Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Making XDM look good
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:23 am    Post subject: Making XDM look good Reply with quote

Yeah, believe it or not it is possible to make xdm look nice without recoding it or bribing the developers. The reason that I even cared to look into how to do it was because I did not want to use something like GDM or KDM with all of their dependencies and entrance ended up b0rking.

After seeing some screenshots of XDM via Google image search that looked really nice, I wanted to know how to do that. So via a thread on the forums and some hacking I got this as a result....

OMG its XDM!

I also have a tarball of my configuration which you can just extract to /etc/X11 for instant happiness. BTW, it uses the artwiz snap font.

My Configuration

I also plan on adding a howto on my website for this, and once I add it I would like some review for clarity. Enjoy this for now. Cheers. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papal_authority
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 1823
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is hella sweet. I've altered colors and fonts with XDM but I didn't know you could have a background pic. Where is that setting?
_________________
The free market gave me gonorrhea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Syntaxis
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 511
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:55 am    Post subject: Re: Making XDM look good Reply with quote

Pwnz3r wrote:
OMG its XDM!

Very nice! :-) Where'd you get that gorgeous background image?

Quote:
Cheers. :D

Right back at you. :D (/me takes another glug of vodka...)
_________________
The Debian User Forums - help them grow!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The background is in my configuration tarball and I found it originally on the 4chan image board.

Also, the Xsetup file in /etc/X11/xdm/ is what controls what starts with XDM so I just added...

Code:
/usr/bin/xsetbg -fork /etc/X11/xdm/pixmaps/crimsongirl.png


...to it in order to set the background. Via that file it is even possible to start Openbox in XDM. XD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, my XDM howto is now somewhat completed. I say somewhat since I need some viewer input. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanHoe
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Oct 2002
Posts: 658

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just login at the command prompt and my .bashrc starts X for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IvanHoe wrote:
I just login at the command prompt and my .bashrc starts X for me.

What is the relevence of this comment to the current discussion?

---------------

Anyway, for those who are interested please review my howto. I could not think of many ways to explain the Xresources file but if you need anything clarified about it then I will add it. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokheed
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 1295
Location: /usr/src/linux

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pwnz3r wrote:
IvanHoe wrote:
I just login at the command prompt and my .bashrc starts X for me.

What is the relevence of this comment to the current discussion?


My guess would be he doesnt use XDM and ironically, his comment is more pertinent to this discussion then yours is...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lokheed wrote:
My guess would be he doesnt use XDM and ironically, his comment is more pertinent to this discussion then yours is...

Good job on not reading my entire post. However, I am not responding to anymore of these comments because I have nothing else to do but wait for people to review my howto and I do not want this topic to become mush because of trolls.


Last edited by placeholder on Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blackhorse
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2004
Posts: 225
Location: edge of a forest

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have not played with it yet, but the howto is really easy to follow. Thanks for putting it together. What happens if you do not put in the GiveConsol file.
_________________
Rejoice in the Lord always and again I say rejoice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Without killing whatever you start with the GiveConsole file it will still be running when you reach your desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pwnz3r wrote:
Without killing whatever you start with the GiveConsole file, it will still be running when you reach your desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seijai
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is it possible to position the login box somewhere else?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

seijai wrote:
is it possible to position the login box somewhere else?

Yeah, via the Xresources file.

Code:
xlogin*geometry: 350x100+200+200


That is the line you use which works like this....

Code:
xlogin*geometry: WidthxHeight+XCoord+Ycoord


Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blmartin777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 646
Location: Not Quite Sure

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it possible to change the clock to 12 hour (am pm) instead of 24 hour?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blmartin777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 646
Location: Not Quite Sure

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The how-to was great by the way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

blmartin777 wrote:
Is it possible to change the clock to 12 hour (am pm) instead of 24 hour?

Use the -twelve command for xclock. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blmartin777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 646
Location: Not Quite Sure

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanHoe
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Oct 2002
Posts: 658

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pwnz3r wrote:
IvanHoe wrote:
I just login at the command prompt and my .bashrc starts X for me.

What is the relevence of this comment to the current discussion?

Well, I guess the relevence would be that I don't spend a lot of time looking at the login prompt, so instead of wasting time and system resources starting XDM I just have my .bashrc start X for me when I login with my normal username.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RedDawn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Posts: 368
Location: Los Angeles, California

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IvanHoe wrote:
Pwnz3r wrote:
IvanHoe wrote:
I just login at the command prompt and my .bashrc starts X for me.

What is the relevence of this comment to the current discussion?

Well, I guess the relevence would be that I don't spend a lot of time looking at the login prompt, so instead of wasting time and system resources starting XDM I just have my .bashrc start X for me when I login with my normal username.


Good Point..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RedDawn & IvanHoe: Go make your own thread and leave this one to people who actually want to use XDM and configure it. Seeing that XDM is using 0.0% CPU and 0.2% of memory right now, your points are flawed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanHoe
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Oct 2002
Posts: 658

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pwnz3r wrote:
RedDawn & IvanHoe: Go make your own thread and leave this one to people who actually want to use XDM and configure it. Seeing that XDM is using 0.0% CPU and 0.2% of memory right now, your points are flawed.

Geez, calm down. It was just a comment, not a religious crusade.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is really nice, Pwnz3r. Thanks. 8)
Just curious though: is there some way to add a shutdown/reboot button?
_________________
~~ Peter: Brony, GNU/Linux geek, caffeine addict, and Free Software advocate.
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

codergeek42 wrote:
This is really nice, Pwnz3r. Thanks. 8)
Just curious though: is there some way to add a shutdown/reboot button?

There was a topic about it on the Gentoo forums, actually. :D

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=100119

You could probably also use idesk or the Xfce4 panel configured with just shutdown and reboot buttons as root. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. :D
_________________
~~ Peter: Brony, GNU/Linux geek, caffeine addict, and Free Software advocate.
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 1 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum