Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
My installation wont work!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KgAutobahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2003 11:42 pm    Post subject: My installation wont work! Reply with quote

Writing again because i really need an answer to this. I installed Gentoo yesterday from stage 2 and vanilla-sources. After my installation of Gentoo was ready, I tried to boot. The boot process hangs right after this:

isapnp: Scanning for plug and play devices
isapnp: No plug and play device found
Linux NET4.0 for linux 2.4
based upon Swansea University computer society NET3.039
Initializing RT netlink socket
Starting kswapd
journalled block device driver loaded
devfs: v1.12c (20020818) Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnfcsiro.au)
devfs: boot options: 0r0
Installing knfsd (Copyright (C) 1996 okir@monab.sab.de)
NTFS driver v1.1.22 [Flags: R/O]
pty: 256 Unix 98 ptys configured
serial driver version 5.05 c (2001-07-01) with many_ports share_irq serial_pci is
APND enabled
ttyS00 at 0x03f8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
ttyS01 at 0x02f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A
usb.c: registered new driver iforce

After the line with "usb.c: registered new driver iforce" nothing more happens. So I started with the livecd and tried to recompile the kernel without iforce support:
Code:
mkdir /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile

cd /usr/src/linux
make mrproper
make menuconfig
make dep && make clean bzImage modules modules_install
mv /boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage.orig
cp /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot


But when I tried to boot after that, the same thing happened. It hangs just after "usb.c: registered new driver iforce".
How am I going to do to make my Gentoo installation work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bashnix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a seperate boot partition? If you do, then the code you posted copied your new kernel to a place that doesn't exist. You need to mount the boot partition first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KgAutobahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I don´t have a boot partition.
Just have two Linux partitions, Swap (hda2) and Root (hda3).
Thanks anyway....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rhacer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 30
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This probably won't help, but I have seen this exact error before when warm-booting some kernels. Cold booting they had no problem, but a warm boot caused the kernel to hang while it was loading USB support just like in your example.
_________________
Stand Fast,
rhacer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KgAutobahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for telling me that, but im a bit confused:
What do you mean by "warm booting" and "cold booting" ?


Last edited by KgAutobahn on Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:27 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rhacer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 30
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Warm Boot Ctrl-Alt-Delete/reboot command/anything that doesn't cycle power.

Cold Boot Power is cycled or the reset button pressed.
_________________
Stand Fast,
rhacer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KgAutobahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok.
Tested that a couple of times now. Makes no difference for me.
Thanks anyway..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KgAutobahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone else who can help me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
compucoder
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Sep 2002
Posts: 246
Location: London, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unplug your joystick out of the computer :)

I have had this same problem - the iforce HID support seems to crash - If this is your kernel you built then boot with a livecd and then remove iforce support from joysticks. This should solve this issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KgAutobahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help. I will try to unplug the joystick and see what happens.
But the strange thing is that I already recompiled the kernel without Iforce support. But when i booted after that, I got the same error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16113
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 3:33 pm    Post subject: Re: My installation wont work! Reply with quote

KgAutobahn wrote:
Writing again because i really need an answer to this.
Please keep the same problem limited to one thread. It makes a mess otherwise. Moving the other to dups.

Thanks.
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
compucoder
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Sep 2002
Posts: 246
Location: London, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if it doesnt help by unplugging go and remove all joystick support - it may be possible you are compiling in support for multiple joystick HID devices and there is a conflict happening between the drivers. More than 1 may perhaps "try" and assume control over your device. Not really sure if this happens but its how I explained my issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KgAutobahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.
Ok. I´ll try to recompile the kernel again. And this time I´ll only include what´s really necessary. And see if it works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KgAutobahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I boot with the livecd and do this to compile the new kernel:
Code:
mkdir /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile

cd /usr/src/linux
make mrproper
make menuconfig
make dep && make clean bzImage modules modules_install
mv /boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage.orig
cp /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot


But Gentoo still boots with the old kernel configuration. It still freezes at the same line, even though I removed everything that has with USB and joysticks to do. Really strange, why is that ?
And I have to say again that I don´t have a boot partition. I have lilo has bootloader and lilo points to the bzImage in /boot ....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darktux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Nov 2002
Posts: 1086
Location: Coimbra, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you by any chance have a /boot partition? Show us your /mnt/gentoo/etc/fstab and your /mnt/gentoo/etc/grub/grub.conf
_________________
Lego my ego, and I'll lego your knowledge

www.tuxslare.org - My reborn website :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KgAutobahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. Here´s my Fstab and Lilo.conf.

Fstab: (im sorry about the mess in it)

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.10 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $
#
# noatime turns of atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency). It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.

# <fs> <mountpoint> <type> <opts> <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hda3 / reiserfs noatime,notail
0 0
/dev/hda2 none swap sw
0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,ro 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink). Adding the following
# line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will use almost no
# memory if not populated with files)

tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0



This is my lilo.conf:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/sys-apps/lilo/files/lilo.conf,v 1.3 2002/09/30 00:55:18 woodchip Exp $
# Author: Ultanium
# Start LILO global section
menu-scheme=Wb
boot = /dev/hda
prompt
#boot=/devices/discs/disc0/disc
map = /boot/System.map
#compact # faster, but won't work on all systems.
lba32
#if lba32 do not work, use linear
#linear
#if you always want to see the prompt with a 15 second timeout:
#timeout=150
delay = 50
vga = normal # Normal VGA console
# End LILO global section
# Linux bootable partition config begins
image = /boot/bzImage
root = /dev/hda3
#root = /devices/discs/disc0/part3
label = Gentoo
read-only # read-only for checking
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# DOS bootable partition config begins
other = /dev/hda1
#other = /devices/discs/disc0/part1
label = Windows
table = /dev/hda
# DOS bootable partition config ends

Does this help you to help me? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KgAutobahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Btw, I don´t have a boot partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KgAutobahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2003 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I solved this one by myself finally.
After I copied the bzImage to /boot I had to run /sbin/lilo again. After this gentoo booted with the new kernel.
Thanks for all your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum