Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
The F? Virtual Window Manager
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 65, 66, 67  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jean456
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2003
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2003 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is discussed here on the forums https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=4825&highlight=font+howto
and you can visit www.xfree.org and browse their documentation: I remember there was a "font de-uglyfication howto". Then, when you got antialiased fonts to work you have to append "xft:font, pixelsize,...etc" on the font-specific lines of your fvwmrc. See man fvwm for more details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taviso
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 261
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2003 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Take a look at this post https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=58037
_________________
--------------------------------------
Gentoo on Alpha, is your penguin 64bit?
--------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zoltan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 394
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2003 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

manywele wrote:
About the fvwm-menu-headlines. Is there any way to update them when you open the menu rather than restarting fvwm or manualy issuing a Read command? Can't figure it out.


I decided to give a try to the Scedule command. It seems to work pretty ok for now. Should destroy the generated menu after 3 minutes so next time I try to open it, it will be generated again because it is missing.

Code:
DestroyFunc PopupHeadlinesMenu
AddToFunc PopupHeadlinesMenu
+ I PipeRead 'fvwm-menu-headlines --site $0 --title $0 --name $0 \
  --exec "exec mozilla -remote \'openURL(%u, new-tab)\'"'
+ I Schedule 180000 DestroyMenu $0
                                                                                                   
DestroyMenu NewsMenu
AddToMenu NewsMenu "News headlines" Title
+ MissingSubmenuFunction PopupHeadlinesMenu
+ "Slashdot" Popup Slashdot
+ "Linux Today" Popup LinuxToday
+ "News Forge" Popup NewsForge
+ "Kuro5hin" Popup Kuro5hin
+ "GNOME News" Popup GNOME-News
+ "KDE News" Popup KDE-News
+ "" Nop
+ "FreshMeat" Popup FreshMeat
+ "" Nop
+ "CNN" Popup CNN
+ "BBC" Popup BBC

_________________
Light travels faster than sound. That's why some people appear bright before you hear them speak.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taviso
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 261
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2003 2:29 pm    Post subject: Eye Candy Icons Reply with quote

This little hack is a little slow, but looks really cool :)
Code:
AddToFunc StartFunction I Module FvwmEvent FvwmEvent-IconWatch

DestroyFunc IconifyWithScreenshot
AddToFunc IconifyWithScreenshot
+ I Raise
+ I PipeRead "import -geometry 64 -resize 64 -silent -quality 0 \
   -frame -window $[w.id] $[HOME]/.fvwm/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png \
   && echo WindowStyle IconOverride, Icon $[HOME]/.fvwm/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png \
   || echo Nop"
+ I Iconify

DestroyFunc DeIconifyWithScreenshot
AddToFunc DeIconifyWithScreenshot
+ I WindowID $0 DestroyWindowStyle
+ I Exec rm -f $HOME/.fvwm/icon.tmp.$0.png

DestroyModuleConfig FvwmEvent-IconWatch: *
*FvwmEvent-IconWatch: Cmd
*FvwmEvent-IconWatch: PassID
*FvwmEvent-IconWatch: deiconify DeIconifyWithScreenshot

Instead of binding your titlebar button to Iconify, try binding it to IconifyWithScreenshot, for example, if you use Button 6 to Iconify Windows:
Code:
Mouse 0 6      A   IconifyWithScreenShot

Check These out:

Before Iconifying:
http://dev.gentoo.org/~taviso/step1.png
And After:
http://dev.gentoo.org/~taviso/step2.png

note: you need media-gfx/imagemagick installed for this to work.

If anyone has any improvements, feel free to reply :)
_________________
--------------------------------------
Gentoo on Alpha, is your penguin 64bit?
--------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chickpea
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 846
Location: Vancouver WA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2003 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Taviso, I finally figured out what your "little hack" :lol: does....

I was reading your post from the fvwm mailing list where I first saw this...came here to the forums to ask you about it and then I see your post.

After about 5 minutes, I finally got it and I LOVE THIS!

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zoltan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 394
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2003 7:55 pm    Post subject: What's the difference between StartFunc and RestartFunc? Reply with quote

In subject I had to abbreviate function names. Anyway, both are executed on restart.

What I want, is a function that is executed only ONCE, just on window manager startup, that's all. For example I want to run "xscreensaver -no-spash", but run it only once since the process runs in background and shouldn't be executed on every restart. Also I want to run some applications at the first time fvwm starts.

I run fvwm from gdm, that is it is executed from /etc/X11/Sessions/fvwm2. I can add execution commands there, but this would make configuration system-wide. Is there a function that is executed only once? Or maybe a shell script?
_________________
Light travels faster than sound. That's why some people appear bright before you hear them speak.


Last edited by Zoltan on Tue Nov 25, 2003 5:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefklak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 818
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woow, this is some serious godness 8)
Im addicted too, thanks man!


Only have two questions:
I would like to have two dockapps, an ACPI status monitor and a notes applet. Is there a way to "run" the gnome ones or so?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zoltan, you can add startup programs in your .fvwm2rc, like this:
Code:
AddToFunc StartFunction
+ I Nop
+ I Module FvwmCommandS
+ I Exec exec ~/scripts/wp.pl
+ I Module FvwmWindowMenu

_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefklak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 818
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I managed to find some dockapps, but err...
How do you "install" them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taviso
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 261
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chickpea wrote:
After about 5 minutes, I finally got it and I LOVE THIS!

Glad you like it! :)

Zoltan wrote:
What I want, is a function that is executed only ONCE, just on window manager startup, that's all. For example I want to run "xscreensaver -no-spash", but run it only once since the process runs in background and shouldn't be executed on every restart.


In addition to what Wedge_ mentioned, if you want it to only start once, you can use something like this:
Code:
AddToFunc StartFunction
+ I Test (Init) Exec exec SomethingOnlyRunOnce

note: this used to be done in InitFunction, which still works, but is deprecated, IIRC.
_________________
--------------------------------------
Gentoo on Alpha, is your penguin 64bit?
--------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zoltan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 394
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zoltan wrote:
manywele wrote:
About the fvwm-menu-headlines. Is there any way to update them when you open the menu rather than restarting fvwm or manualy issuing a Read command? Can't figure it out.


I decided to give a try to the Scedule command. It seems to work pretty ok for now. Should destroy the generated menu after 3 minutes so next time I try to open it, it will be generated again because it is missing.


Ok I ran into another serious problem. My web proxy is seriously fucked up. It caches files like slashdot.org/slashdot.xml for days. Commands like "wget -C off http://slashdot.org/slashdot.xml" would ignore the cache and download the most recent version of the file. But fvwm-menu-headlines always gets the cached version. I tried to tcpdump wget's transfer and saw the "Pragma: no-cache", so I added it to httpHeaders variable, like this:

Code:
--- fvwm-menu-headlines.in      2003-07-08 21:41:49.000000000 +0300
+++ /usr/bin/fvwm-menu-headlines        2003-11-24 22:39:47.350732584 @@ -342,7 +342,8 @@
        my $httpHeaders = "$endl" .
                        "Host: $siteHost$endl" .
                        "Connection: close$endl" .
-                       "User-Agent: fvwm-menu-headlines/$version$endl$endl";
+                       "User-Agent: fvwm-menu-headlines/$version$endl" .
+                       "Pragma: no-cache$endl$endl";
        if (defined $proxy) {
                print SOCK "GET http://$siteHost$sitePath HTTP/1.1$httpHeaders";
        } else {


I think there should better be an option to ignore proxy/server cache to make this easier.
_________________
Light travels faster than sound. That's why some people appear bright before you hear them speak.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrique
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2002
Posts: 342
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Man... fvwm is great :)

But there are something I need to tweak:

1. If I send a window to the back with "Lower" icons on the desktop overlap the window
2. Sometimes, e.g. at random, the focus switches from Opera to xChat, while I'm typing a url, and only if xChat had focus before Opera
3. Mplayer's video window opens in 0,0 how do I get it to be centered, without doing stange stuff © ;)
_________________
Kind regards, enrique
Workstation,HTPC,Powerbook
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefklak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 818
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heh i finally got it working :)

Code:
# bubblemon rox!
Module FvwmButtons dockapp-duck
*dockapp-duck: Frame 1
*dockapp-duck: Padding 0 0
*dockapp-duck: Geometry 62x62-10+99
*dockapp-duck: (Swallow bubblemon "Exec exec bubblemon -k -p")


example screenshot:
My brand new FVWM rox your box!
How can I take a screenshot from the menu? Everythime I press a key wich is bined to Win+D, nothing happens when the menu is up... (binded to Key S M 4 Exex exec scrot --quality 90 '%Y-%m-%d_$wx$h.png')?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zoltan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 394
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jefklak wrote:

example screenshot:
My brand new FVWM rox your box!
How can I take a screenshot from the menu? Everythime I press a key wich is bined to Win+D, nothing happens when the menu is up... (binded to Key S M 4 Exex exec scrot --quality 90 '%Y-%m-%d_$wx$h.png')?


Mind putting your config somewhere near that screenshot? I'm still in the process of configuring my fvwm2 desktop, so your config could be helpful.
_________________
Light travels faster than sound. That's why some people appear bright before you hear them speak.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chickpea
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 846
Location: Vancouver WA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jefklak wrote:
Heh i finally got it working :)

Code:
# bubblemon rox!
Module FvwmButtons dockapp-duck
*dockapp-duck: Frame 1
*dockapp-duck: Padding 0 0
*dockapp-duck: Geometry 62x62-10+99
*dockapp-duck: (Swallow bubblemon "Exec exec bubblemon -k -p")


example screenshot:
My brand new FVWM rox your box!
How can I take a screenshot from the menu? Everythime I press a key wich is bined to Win+D, nothing happens when the menu is up... (binded to Key S M 4 Exex exec scrot --quality 90 '%Y-%m-%d_$wx$h.png')?


You need to use the PipeRead command. So it would be something like:
Code:
PipeRead 'scrot --quality 90 '%Y-%m-%d_$wx$h.png'


You may need to check the man page for the exacty syntax but that is the jist of it.

Question for you...What is the controls in the upper left of your desktop?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taviso
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 261
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zoltan wrote:
I think there should better be an option to ignore proxy/server cache to make this easier.

Sounds reasonable to me :)

try posting your patch with an explanation to the fvwm/fvwm-workers mailing list.

enrique wrote:
1. If I send a window to the back with "Lower" icons on the desktop overlap the window

I quite like that, but if it bothers you Instead of using the Iconify command, you could write a function that Iconifies it, then puts it at the bottom (theres an example in the man page).
Quote:
2. Sometimes, e.g. at random, the focus switches from Opera to xChat, while I'm typing a url, and only if xChat had focus before Opera

No idea, try turning off GrabFocus for XChat...something like
Code:
Style XChat* !FPGrabFocus

You could try asking on the fvwm mailing list if that doesnt fix it.
Quote:
3. Mplayer's video window opens in 0,0 how do I get it to be centered, without doing stange stuff © ;)

man mplayer, look for the -geometry option ;)
jefklak wrote:
example screenshot:
My brand new FVWM rox your box!

wow! very nice.
_________________
--------------------------------------
Gentoo on Alpha, is your penguin 64bit?
--------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zoltan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 394
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

taviso wrote:
Zoltan wrote:
I think there should better be an option to ignore proxy/server cache to make this easier.

Sounds reasonable to me :)

try posting your patch with an explanation to the fvwm/fvwm-workers mailing list.


I am not a perl programmer at all :oops:

My patch is a hack for my own installation (I just found the HTTP headers place and added a new header there) and even writing an additional option parsing in perl escapes me. If you are kind enough, post the URL to my gentoo forum post yourself to that mailing list.
_________________
Light travels faster than sound. That's why some people appear bright before you hear them speak.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefklak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 818
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Upper left = XMMS shortcuts. The first one is a button to access my quickMenu, second & third for volumes, 4th to rewind/stop/go back a song and last to play/load/pause etc :)

Hm, im having some difficulties with the dockapps.
When I resize an app, like firebird, i would like it to cover the dockapp but firebird resizes and sticks to the dockapp (it stays on bottom, firebird isnt maximalized but "stretched" between the dockapps) is there a way to setup the Maximalize command to ignore the other modules running?


Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefklak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 818
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never mind, found it out.
Instead of "Maximize grow grow" you had to use "maximaze" without any arguments.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manywele
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 739
Location: Inside

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2003 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are there any good 5 day weather forecast apps that work with fvwm? I've looked at wmweather+ but it's not very pretty, I can't find any way to make it larger (i.e. readable without a magnifying glass) and the forecast doesn't seem to work. Nothing in portage seems to fit the bill. I have xplanet forecast running but I'd like something that isn't a part of the desktop. Anyone know of anything good out there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chickpea
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 846
Location: Vancouver WA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2003 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use gdesklets....only caveat is that it requires quite a few gnome libraries...I thin gnome python was the thing that irritated me to emerge cuz it took a little while

but anyhow, one of the desklets for weather is called goodweather. check it out at http://gdesklets.gnomedesktop.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manywele
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 739
Location: Inside

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2003 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I saw that but I didn't want to install the thirty other packages it needs. I have kde installed. Any others?

And while I'm asking questions, is there any way to dynamically create a form from a button on a dynamically created form? I got bogged down in a morass of nests and quotes that wouldn't work inside one another.

And does anyone have an example of toggled buttons using AllToggled or something similar in the ButtonStyle command? I've been trying to get it to work and can't even get the example in the man page to work. Can't find an rc with a working example.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2003 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made a little script that generates a list of processes in a menu and kills any that you click. I remembered someone doing that with fluxbox and wanted it back. It's really basic, so if anyone wants to make it better go ahead :)

Save this in a file called fvwm-process-menu:
Code:
ps -ef | awk '{ print "AddToMenu MenuProcess \""$2"   "$8"\" Exec kill -9 "$2 }'

Then add this to your .fvwm2rc:
Code:
#add this line to your menu somewhere
+  "processes" Popup  MenuProcess

DestroyMenu MenuProcess
AddToMenu MenuProcess Processes title
+ DynamicPopupAction Function GetProcessList

AddToFunc GetProcessList
+ I DestroyMenu MenuProcess
+ I AddToMenu MenuProcess Processes title
+ I PipeRead 'echo "`$HOME/scripts/fvwm-process-menu`"'

Remember to change the location of the file :P
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manywele
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 739
Location: Inside

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2003 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Wedge_. I was just thinking about making something like that. Thanks for saving me the trouble. I had to change it to
Code:
+ I DestroyMenu recreate MenuProcess
to get it to dynamically update the list though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wedge_
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 3614
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2003 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, got screwed up when copy and pasting :oops:
_________________
Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 65, 66, 67  Next
Page 7 of 67

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum