Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo Framebuffer, Bootsplash & Grubsplash - SUPPORT
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 36, 37, 38  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
linde002
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 5:23 pm    Post subject: Gentoo Framebuffer, Bootsplash & Grubsplash - SUPPORT Reply with quote

[MOD EDIT:

This entire forum was split from the original thread in Documentation, Tips & Tricks. Some quotes and or comments may be a little out of context given these two threads previously were one thread. Please keep ALL support related content in this new thread. Feel free to post any Documentation, Tips & Tricks into the original thread still.

Regards,
BonezTheGoon
/MOD EDIT]



I´ve just compiled my kernel on another machine but it says that it cannot find /proc/splash, i´m using ck-sources could that be a problem?

i´ll try the vanilla sources in a moment.

-Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jarjar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 264
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

linde002 wrote:
I´ve just compiled my kernel on another machine but it says that it cannot find /proc/splash, i´m using ck-sources could that be a problem?

i´ll try the vanilla sources in a moment.

-Robert

Did you reboot with the new kernel? That was what I needed. (ck6)
_________________
[Server etc. | C2D 2.2 @ 3.0 GHz / 4 GB RAM / 3x1 TB + 1x2 TB SATA disks + 1.5 TB ext. | Gentoo]
[Laptop | Macbook Pro 15" / Core i7 (Sandy) Quad 2.2 GHz / 16 GB RAM / Samsung 840 250 GB SSD + 1 TB + 2 TB HDD / 6750M 1 GB / OS X, Win 7]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linde002
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, i just tried it again with the vanilla-sources but to no avail, cat /proc/splash just outputs: /proc/splash no such file or directory.

my framebuffer logo (tux) works though

-Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aquila
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Nov 2002
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem... /proc/splash does not exist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antipod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 168
Location: Karlshamn, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And so do I... so I won't add bootslash to rc-init just yet... might be dangerous! ;)

Anyone knows how to fix this? I used the gentoo-sources 2.20rc2 and patched it just like the how-to explained. Ever since I booted up the live-CD 1.4rc4 I have wanted this to work =)

/Henrik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linde002
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

let´s get some information together:

1: video card and other relative hardware:
Ati radeon 9000
2: kernel-sources:
vanilla-sources
ck-sources
gentoo-sources, none of them worked
3: lines in grub.conf:
Code:

title=Gentoo
    root (hd0,3)
    kernel /bzImage root=/dev/hda3 hdd=ide-scsi video=mtrr,vesa:1280x1024 vga=0x31B
    initrd=/initrd-1024x768

there was some more but i just forgot :roll:

-Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antipod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 168
Location: Karlshamn, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've not come that far as to edit grub or added it to runtime... and I don't have grub installed anyway (it just didn't work when I tried to set it up so I installed LILO).

Well a solution would be appreciated... not just: It works for me... *evil laugh* ;)) hehe

/Henrik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linde002
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@antipod, what kind of hardware do you use and do you have some ´exotic´ hardware installed?

-Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antipod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 168
Location: Karlshamn, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using gentoo in my laptop... it's a dell latitude C600 (pIII-750). So it's not that exotic... and I mean, if the bootsplash can work from the live-CD it can work from my installation too! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allucid
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 1314
Location: atlanta

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

linde002 wrote:
let´s get some information together:

1: video card and other relative hardware:
Ati radeon 9000
2: kernel-sources:
vanilla-sources
ck-sources
gentoo-sources, none of them worked
3: lines in grub.conf:
Code:

title=Gentoo
    root (hd0,3)
    kernel /bzImage root=/dev/hda3 hdd=ide-scsi video=mtrr,vesa:1280x1024 vga=0x31B
    initrd=/initrd-1024x768

there was some more but i just forgot :roll:

-Robert


i have gentoo, vanilla, ck, and gaming (wolk is another story...) working with the splash. make sure you patch the kernels AND select 'use bootsplash instead of logo' in your kernel configuration and recompile. i have had it not work several times before and never had the logo show up. also, use vesafb (don't even compile in radeonfb) and make sure that you compile the required features and do not add them as modules. and when you patch the kernel using the command in the ebuild it patches the current kernel that /usr/src/linux is pointing to so make sure that is correct.

EDIT: ok i just noticed you are making your framebuffer 1280x1024 and using the 1024x768 initrd. this won't work. your framebuffer has to be the same size as the image.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beekster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 268
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a splash-less /proc until I used Yinchie's grub section:
Quote:
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/bzImage-21april root=/dev/hda2 hdc=ide-scsi vga=0x317 video=vesa:1024x768@72
initrd=/boot/initrd-1024x768


I was previously trying to use 24 bit colour, and may have had the section in different order.

Specifically, what is supposed to be on the kernel line, and what is supposed to be on a separate line?

Using Yinchie's grub section, which specifies 72 Hz, my screen is still & 60 Hz which is really painful. Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linde002
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Beekster and Yinchie, you ARE LIVESAVERS :wink: i was almost giving up for the night and i decided to give this a go....and what do you know? it actually worked!!! i love these forums.

No i´m going to bed becaus i´m almost asleep in front of my now framebuffered console

tomorrow i´m going to get other images :P

-Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antipod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 168
Location: Karlshamn, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*sigh* Is it just me that is left here non-framebuffered? :) Anyone have a clue on how to make it work with LILO? hehe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beekster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 268
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

antipod wrote:
*sigh* Is it just me that is left here non-framebuffered? :) Anyone have a clue on how to make it work with LILO? hehe


The initrd's seem to be colour-depth specific. I have read that somewhere else in these forums. You should find lilo sections in the other threads on framebuffer. Sorry I can't be more specific.

Don't feel too bad, if I don't get this working at way more than 60 Hz, it's getting binned. My consoles are pretty, but it's like staring at a strobe light. Plus they scroll way slower, so Hmmm... are they worth it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antipod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 168
Location: Karlshamn, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hehe... I would be delighted if I got this to work even in 60Hz... well, that is exactly the refreshrate I want since I'm using a laptop and it cannot show more anyway.

Well I still want to be able to do a cat /proc/splash before I try to make it work with LILO... :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beekster
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 268
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You will need to modify you lilo before you will get a /proc/splash. At least that's how it went for me. (with grub... :D )

A standard kernel= line did _not_ get me to the point where I could cat /proc/splash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antipod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 168
Location: Karlshamn, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oki... I fipple around with it some... It probably won't work so I keep you updated... :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkdack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2002
Posts: 44
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, here's your problem:
linde002 wrote:

Code:

title=Gentoo
    root (hd0,3)
    kernel /bzImage root=/dev/hda3 hdd=ide-scsi video=mtrr,vesa:1280x1024 vga=0x31B
    initrd=/initrd-1024x768



You are setting up a 1280x1024 frame buffer and only using a 1024x768 image!!

Use the correct initrd file (say, initrd-1280x1024) and you should have more luck.
_________________
Troy
http://linux.tkdack.com

Former Gentoo contributor TaD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RATFOOD
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey, thanks guys...

Its working on my computer now at 1024x768..

one question though, is framebuffer specifically for changing the resolution of your screen when you are not in X?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linde002
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 4:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tkdack: i already got this working :wink: i corrected the resolution mistake and took the grub line that was mentioned earlier this thread

-Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zenslug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Location: SF Bay Area

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way to disable the terminal output on boot, too? I want to have a bootsplash image only, without the text. And I'll be setting the grub timeout to 0 once I have the right setup. The end goal is a less intimidating system start for family using this machine. Thanks for the help.

Alec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narada
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zenslug wrote:
Is there a way to disable the terminal output on boot, too? I want to have a bootsplash image only, without the text. And I'll be setting the grub timeout to 0 once I have the right setup. The end goal is a less intimidating system start for family using this machine. Thanks for the help.

Hey. Don't set the timeout to zero. If you have problems you won't be able to intercept the grub menu. Instead check here for information on the fallback and hiddenmenu commands which will do exactly what you are wanting but in a much more recoverable manner. For a boot with splash screen only and no text append splash=silent to your kernel boot parameters.
_________________
http://dhruba.name/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guero61
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Oct 2002
Posts: 811
Location: Behind you

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've gotten to applying an image to VC1, and I'm stumped; I get this error:
Code:

syntax error: text_x=256


It's the only error returned. What gives?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chickpea
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 846
Location: Vancouver WA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
s there a way to disable the terminal output on boot, too? I want to have a bootsplash image only, without the text. And I'll be setting the grub timeout to 0 once I have the right setup. The end goal is a less intimidating system start for family using this machine. Thanks for the help.

Alec


Yea, there is if you are using bootsplash version .5 or greater I just noticed that version .6 is out....will have to see if the progress bar works now

If you cruise over to http://www.bootsplash.org you will see what the "silent" bootsplash looks like.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arist
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2003
Posts: 6
Location: Champaign, Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Beekster wrote:
Specifically, what is supposed to be on the kernel line, and what is supposed to be on a separate line?


This is what was killing me. The initrd line has to be a new line (not on the kernel line) for it to work. I had assumed the text here in the forum was just wrapping, not so!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 36, 37, 38  Next
Page 1 of 38

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum