Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Test patch for sleep on AluBooks
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 8:26 am    Post subject: Test patch for sleep on AluBooks Reply with quote

Please see the forum topic: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=254232&sid=8c57672ad04c3883f5a1cddb306079e0
since this patch has been updated since this post! Thanks!

benh released a patch to allow sleep on AluBooks with ATi chipsets. This patch does not fix sleep on iBook G4s or nVidia based chipsets.

http://lists.debian.org/debian-powerpc/2004/10/msg00438.html

The patch applies cleanly to gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.9-r1, assuming you have this kernel linked to /usr/src/linux and the patch has been unpacked and is in your home directory:

Code:
 
cd /usr/src/linux
patch -p1 < ~/albook-sleep.diff


Rebuild your kernel with power management, try it out and let us know how it works :)

I've mirrored the patch here: http://dev.gentoo.org/~josejx/albook-sleep.diff.bz2


Last edited by JoseJX on Sat Dec 11, 2004 8:48 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3737

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
benh released a patch to allow sleep on AluBooks with ATi chipsets.


great, thanks, will try out and let ya know how it works !

cheers
_________________
Error: Failing not supported by current locale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 9:26 pm    Post subject: Sleep patch works on PB 15" Aluminium Reply with quote

As far as I can see, everything works fine. There is some white, then violet text on black screen before I get my X11 back, messages like "resume is unsafe", but everything displays ok afterwards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbfisch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 55
Location: World->Pacific->New Zealand->Hamilton

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep, seems to work for me too. sometimes a x-console-x switch seems to be necessary to get rid of the occasional flicker.

have fun*

Niklas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
colinleroy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2003
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 7:43 am    Post subject: Resume is unsafe Reply with quote

a Debian User, David Woodhouse, fixed the "resume is unsafe" problem by using the following patch:
Code:


--- linux-2.6.9/drivers/usb/core/hub.c.susp   2004-10-27 17:30:39.796999176 +0100
+++ linux-2.6.9/drivers/usb/core/hub.c   2004-10-27 17:31:49.991979112 +0100
@@ -1527,12 +1527,12 @@ static int __usb_suspend_device (struct
           * even for drivers that can't suspend.
           */
          if (!driver->suspend || state > PM_SUSPEND_MEM) {
-#if 1
+#if 0
             dev_warn(&intf->dev, "resume is unsafe!\n");
 #else
-            down_write(&usb_bus_type.rwsem);
+            down_write(&usb_bus_type.subsys.rwsem);
             device_release_driver(&intf->dev);
-            up_write(&usb_bus_type.rwsem);
+            up_write(&usb_bus_type.subsys.rwsem);
 #endif
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gnomeza
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 9:16 am    Post subject: OT: console switch Reply with quote

blubbfisch wrote:
yep, seems to work for me too. sometimes a x-console-x switch seems to be necessary to get rid of the occasional flicker.


Off topic but, what X version are you using that you can still do the x-console-x switch? It's been broken on my alubook 15" since I moved to xorg-6.8.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the InputDevice Section, change macintosh in:

Code:
Option "XkbModel" "macintosh"


to pc104 or pc105. This should fix the problem. If the line doesn't exist, add it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HighOnBonsai
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works great! Wohoo!!



Christopher
_________________
Are YOU high - on bonsai?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbfisch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 55
Location: World->Pacific->New Zealand->Hamilton

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 9:47 pm    Post subject: Re: OT: console switch Reply with quote

gnomeza wrote:

Off topic but, what X version are you using that you can still do the x-console-x switch? It's been broken on my alubook 15" since I moved to xorg-6.8.0.


bugger, you're right. I still had xorg-6.7 running. after the update sleep still works, but console-switch is gone, no matter what you put into the conf... :-(

have fun* (nevertheless)

Niklas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post just the keyboard InputDevice section of your xorg.conf? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbfisch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 55
Location: World->Pacific->New Zealand->Hamilton

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"
        Driver      "kbd"

        Option  "XkbModel"      "macintosh"
        Option  "XkbLayout"     "de"
        Option  "XkbVariant"    "nodeadkeys"
EndSection


And I've tried to play with
Option "DontVTSwitch" "Off"
in the ServerLayout section

Have Fun*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Change it to this:

Code:

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"
        Driver      "kbd"

        Option  "XkbModel"      "pc105"
        Option  "XkbLayout"     "de"
        Option  "XkbVariant"    "nodeadkeys"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbfisch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 55
Location: World->Pacific->New Zealand->Hamilton

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right, OK, now I can switch to the console, but the keyboard layout is seriously b0rked....

How can I get the Mode_switch key back?
I used to have those in my .Xmodmap working well together with the "macintosh" layout:

Code:

!! Apple workarounds
keycode 64 = Mode_switch
keycode 115 = Alt_L
remove Mod4 = Alt_L
add Mod1 = Alt_L


which let me access the fancy stuff like @²¼, etc... now I seem to have a German pc-keyboard mapping, which i no good, since the German mac mapping is different!

Have fun*

Niklas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brianm
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Aug 2004
Posts: 78
Location: Aurora, Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

props to benh
will try... :D
_________________
Registered Linux User Nr # 319050
Athlon 64 2.2 @2.5Ghz/1gb RAM/WD Raptors/Nvidia 6800 GT
Aluminum Powerbook G4 (12")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hippi@Bacarni
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 53
Location: Hannover, DE

PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2004 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
patched teh 2.6.9-gentoo-r9 and it works fine :D Going to sleep from console and from xorg6.8

I love it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2004 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please try the newer version of the patch instead, it fixes a large number of problems with the one given here.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hippi@Bacarni
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 53
Location: Hannover, DE

PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2004 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay. and where can i find the patch. I just the one at the beginnig of this thread. And can I patch the same kernel again, or do i have to get a new unpatched one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please see the link I posted at the top of this thread. You'll probably need to remerge the kernel and apply the patch to clean sources.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum