Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
openbox3
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2003 12:45 pm    Post subject: openbox3 Reply with quote

so, anyone tried it?

http://icculus.org/openbox/

/me noticed there wern't any threads on it at all yet, and got a guy that says it's awsome (said it's "awsome" in a xfce4 thread, so I'm kinda eager to get some diffrent views on it ;) ).

note that it's not based on *box, it's written from scratch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tseng
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 33
Location: York, Pa.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2003 12:49 pm    Post subject: In portage Reply with quote

Openbox 3 has just hit the rsync mirrors, it is hardmasked in packages.mask currently. It will soon be moved to ~x86.

Brandon Hale
Gentoo + Openbox3 Evangelist

ps: it is indeed quite awesome, the newest alpha contains the first batch of style "engines" which look similar to the better Metacity themes. Emerge openbox-3.0_alpha4 and report back!

Here are some screenshots from my desk to yours ;)
http://tseng.linuxslackers.net/Screenshot2.png
http://tseng.linuxslackers.net/Screenshot3.png
http://tseng.linuxslackers.net/Screenshot4.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geekX
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Posts: 86
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2003 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used alpha-1 on my previous (slow) pc and I must say - it was very fast, looks beautifull (and already seemed stable).

I just finished installing gentoo on my new pc. Will use it again - only the cvs version wouldn't compile (some file missing). Downloaded Alpha-4, but got a corrupt archive... redownloading. Gotta get it to work - It's just so cool! :0

By the way - how do I emerge a hardmasked package? where is this packages.mask file?

I'm trying to install the latest version of some other app (anjuta) and even with ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" it won't pick it up....
_________________
Sometimes I feel like Superman.
Sometimes I'm just recuperating.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geekX
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Posts: 86
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2003 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oops. found the file: /etc/portage/profiles/package.mask

should read docs and updatedb more often :)

I just commented the openbox line, now I can emerge it.
_________________
Sometimes I feel like Superman.
Sometimes I'm just recuperating.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Vancouver, WA USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

geekX: that's not really the correct way to unmask something. Create /etc/portage/package.unmask and put x11-wm/openbox in it.

Here's my openbox3 shot: http://floam.ascorbic.com/screenshots/conserverate.png
And my openbox-cvs ebuild: http://floam.ascorbic.com/gentoo/openbox-cvs-3.ebuild
_________________
Think about your breathing.
http://floam.sh.nu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prolific
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just tried it... but i still like fluxbox much better than openbox3

Heres my flux screenshot in case you want to see it..

link


EDIT: Added url tags around long link. -- pjp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ojuice
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2002
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 7:17 am    Post subject: opengl support defunct? Reply with quote

About a month and a half ago openbox-cvs had gl support. The latest cvs and the alpha's seem to lack it so does anybody know if the openbox devs scrapped it or what? :?:

- ojuice
_________________
"You got eyes like two piss-holes in a snow bank."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bushmann
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Posts: 137
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@prolific how does this transparency work? seems cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prolific
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you talking about the Eterm transparency or the transparency in the menu?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bushmann
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Aug 2002
Posts: 137
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

^^
everything...
see I don't have any transparency atm and don't know how to get either, is this a special fluxbox feature or can I get this with openbox either?

I know how to get pseudo transparency with xterm, but this is ugly compared to yours, btw. this isn't xterm is it? How did you "theme" it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16108
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

floam wrote:
Create /etc/portage/package.unmask
Just to confirm, this is the correct location? Does it depend on a particular version of portage?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prolific
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using Eterm as my terminal emu .. Here are the flags to it

Code:
Eterm --buttonbar no --scrollbar no -F edges -O --foreground-color white -g 91X21 -n ETERM --tint 0x6e7a64 --shade 40


As for the menu transparency, im not sure if openbox has that feature or not..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ormi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Oct 2002
Posts: 234
Location: lappeen Ranta, Finland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've used ob3 since alpha1. It's my favourite wm at the moment (and will be in the future also). Menu was hard to configure and took a long time.. but it doesn't matter anymore :) (now there is menu convert script available somewhere, I saw it on the mailing list)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
[smeagol]
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Oct 2002
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what are the differences between openbox and fluxbox?

I am currently using fluxbox and I am a bit curious if there'd be any reason for me to switch.
_________________
In God We Trust, All Others We monitor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmitchell
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 1159
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been using openbox for about 10 minutes now...

Anybody know if it's possible to add bullets to the menu ala fluxbox?

Update: As of alpha-5, bullets have been added to the menu.

-- Daniel

Edit: Removed link to screenshot.


Last edited by dmitchell on Sun Nov 02, 2003 4:57 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Vancouver, WA USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pjp wrote:
floam wrote:
Create /etc/portage/package.unmask
Just to confirm, this is the correct location? Does it depend on a particular version of portage?
Yes, it is correct. >=2.0.48 should be fine, I'm running 2.0.49-pre17 though.
danmitchell wrote:
I've been using openbox for about 10 minutes now... here's a screenshot.

Anybody know if it's possible to add bullets to the menu ala fluxbox?

-- Daniel
There will be eventually I hear, right now they're working on a new (xml) theme spec and other stuff more than menus it appears.
_________________
Think about your breathing.
http://floam.sh.nu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seltrus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Oct 2002
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2003 8:27 am    Post subject: openbox3-alpha4 with gnome2 Reply with quote

I am using openbox3-alpha4 with gnome by running
Code:
openbox3 --replace
and then saving my session. I haven't used it much, but it is much better than metacity already in my opinion. I hope the devs keep up the good work. Finally a wm based on standards and performance that works well with kde, gnome, or by itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TenPin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Aug 2002
Posts: 500
Location: Kansas City

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2003 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am also interested why anyone would choose openbox 3 over fluxbox. Personally I can't live without tabs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hjlane3
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 377
Location: Wilmington, DE USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2003 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used openbox3 on my laptop all day yesterday, and it was great, I love it. There is only one small problem with me.... Because openbox3 uses opengl for its rendering, it caused a fwe issues with the display on my laptop ("burn" marks) AND it almost killed my videocard in it (geforce ti4200). I tried playing games and they rean SUPER slow. THinking it may only be linux, I booted into windows and my games were still extremely slow. So I turned off the machine for a while (5hours) and now its ok. Sorry openbox3, but I can't use you. :-(
_________________
I wish hell would freeze over already. :-(
EDIT: w00t, it has!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scriptkiddie
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 955

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2003 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OpenBox 3 alpha4 is must faster and smoother that alpha3...

anyway, the main difference between openbox and fluxbox is..... Tabs!
Those wonderful little things that allow you to sort through all of your programs instead of having them all minimized
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Vancouver, WA USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hjlane3 wrote:
I used openbox3 on my laptop all day yesterday, and it was great, I love it. There is only one small problem with me.... Because openbox3 uses opengl for its rendering, it caused a fwe issues with the display on my laptop ("burn" marks) AND it almost killed my videocard in it (geforce ti4200). I tried playing games and they rean SUPER slow. THinking it may only be linux, I booted into windows and my games were still extremely slow. So I turned off the machine for a while (5hours) and now its ok. Sorry openbox3, but I can't use you. :-(
Openbox 3 does not use OpenGL for its rendering. They were planning on it, but gave up.
_________________
Think about your breathing.
http://floam.sh.nu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scriptkiddie
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 955

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

evil developers... I tried playing ET in openbox and it ran like crap also.. switched to Fluxbox.. Works great.

OpenBox = not for gamers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Vancouver, WA USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oubipaws: Can you try using the cvs ebuild I posted above, maybe it's been fixed in cvs. I am not having any problems with gaming here.
_________________
Think about your breathing.
http://floam.sh.nu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scriptkiddie
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 955

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, when I get home tonight, I'll try it out tonight and I'll let you know
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aLEczapKA
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

prolific wrote:
I just tried it... but i still like fluxbox much better than openbox3

Heres my flux screenshot in case you want to see it..

link


I think this is Fluxbox dev release (latest is 0.9.4) cause v0.1.14 doesn't suport transparent menus. So the menu title seems to be wrong, am I right?
_________________
while true; do eject /dev/cdrom; eject -t /dev/cdrom; done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 1 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum