way to add this to the net scripts so I don't have to do this every time.
Maybe I missed something during setup?

Thanks,

Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 1:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem with default route...Help Reply with quote

snorkel wrote:
Is there a way to add this to the net scripts so I don't have to do this every time.


I'm assuming that eth0 comes up correctly and its just your default route that doesn't get properly set.

If so, you need to edit your /etc/conf.d/net file and make sure there's a line that looks similar to:

Code:
gateway="eth0/192.168.1.1"


Obviously substituting the correct NIC and IP address for your particular network.

If, however, eth0 isn't starting at boot, either, then you probably forgot to add that script to the startup process. Check out code listing 34 in the Install guide for more info.

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
svan9420
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 2:07 pm    Post subject: If you are a modem user Reply with quote

If you are a modem user, set your default route to ppp0. That worked for me anyways.

By the way I have set up a gentoo dial up gateway using iptables that is really awesome. Gentoo is the way to go !!
_________________
svan9420
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
svan9420
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 2:08 pm    Post subject: sorry for the extra post Reply with quote

gateway="ppp0/0.0.0.0"
_________________
svan9420
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snorkel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Milwaukee, WI

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2002 2:42 pm    Post subject: Got it working :-) Reply with quote

I just did not scroll down enough in /etc/conf.d/net
I just uncomment the gateway var and put in my routers IP :-)
Works like a charm now.

T
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum