Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Moving from 2.4 to 2.6 guide
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jeedo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 202
Location: Akureyri, Iceland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 4:08 pm    Post subject: Moving from 2.4 to 2.6 guide Reply with quote

I just recently got 2.6 working and thought i should shere my experiance with the community.

first of all, note that moving between kernel branches is different than moving between minor version numbers, modules for example are handled differently so you're going to need module-init-tools lucky for you gentoo gets these for you,

Code:

emerge sys-kernel/development-sources


this will fetch module-init-tools for you as well as, at time of writing 2.6.0_beta2

While waiting for the kernel to emerge i'm going to explain a bit more about how module-init-tools work, basically they place the new module-handlers like lsmod to /sbin and move the old one to /sbin/lsmod.old , then those handlers detect what kernel you're using at boot, whether it's 2.4 or 2.5/2.6 and forward the kernel to the appropriate module-tools, this is done transperantly to the user so you can, like i do dual boot between between 2.4 and 2.6 without changing any settings at all.

When the kernel is done emergeing emerge prints some instructions about varius things you must select in the new kernel, which may or may not be selected for you already, also note that the instructions for the 2.4 install are still true but they are as follows:

Quote:

Warning: For your kernel to function properly, there are several
options that you will need to ensure are in the kernel proper -- that
is, they should be enabled and not compiled as modules. You will need
to enable the "Code maturity level options --> Prompt for development
and/or incomplete code/drivers" option to see several of these
selections. Under the "File systems" section, be sure to enable the
"/dev" file system support (note that you don't need to enable the
"/dev/pts file system support" option). You'll also need to enable the
"Virtual Memory Filesystem". Be sure to enable "ReiserFS" if you have
any ReiserFS partitions; the same goes for "Ext3". If you're using
XFS, enable the "SGI XFS filesystem support" option. It's always a
good idea to leave ext2 enabled whether you are using it or not. Also,
most people using IDE hard drives will want to enable the "USE DMA by
default" option; otherwise, your IDE drives may perform very poorly.
Of course, remember to enable "IDE disk" support as well -- otherwise
your kernel won't be able to see your IDE disks.

If you are using hardware RAID you will need to enable a couple more
options in the kernel: For Highpoint RAID controllers select hpt366
chipset support, support for IDE RAID controllers and Highpoint 370
software RAID.For Promise RAID controllers select PROMISE
PDC202{46|62|65|67|68|69|70} support, support for IDE RAID controllers
and Support Promise software RAID (Fasttrak(tm))

If you use PPPoE to connect to Internet, you will need the following
options in the kernel (built-in or as preferably as modules) : "PPP
(point-to-point protocol) support", "PPP support for async serial
ports", "PPP support for sync tty ports". The two compression options
won't harm but are not definitely needed, neither does the "PPP over
Ethernet" option, that might only be used by rp-pppoe when configured
to do kernel mode PPPoE.

If you have an IDE cd burner, then you need to enable SCSI emulation
in the kernel. Turn on "ATA/IDE/MFM/RLL support" ---> "IDE, ATA and
ATAPI Block devices" ---> "SCSI emulation support" (I usually make it
a module), then under "SCSI support" enable "SCSI support", "SCSI
CD-ROM support" and "SCSI generic support" (again, I usually compile
them as modules). If you also choose to use modules, then echo -e
"ide-scsi\nsg\nsr_mod" >> /etc/modules.autoload to have them
automatically added at boot time.



after taking note of these instructions, do make menuconfig or xconfig or something else depending on your taste, after you think you're done it's time to compile the kernel. This is NOT done in the same way as in the 2.4 kernels where you would do:
Code:

make dep && make clean bzImage modules modules_install


but rather like this:

Code:

make && make modules_install

this is because 'make' is now an alias for 'make bzImage modules vmlinux' for more info do a
Code:

make help

or read the docs.

After this it's pretty straightforward if you've ever compiled a 2.4 kernel do a
Code:

mv /boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage.old
cp /usr/src/linux-beta/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot

And create the appropriate Grub/LILO configuration for this, besides the title and name of the bzImage this should be just like a 2.4-kernel boot configuration
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voffinn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 73
Location: Kópavogur, Iceland.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

good article ;>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Config
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 187
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good article :D

Though, I want to point out something: the real pain isn't really migrating the kernel, it's migrating the system, i.e., you have to have 2 versions of nvidia-kernel installed, one for each version, then, how to handle the alsa-stuff, if you like to keep the 2.4 kernels running etc.
My 2 cents
_________________
Config - caught by a chronic disease called tuxmania....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scriptkiddie
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 955

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have three kernels running on my system and everything seems to work fine as long as you follow the instructions and don't varry off path very often with crazy ideas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Halanegri
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Mar 2003
Posts: 351
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I always compile the kernel like this:

Code:
make bzImage modules modules_install


You also forgot that you have to create the /sys directory manually.

It's also good to make the /usr/src/linux symlink to point to your new kernel(otherwise nvidia-kernel won't find the kernel sources), because the development-sources ebuild just makes a new one called /usr/src/linux-beta, but the mm-sources ebuild does take care of this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TecHunter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Feb 2003
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just compile 2.6.0-test2 yesterday.no problem till now
_________________
Gentoo is GREAT!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great info..

Maybe you should also mention that it is a good idea to actually name the kernel images in /boot after the version?

I always name my kernels like:
Code:

-rw-r--r--    1 root     root      1613675 Jun 24 14:14 vmlinuz-2.5.73-mm1
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root      1611918 Jun 30 13:44 vmlinuz-2.5.73-mm2
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root      1615402 Jul  7 14:08 vmlinuz-2.5.74-mm2
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root      1775953 Jul  9 20:35 vmlinuz-2.5.74-mm3
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root      1871564 Jul 17 14:15 vmlinuz-2.6.0-test1-mm1


By doing so, I can always see which kernel is which.
Another added benefit is that you just have to add another entry to grub.conf for each new kernel and you can boot into any given version if something fails.

Also, always keep working kernels around until new kernels have been tested thoroughly.

I personally uses mm-sources since they have several scheduling algortithms that you can choose from, elevator, CFQ or deadline.

Erik
_________________
'Yes, Firefox is indeed greater than women. Can women block pops up for you? No. Can Firefox show you naked women? Yes.'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OneOfOne
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 368
Location: Alexandria, Egypt

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

another tinny tip ;)
a simple
Code:
make install
will install the kernel into /boot and give it a good name (ex. /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.0-test1-mm2)

peace
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TecHunter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Feb 2003
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OneOfOne wrote:
another tinny tip ;)
a simple
Code:
make install
will install the kernel into /boot and give it a good name (ex. /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.0-test1-mm2)

peace
good
_________________
Gentoo is GREAT!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arand
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Apr 2003
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OneOfOne wrote:
another tinny tip ;)
a simple
Code:
make install
will install the kernel into /boot and give it a good name (ex. /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.0-test1-mm2)

peace


Quick question, will make install mount your boot partion?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Camoes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jan 2003
Posts: 125
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no it will not mount it.

Another question, has someone successfully gotten wlan with the 2.6 kernels to work ?. The modules (yenta-socket, hermes, orinoco, orinoco_cs) load with no problem, but no eth0, or wlan0 interface shows up for me :/
_________________
e = pi = 3
breakmygentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaxX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2002
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm right now trying 2.6.0-beta2 but in one fact the old 2.4. documentation is wrong -> in 2.6.0 the HighPoint RAID driver is missing, the controller driver is there but not the softraid support. :(
if someone knows more than me in this case or if i'm just extremly blind i'd appreciate any help...

thanks in advance
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmjdebruijn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 506
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2003 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well,

how do I install alsa and lm-sensors on a 2.6 system? Won't that fsck up my modules as alsa and lm-sensors are integrated in to 2.6 ???

(NOTE: I do not have a 2.4 kernel)

Bye,
DrZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gunman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 20
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2003 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

drz wrote:
Well,

how do I install alsa and lm-sensors on a 2.6 system? Won't that fsck up my modules as alsa and lm-sensors are integrated in to 2.6 ???

(NOTE: I do not have a 2.4 kernel)

Bye,
DrZ


alsa is already integrated into 2.6! no more emerge alsa after recompiling a kernel! :-)
-gunnar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmjdebruijn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 506
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2003 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well yeah, the modules are integrated... but they still need a boot script to load the modules, etc...

How can I get that?

Bye,
DrZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linux_weenie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2003 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

also don't forget to change the symlink from your old kernel to the new one. i was using the linux-beta symlink that portage created when i downloaded it, so
Code:
emerge nvidia-kernel
didn't work until i switched the symlink.

-Will
_________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentooBox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1168
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2003 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Halanegri
-

try this out:

Code:


make dep && make clean bzImage modules modules_install && mount /boot/ && cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/


_________________
Encrypt, lock up everything and duct tape the rest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gibberx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Oct 2002
Posts: 217
Location: UMBC

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2003 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

drz wrote:
Well yeah, the modules are integrated... but they still need a boot script to load the modules, etc...

How can I get that?

Bye,
DrZ
I just compiled ALSA into my kernel. After quickly checking what the help menus in menuconfig say, it seems that they didn't give any module names to load for ALSA. But, if you compile it into your kernel, you won't need any modules autoloaded (which is what /etc/init.d/alsasound does).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrStaticVoid
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 114
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2003 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GentooBox wrote:
Halanegri
-

try this out:

Code:


make dep && make clean bzImage modules modules_install && mount /boot/ && cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/


make dep is no longer necessary. :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dreamer3
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 553

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone know how 2.6 plays with LVM? I couldn't find the kernel option for LVM like in 2.4 so I'm afraid to ever try it until I hear from someone...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Aug 2002
Posts: 175
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Am I right in thinking that if you set up your module aliases properly the kernel will autoload ALSA for you when it needs it?

Otherwise, shove it in modules.autoload or something. Or write your own ALSA module loading script...
_________________
Your Gentoo woll sle me sodenly!
I may the beaute of it not sustene
(to misquote Chaucer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uranus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 May 2002
Posts: 438
Location: Portugal, Braga

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2003 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so were the interactivity (or something) bugs fixed in 2.6 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beandog
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 2014
Location: /usa/utah

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Another question, has someone successfully gotten wlan with the 2.6 kernels to work ?. The modules (yenta-socket, hermes, orinoco, orinoco_cs) load with no problem, but no eth0, or wlan0 interface shows up for me :/


No, but I have gotten them to load and connect fine using Knoppix 3.1 or 3.2

Kinda frustrates me that the Gentoo Live CD (1.4 rc4) doesn't. Maybe 1.4 does. I dunno. I'm downloading it right now.

steve
_________________
If it ain't broke, tweak it. packages | dvds | blurays | blog | home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
relyt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 238
Location: Massachusetts

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

arand wrote:
Quick question, will make install mount your boot partion?

It can, if you edit /sbin/installkernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dreamer3 wrote:
Anyone know how 2.6 plays with LVM? I couldn't find the kernel option for LVM like in 2.4 so I'm afraid to ever try it until I hear from someone...


It's in there. You may have to set the experimental flag in the beginning part of the configuration for it to be seen.
I've yet to use it on 2.6, but I've ran across the option half a zillion times, and I have the experimental flag checked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 1 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum