Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
most insane machine you ever installed Gentoo on ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lovechild
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 2858
Location: Århus, Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2002 3:08 pm    Post subject: most insane machine you ever installed Gentoo on ? Reply with quote

I just finished compiling Gentoo from scratch using 1.1a stage1 on a !00 MHz Pentium with 128 MB ram..

So what's your peek of insanity ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2002 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the peak of my insanity ended in a kernel panic after trying to boot gentoo on my P-120 laptop with 32 megs.

man, am I a wildman :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hellfire
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 54
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2002 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dell XPSP100c (overclocked to 120)
64mb, 2x2.5gb drives

assuming it finishes system this month anyway...

-h
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blk_jack
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 298
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2002 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

p166mmx, 128mb ram.

Did you guys compile Gentoo's core applications/etc on the machine itself or did you do a harddrive swap?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nempo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 360
Location: Linkoping, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2002 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

p166mmx 64MB ram, 2.5GB hdd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rizzo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Manitowoc, WI, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2002 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You guys give me new hope. I have a P200 w/ 64mb RAM that I was going to install Slack on. Although I may still have to because I don't have a CD-ROM on the box. Although there was a guide for doing a net install for Gentoo I believe. I think it involved making a grub boot floppy.

update it is http://www.gentoo.org/doc/altinstall.html

update 2 hmmm making that grub floppy and loopback stuff really seems like a pain in the ass. plus it made me sit and think and realize that I have a spare cd-rom lying around :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 56
Location: Middle Smithfield, PA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2002 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

P200MMX 64 MB RAM 1.2 GB HD.

Took forever.......
_________________
17 Opps It's 19 now ;-) Gentoo's and counting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Just this guy, you know?
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2002
Posts: 0
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bah. That's nothing.
I installed Gentoo on an I-Opener. That there's 180MHz of IDT Winchip slowness. Admitedly it is souped-up with 128MB RAM and a 3GB hard drive. But still: the CPU sucks (not all Pentium instructions, apparently, so have to optimize for 486) and the hdd transfer rate is nothing to write home about: a kernel compile takes about 45 minutes to an hour (I think...it felt that long at least :;).


PS I cheated though: I bootstrapped and built the base system on the hdd in another machine. It would have been possible to do it without, but it has no hdd. Possible (bootp I suppose), but highly unpleasant (it would take weeks to compile anyway). Especially when you factor in trying to get it to boot WITH A USB ETHERNET ADAPTER! :;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lain iwakura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 176
Location: sd, ca

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

differnent story. :P

I've got an amd 1ghz proccessor -- I know, get out of here!

anyways, I used vmware under win2000 to emulate a nic connection from my dialup. the compiling wasn't a pain, of course -- just the dloading. vmware crashed a few times, too. luckily, everything went smoothly despite the crashes and many resumed dloads. took about 3 nights of dl/compiling to get a base system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jigma
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 51
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2002 4:08 am    Post subject: MAD I SAY MAD!!!! Reply with quote

You guys are crazy...honestly.

I told my gf that I would not install gentoo on her k6-2 350Mhz / 192M / 4Gig casue it was too slow and would take too long.

Common guys.. a P100..honestly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sequentious
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 290
Location: London Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2002 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not my regular machine, but a P200 with 48MB of ram and a 5.2GB hard disk. That was fun.....
_________________
--
Chris I
chris@cidesign.ca :: www.cidesign.ca/~chris/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2002 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VAIO F580 Laptop. Devent specs, awlful spec sheets. "Windows Compatable Sound" fuck it what's the chip.And my wonderful netcard i paywed $15 a year ago, i still don't know what chip it has. So i treaated myself to a fancy rt8139 w/ a real plug instead of dongle. WOW.

I installed FreeBSD on my P200 which i use as a server. Works fine, no X, but a server doesn't need X anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lain iwakura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 176
Location: sd, ca

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dongle. (always loved that word.) :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2002 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lain iwakura wrote:
dongle. (always loved that word.) :D


Dude, your dongle's hangin' out. People always look at their pants.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lain iwakura
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 176
Location: sd, ca

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2002 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

heheh. :lol: dongle.
_________________
[resident anime junkie] -- not just a linux freak.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wildcard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jun 2002
Posts: 55
Location: New York

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2002 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

100 mhz packard bell with a whopping 32megs of ram--took 28 hours to do emerge system
_________________
What boots up must come down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rojaro
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 May 2002
Posts: 732

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2002 9:59 pm    Post subject: dual p2/350 ... well ... sorta ... Reply with quote

hi folks,

well, i've got this old asus p2b-ds board, but only one p2/333 and a p2/350 (both ecc cpu's) ... so i decided to run them both at 350mhz as there is no big diffrence between 350 and 333 ... i read on thousand place that you never ever should do such thing in an smp system, but this one actually works fine :)

511mb ram (infact, fivehundreteleven) as one of the rams is fscked ... but it's ecc so even that one still works fine anyway.

the cddrive is a pretty old Toshiba XM-6201TA drive hanging on widescsi, the boot-disk is an old IBM DDRS-39130W drive (9gb), both connected to the onbord aic-7890 controller. /home and /home/web are both really new IBM 60GB UDMA 100 drives (IC35L060AVVA07-0) connected to an Promise FastTrak TX2 (PDC20268) controller.

The Soundcard is one very shitty OPTI ISA card which i don't use at all, but i had it lying around so i put it into the machine.

there is also a cheap rtl8139a noname networkcard inside, as well as an 3c905 combo board and a 3c900.

finally there's an old cisco1003 connected to the machine providing isdn dial-in (and callback for my notebook) and another noname 33.6k modem isa card providing well modemdialin, voicemailbox and fax functions.

also connected to the machine via serial and powercables is one nice (and old) APC Smart-UPS 700 which provides power.

next and MEAN device which is connected to the second serial port is one 23 year old Ampex 230plus terminal which provides an about 13" text only display with 80x24 chars (one line, namely no.25, is reserved for terminal status displays).

ok, it's probably not the trashiest machine around, but making the whole setup work correctly took me quite some time :)
_________________
A mathematician is a machine for turning coffee into theorems. ~ Alfred Renyi (*1921 - †1970)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aardvark
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 576

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2002 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm the bootstrap was done on another machine + appx half of emerge system.But the rest was done on the p133 with a whopping 24 mb ram. That olde quantum fireball was having the swapping time of its life and it survived too (emerge crashed once because I don't have the cpu fan on normally and it overheated,,, after 3 hours :) )

Runs very smooth and only has downtime when adsl screws up again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fsck_ms
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 25
Location: just outside reality

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2002 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A 200 mhz powermac 7300, built completely on the machine from stage 1. With xfs. Oh, AND I did it all on a 56K.
_________________
fortune: The best defense against logic is ignorance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2002 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the GCC 2.95 category, Pentium 133.
In the GCC 3.1 category, original K6 200.

Fortunately, I had the luxury of doing the bootstrap and getting both machines to stage 3 and beyond while in a chroot jail under Debian, so they were both usable during all that compiling.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2002 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pentium 133 with a whopping -- ready for this? -- 24 MB of RAM. It idles at 9 MB used, which is quite impressive.

X runs, too, and I still have about 700 KB free. The swap is only used on things like kernel compiles (which take over an hour).
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deornoth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2002 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm thinking of trying it on an old AST system I own. 486SX 25MHz with an overdrive chip that supposedly makes it a 486DX4 100MHz. I think it's got either 16MB or 32MB of Ram, haven't checked it lately.

I wonder how long 'emerge kde' would take..... :twisted:

-Deornoth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2002 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have you all beat with the amount of RAM, don't I? :D
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deornoth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2002 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

delta407 wrote:
I have you all beat with the amount of RAM, don't I? :D


Don't tempt me to yank out a stick to put that 486 at 16MB, just to beat you... :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kormoc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 272
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2002 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to burst your bubble, I have gotten x to run fine on a 486 sx 25 with 8 megs of ram!!!
It swaps like a mofo for like 10 min, and x works great until you try to run a program :)
Anyway, it's a router now for a friend's house and I wanted to try and get x working, took 2 weeks to compile just x, never did add a window manager :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14  Next
Page 1 of 14

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum