Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.10 on Ultra 5 (atyfb csync problem)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 269
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 12:12 pm    Post subject: 2.6.10 on Ultra 5 (atyfb csync problem) Reply with quote

Has anybody got 2.6.10 working on an Ultra 5? (ATYFB model)

I've just upgraded from gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.9 to 2.6.10-r1 by copying my 2.6.9 kernel config, and issuing a make oldconfig.

On booting, SILO loads the kernel, and then the screen goes blank (monitor powers down).

I can access the system over the network, and can see that X/kdm are runing, there's just no display.


Last edited by Mark Clegg on Sun Jan 02, 2005 10:56 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyan051
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

after using 2.6.7 for quite some time, i've tried 2.6.10 few days ago...
and no luck...
i've tried fiddling with kernel config, but still - getting it to boot is a pain...

so, fallback to 2.6.9-r10y - works like a charm...
even the smp bugs which i had on 2.6.7 with grsecurity 2.0 are gone...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 269
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've made some progress....

When I boot 2.6.10, I get a blank screen, but that seems to only be because it's not being clocked at a reasonable rate.

Indeed, I can login, and do things. The only thing is, I can't see what I'm doing.

So, a little testing with fbset is called for.....

From 2.6.9, fbset returns

Code:
mode "1152x900-87"
 # D: 108.158 MHz, H: 71.249 kHz, V: 75.555 Hz
 geometry 1152 900 1152 3612 8
 timings 9332 174 50 33 2 128 8
 hsync high
 csync high
 accel true
 rgba 8/0,8/0,8/0,0/0
endmode


From 2.6.10, I get

Code:
mode "640x480-60"
 # D: 25.172 MHz, H: 31.466 kHz, V: 59.934 Hz
 geometry 640 480 640 6502 8
 timings 39726 40 24 32 11 96 2
 hsync high
 vsync high
 accel true
 rgba 8/0,8/0,8/0,0/0
endmode



Ouch!

So it appears that the ATYFB code is significantly different in 2.6.10, and lots of defaults have changed.

Any ideas how to change them back.

If I login and use fbset to restore some sensible values, I can get a picture back, but how to fix it on boot.? I've tried

Code:
append = "video=atyfb:1152x900-8@76"


in silo.conf without much success,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robbyjo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2003
Posts: 462

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm cyan051. I am using kernel 2.6.9-r10 from gentoo-dev sources and it works really well. The only problem I have was with the mouse in X. Ferris helped me solved this. Other than that, it works really well.

Last edited by robbyjo on Tue Dec 28, 2004 8:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyan051
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ahhh, atyfb...well, i'm using raptox gfx adapter which is basically permedia 2v which in order uses glint driver...and since that one never properly worked as framebuffer anyhow (works like a charm inside X), i don't use framebuffer during boot...

but if u boot directly to X (xdm started on boot), why use boot framebuffer anyhow? yes, boot screen shows the logo, but why bother?

also, r u sure that the syntax of the

Quote:
append = "video=atyfb:1152x900-8@76"


is correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 269
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No I'm not sure of the syntax of the video:.... kernel switch. I've tried a few variations, all have a similar effect, in that after that has been issued, fbset returns the current settings and then the system hangs...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 269
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A little progress I feel....

Working blind on a blank screen, logging in and issuing an "fbset -csync high" gives me a picture (even if it is at 640x480). Also, adding a +csync to my modeline in xorg.conf gets X working again.

It appears that the most significant change in 2.6.10's atyfb, is a change of default sync polarity
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 269
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've effected a temporary fix by creating /etc/fb.modes

Code:
mode "sun-1152x900"
        geometry 1152 900 1152 3612 8
        timings 9332 174 50 33 2 128 8
        csync high
endmode


and adding

Code:
fbset sun-1152x900


to the beginning of /etc/init.d/bootmisc. This initialises all the vt's during boot to a visible state.

If anybody knows of a way of achieving "csync high" using the video=atyfb:... kernel parameter, please let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashu69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem with 2.6.10-r2 and atyfb. While the fbset workaround makes the
vts visible, the monitor flicker a lot and X is unusable.

Anyone has tried 2.6.10-r4 yet?

Thanks,
-a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
treellama
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Getting the same problem with 2.6.10-r6 on a ppc...so, it's not just a sparc thing. Back to 2.6.9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 269
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Submitted a bug...

http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=79226
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashu69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried -r6, no luck. I seem to remember a changelog somewhere which
had made me hopeful... :?

And BTW, Mark, you might wanna upload your dmesg output somewhere and
put a pointer to it in that bug report. It might help the devs.

-a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wirwzd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Leominster, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is patch from patch-2.6.11-rc4-bk7 that applies cleanly to 2.6.10 and corrects this on my ultra-5:

http://www.kernel.org/diff/diffview.cgi?file=%2Fpub%2Flinux%2Fkernel%2Fv2.6%2Fsnapshots%2Fpatch-2.6.11-rc4-bk7.bz2;z=78
_________________
Keith Alan Landry
My Band: Twelfth of Never
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashu69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried it, it solves the csync problem, but not much else.
The monitor comes on, but the text is garbled.
X is totally useless, the screen keeps flickering, graphics
is garbled and mouse is unusable.

Are you able to get X/KDE working with this patch?

-a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wirwzd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Leominster, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xdm/twm/xterm work fine here
_________________
Keith Alan Landry
My Band: Twelfth of Never
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hasues
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 7:37 am    Post subject: 2.6.10 works fine here... Reply with quote

I just wanted to report that I have a SunBlade 100 running 2.6.10, and it runs the display fine. I had alot of issues in the frame buffer to the point that I knew my timings were off, so I stopped using it. But X works fine. I haven't ironed out sound yet, and if I change the time in KDE it can lock the system (so I used ntpclient). Anyway, thought I would say that much. Works good as a workstation otherwise, with the exception of using x.org. I have found that getting certain applications porting displays back to x.org Xserver from Solaris do not function correctly. I think this wasn't the case with XFree.

Haz
_________________
Lettuce, Pickles, hold the mayo!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashu69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@wirwzd ==> Unfortunately X/KDE don't work for me :evil: . They do come
up but the screen is so garbled that i can really use them. I applied the
patch to 2.6.10-r6. Did you have to do anything else (e.g. passing
modelines to kernel etc.?). Is it possible for you to post your kernel
config?

Thx
-a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 269
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems to be fixed in 2.6.11-gentoo-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oldan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Dec 2003
Posts: 137
Location: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark Clegg wrote:
Seems to be fixed in 2.6.11-gentoo-r1

OK - I'll byte...
how do you get version 2.6.11? It's been masked pretty hard on my system.

--Oldan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Clegg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 269
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge =sys-kernel/gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.11-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oldan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Dec 2003
Posts: 137
Location: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark Clegg wrote:
emerge =sys-kernel/gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.11-r1

Hmmmm.... that didn't work for me.

I hadda go in and mark the ebuild as "~sparc" first. Not kosher, I'll admit.
--Oldan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum