Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
X on an Ultra 10 - so close, yet so far...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jcostom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 28
Location: NJ

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 1:09 pm    Post subject: X on an Ultra 10 - so close, yet so far... Reply with quote

Someone dropped an Ultra 10 on my desk the other day. No creator card, just the onboard video, which shows up as an ATI Rage Pro (Mach64).

I've tried both xfree 4.3.0-r5 as well as 4.3.99.902-r2. Regardless of which release, when I try to use the ati driver, which claims to support Mach64 chips, I get no joy. Here's what lspci produces:

Code:

# lspci 
0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: Sun Microsystems Computer Corp. Ultra IIi
0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: Sun Microsystems Computer Corp. Simba Advanced PCI Bridge (rev 13)
0000:00:01.1 PCI bridge: Sun Microsystems Computer Corp. Simba Advanced PCI Bridge (rev 13)
0000:01:01.0 Bridge: Sun Microsystems Computer Corp. EBUS (rev 01)
0000:01:01.1 Ethernet controller: Sun Microsystems Computer Corp. Happy Meal (rev 01)
0000:01:02.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc 3D Rage Pro 215GP (rev 5c)
0000:01:03.0 IDE interface: CMD Technology Inc PCI0646 (rev 03)


According to the dmesg, this VGA controller is:

Code:

atyfb: 3D RAGE PRO (PQFP, PCI) [0x4750 rev 0x7c] 4M SGRAM, 14.31818 MHz XTAL, 230 MHz PLL, 100 Mhz MCLK
fb0: ATY Mach64 frame buffer device on PCI


In the /var/log/XFree86.0.log file, for some reason, it tries to load the radeon and r128 drivers, even though this is what I'm trying to use:

Code:

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Card0"
        Driver      "ati"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Card0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth 16
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     16
                Modes     "1280x1024"
        EndSubSection
EndSection


Of course, it complains that it can't find an appropriate device. But I tell you, it's in there, the kernel fb driver sees it!

I've got X up and running using fbdev at 8bpp depth, but I'd really like to go 16bpp and have accelerated support. If I try to run the fbdev at 16bpp, I just a nasty green tint to the screen. Not pleasant.

Anyone have a working X config for this combo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lori
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 338
Location: Barcelona, Spain

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try to modify the Device section of your XF86Config file like this:

Code:

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Card0"
        Driver      "ati"
        VendorName  "ATI"
        BoardName   "3D Rage I/II 215GT [Mach64 GT]"
        ChipSet     "ati"
        ChipId      0x4754
        ChipRev     0x9a
        BusID       "PCI:1:2:0"
EndSection


Alternatively you can try to run from the command line XFree86 -config. It will drop a /root/XF86Config.new file, that you should examine and try to merge with the existing XF86Config. If you don't have anything important in the existing config file, you can replace it with this one.

I'm curios if it worked...
_________________
"The hunt is sweeter then the kill."
Registered Linux User #176911
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcostom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 28
Location: NJ

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lori wrote:
Try to modify the Device section of your XF86Config file like this:

Code:

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Card0"
        Driver      "ati"
        VendorName  "ATI"
        BoardName   "3D Rage I/II 215GT [Mach64 GT]"
        ChipSet     "ati"
        ChipId      0x4754
        ChipRev     0x9a
        BusID       "PCI:1:2:0"
EndSection



Looked good, but alas, did nothing.. Still can't locate a suitable device. :(

Lori wrote:

Alternatively you can try to run from the command line XFree86 -config. It will drop a /root/XF86Config.new file, that you should examine and try to merge with the existing XF86Config. If you don't have anything important in the existing config file, you can replace it with this one.

I'm curios if it worked...


XFree86 -configure yielded this:

Code:

# XFree86 -configure

This is a pre-release version of XFree86, and is not supported in any
way.  Bugs may be reported to XFree86@XFree86.Org and patches submitted
to fixes@XFree86.Org.  Before reporting bugs in pre-release versions,
please check the latest version in the XFree86 CVS repository
(http://www.XFree86.Org/cvs).

XFree86 Version 4.3.99.902 (4.4.0 RC 2)
Release Date: 18 December 2003
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.6
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.4 sparc64 [ELF]
Current Operating System: Linux sun1 2.6.4 #4 Sat Apr 3 08:51:44 EST 2004 sparc64
Build Date: 01 April 2004
Changelog Date: 19 December 2003
        Before reporting problems, check http://www.XFree86.Org/
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
        (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.0.log", Time: Sun Apr  4 12:18:07 2004
Using vt 7
List of video drivers:
        atimisc
        r128
        radeon
        sunffb
        sunleo
        suncg6
        suncg3
        suncg14
        suntcx
        sunbw2
        glint
        mga
        tdfx
        ati
        savage
        vesa
        vga
        fbdev
        v4l
        apm
        ark
        chips
        cirrus
        i128
        i740
        i810
        imstt
        neomagic
        newport
        nv
        rendition
        s3virge
        savage
        siliconmotion
        tga
        trident
        vmware
        dummy
(EE) Failed to load module "savage" (once-only module, 0)
No devices to configure.  Configuration failed.


Oh well, we'll just have to live with 1280x1024x8bpp on the fbdev.. thanks anyhow..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure you have specified your monitor's Hortizontal Sync and Vertical Refresh rates in the config otherwise you'll probably end up with what you are seeing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ciaranm
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 1719
Location: In Hiding

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're not running a 2.6.x kernel are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcostom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 28
Location: NJ

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ciaranm wrote:
You're not running a 2.6.x kernel are you?


Yes, I am. 2.6.4. All else seems to be fine && dandy with it..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ciaranm
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 1719
Location: In Hiding

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

see bug 43630
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcostom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 28
Location: NJ

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ciaranm wrote:
see bug 43630


Pure, unadulterated genius.. I integrated the 2004-03-10 patch into the patch bundle, re-did the digests and remerged the xfree 4.3.99.902-r2 package.

X now runs 1280x1024x16bpp. Yay.

So, will that break later today when I try to convert this box to using udev? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum