Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Help with grub.conf **Solved!**
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 124
Location: Coralville, IA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2003 7:14 am    Post subject: Help with grub.conf **Solved!** Reply with quote

I'm almost there, guys. Somehow I fscked up my grub.conf and this is what happens when I boot:

1. Blank screen with blinking cursor
2. Garbled error message
3. Garbled Grub screen that allows me to get to my Windows XP install, but does not allow me to enter Linux.

Can anyone write me a quick and dirty grub.conf? Here's my info:

hda1 - Windows NTFS (10gb)
hda5 - FAT32 (84gb)
hda6 - EXT3 (/boot) (64mb)
hda7 - ReiserFS (root) (20mb)
hdb1 - swap (512mb)
hdb5 - FAT32 (5gb)

Windows XP Pro is on hda1 and Gentoo is on hda6, hda7, and hdb1. The rest is shared between Windows and Linux.

kernel - /boot/gentoo-sources-2.4.20-r5 (genkernel)
initrd - /boot/initrd-2.4.20-gentoo-r5

I would like the entries in Grub to read "Windows XP Professional" and "Gentoo Linux 1.4".

Would somebody be willing to help me out? I followed the instructions to the letter that were in the install guide to the best of my understanding and...well, you read the results above.

Thank you very much in advance.

Chris


Last edited by Chris Hickman on Mon Aug 25, 2003 2:31 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyfred
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 23 Aug 2002
Posts: 596

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2003 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im not exactly sure you copied your partition sizes correctly, but assuming that you did have the right partitions then this should work for you. :D

Code:

timeout 50
default 0

title Gentoo Linux 1.4
root (hd0,5)
kernel /boot/gentoo-sources-2.4.20-r5 root=/dev/hda7 vga=791
initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.20-gentoo-r5

title Windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1


Please note that vga=791 will give you a 1024x768 framebuffer console, if you do not want that, then remove said feature. If you have scsi emulation etc, you may need to modify the kernel line some for that aswell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 124
Location: Coralville, IA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2003 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off, thank you.

Second, I did copy partitions correctly. I have a 120gb Western Digital HD (that works out to be actually about 115) and a 6.4gb Quantum Fireball (cannibalized from a previous machine).

Third, here's what I did differently, per the instructions:

1. default 0 before timeout 50...does this matter?
2. This is the code it has for the XP part:

root (hd0, 0)
chainloader (hd0,0) +1

What does the "noverify" do, and do I not need to put the partition in the chainloader line, as you have done?

Finally, I honestly don't know if I need the framebuffer part...I've always seen that as a boot option in previous linux distro installs, but have never used it. What is it for?

Thanks again!

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7301
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2003 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GRUB's "root" and "rootnoverify" commands are irrelevant for Windows partitions. This is all you need :
Code:
title Windows
chainloader (hd0,0)+1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 124
Location: Coralville, IA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2003 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cyrillic wrote:
GRUB's "root" and "rootnoverify" commands are irrelevant for Windows partitions. This is all you need :
Code:
title Windows
chainloader (hd0,0)+1


Great, and about the Framebuffer thing?

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 263
Location: Pascagoula, MS

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2003 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What video card are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 124
Location: Coralville, IA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2003 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dirtboy wrote:
What video card are you using?


Geforce 2 MX 400 64mb

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 124
Location: Coralville, IA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*bump*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7301
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I find framebuffer consoles to be too slow for my tastes, so I usually don't bother. Try "vga=normal"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 124
Location: Coralville, IA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cyrillic wrote:
I find framebuffer consoles to be too slow for my tastes, so I usually don't bother. Try "vga=normal"


Do I even need to do that? I don't remember doing that when I installed 1.2 a year ago?

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this the Chris Hickman formerly (years ago) known as TyphoonZ?
_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 124
Location: Coralville, IA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stonent wrote:
Is this the Chris Hickman formerly (years ago) known as TyphoonZ?


Nope, sorry :)

I'm 21 (almost 22!) if that tells you anything.

Only place you would have seen me "years ago" would have been alt.music.nirvana or a BBS called Jerky in the Peoria, IL area.

Also gomer67 in the AOL 3.0 days :)

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well years ago is relative, I guess. You're actually the right age. I'm 25 and he was a few years younger than me. I knew him from some bbses in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. Oh well.
_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 124
Location: Coralville, IA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I'm getting the same error again...

------------------------
Booting "Gentoo Linux 1.4"

root (hd0,5)
Filesstem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
kernel (hd0,5) /boot/gentoo-sources-2.4.20-r5 root=/dev/hda7

Error 1: Filename must be either an absolute pathname or blocklist

Press any key to continue....
-------------------------

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 124
Location: Coralville, IA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One question I have about the above, my boot partition SHOULD be ext3, not ext2. Is this part of the problem?

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Change
Code:
kernel (hd0,5) /boot/gentoo-sources-2.4.20-r5 root=/dev/hda7


to

Code:
kernel (hd0,5) /gentoo-sources-2.4.20-r5 root=/dev/hda7


Because /boot has not been mounted yet. So the kernel exists in the root of the partition.

My grub looks like this:

Code:
#
# Sample boot menu configuration file
#

# Boot automatically after 30 secs.
timeout 30

# By default, boot the first entry.
default 0
title  GNU/Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,1)/kernel-2.4.20-gentoo-r6 vga=792 root=/dev/hda6
initrd (hd0,1)/initrd-2.4.20-gentoo-r6

_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7301
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chris Hickman wrote:
Error 1: Filename must be either an absolute pathname or blocklist

Try removing the space after (hd0,5) on your kernel line.

Chris Hickman wrote:
One question I have about the above, my boot partition SHOULD be ext3, not ext2. Is this part of the problem?

No, GRUB ignores journaling, so ext3 == ext2.

Chris Hickman wrote:
Do I even need to do that? I don't remember doing that when I installed 1.2 a year ago?

You can try with or without. Press "e" from the GRUB menu to edit your kernel line at boot time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 124
Location: Coralville, IA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now it's saying file not found....arrrrgh.

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7301
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chris Hickman wrote:
Now it's saying file not found....arrrrgh.

Assuming you actually have the kernel in your /boot partition, you can use the tab-completion feature from GRUB's command prompt to find the files.
From the GRUB menu, press "c" to get the command prompt, then try this :
Code:
grub> root (hd0,5)
grub> kernel /ker<tab>     \\ add root=/dev/hda7 at the end
grub> initrd /ini<tab>     \\ tab should complete the filenames for you
grub> boot

If you can boot manually like this, then edit your grub.conf to include the same filenames and you should be all set.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 124
Location: Coralville, IA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cyrillic wrote:
Chris Hickman wrote:
Now it's saying file not found....arrrrgh.

Assuming you actually have the kernel in your /boot partition, you can use the tab-completion feature from GRUB's command prompt to find the files.
From the GRUB menu, press "c" to get the command prompt, then try this :
Code:
grub> root (hd0,5)
grub> kernel /ker<tab>     \\ add root=/dev/hda7 at the end
grub> initrd /ini<tab>     \\ tab should complete the filenames for you
grub> boot

If you can boot manually like this, then edit your grub.conf to include the same filenames and you should be all set.


Sweet! This worked! I am in gentoo! Except now I cannot find my grub.conf file. I did a nano -w /boot/grub/grub.conf, which is exactly where I wrote/saved before, and it brought up a new file. Is it somewhere else now?

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7301
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to
Code:
# mount /boot

By default it is not mounted to protect it from corruption.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Hickman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 124
Location: Coralville, IA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

grub problem solved! thank you!!!

I'm posting a new thread that deals with my network connection problems though ;)

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2003 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I actually beat him to it, but I kept getting "invalid_session" when trying to post from within the Microsoft Firewall. Oops! I said too much!
8O
_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum