Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde has released a patch for xcompmgr integration
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dutchie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 70
Location: NL

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:04 pm    Post subject: kde has released a patch for xcompmgr integration Reply with quote

Hiya all,

kde has released a patch for xcompmgr integration
Configuration is looking good for transparancy. multiple choices on focussed windows - unfocussed windows etc.

Somebody already scripting???

Have fun

D :twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fourwood
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 197

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can we get a link to this patch?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutchie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 70
Location: NL

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 6:25 pm    Post subject: of course Reply with quote

Sorry of course you can have it.

http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show.php?content=16114

There you find the info.

i hope somebody does script this.

Greetz and tnx
D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone tested if when xcompmgr crashes it takes kwin with it?

Cuz if it doesn't running it all the time would be fine ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutchie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 70
Location: NL

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

anyone tested if when xcompmgr crashes it takes kwin with it?

Cuz if it doesn't running it all the time would be fine Wink


If you read the kde patch page, you see that it is compiled within the kwin source code. So it depends highly on kwin.

Greetz
D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zarhan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any word on whether this will be included in KDE 3.3.1? Or will it be included in Gentoo's KDE ebuilds?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutchie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 70
Location: NL

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Any word on whether this will be included in KDE 3.3.1? Or will it be included in Gentoo's KDE ebuilds?


No word found about the inclusion in the next release of kde. That is why i asked the guys here to include it in a special ebuild.

It runs very stable and smooth on my computer with nvidia vid card. But as far as i have read on ati vid cards it is crime ( but then ati is a crime :wink: )

Greetz
D.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
furanku
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 874
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is an unofficial patch on kde-apps and in no way an official kde release. As far as I can see, some KDE apps do have serious issues with the composite extension, kuickshow for example stops displaying the images when the composite extension is enabled. Even the xorg developers say that the composite extension is experimental und maybe unstable.

I think active support for translucency and shadows will be introduced after all problems with the extensions are fixed, so there surely will be a bug-fixing release, before we see an official "composite extension" supported KDE .

Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steven Robertson
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 140
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's an ebuild with the patch included. It's hosted on my cable modem; be gentle. :)

http://www.ninjacomputer.com/kdebase-kwinxcomp-.5.tar.bz2

It uses version 0.5. Just unpack in /usr/local/portage and emerge -u kdebase.

NOTE that I titled the package -r1, which is really naughty as if an official -r1 is released, portage won't see it. Just be aware that it can break Gentoo-sanctioned updates.

Steve


Last edited by Steven Robertson on Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutchie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 70
Location: NL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very cool thnx!!

Will test asap :twisted:
We are Gentoo afterall :!:
Version 0.4 is indeed the latest.

THnx

D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentooBox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1168
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does the patch do ?

does it apply shadows on every window ? and nothing else ?

i hate the shadows xcompmgr, they are so fake.
_________________
Encrypt, lock up everything and duct tape the rest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steven Robertson
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 140
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The patch gives you a new tab on the Window Decorations kcontrol (Translucency). On it, you can set the translucency for Active Windows, Inactive Windows, Moving Windows, and Docks. Thus, selecting a window (as I have it configured) makes it 100% opaque, and the window I was deselecting 50% opaque. It's OSX-like, a bit, minus the fading (that's coming, though).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutchie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 70
Location: NL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

what does the patch do ?
does it apply shadows on every window ? and nothing else ?
i hate the shadows xcompmgr, they are so fake.


This patch places shadow and transparancy on kde.
BUT there is soon also an patch available for window without the shadow :wink:
See more info:
[url]
http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show.php?content=16114
[/url]

Greetz
D

PS just too late with my post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutchie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 70
Location: NL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ Steven

After my current emerge i will do your patch, and i will be gentle to your cable modem ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutchie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 70
Location: NL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When i try to emerge -u kdebase, it connect to my normal mirror and downloads the normal kdebase :?

Shouldn't it go to your cable modem? Or do i have to configure something else?


Thnx in advance
D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steven Robertson
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 140
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just updated the above link to version .5; use that instead. Unpack in the same place and overwrite all.

In the future, you can be sure to have the latest version of the patch by running the following:

Code:
wget -O - 'http://www.kde-apps.org/content/download.php?content=16114&id=1' |\
bzcat | sed 's: [.]/: kwin/:g' >\
/usr/local/portage/kde-base/kdebase/files/3.3.0-kwinxcomp.diff


Unfortunately, because of the nature of kde-apps.org's download system, I can't integrate that into the ebuild. Just run that command _after_ unpacking, and you'll be all set with the latest patch version. (You'll still need to remerge kdebase, run 'emerge kdebase' (note the absence of a -u)).

Dutchie: The tarball is hosted on my cable modem, but the kdebase package is on the Gentoo mirrors. The only thing you download from me is the 22Kb tarball. You're fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutchie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 70
Location: NL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

just updated the above link to version .5; use that instead. Unpack in the same place and overwrite all.

In the future, you can be sure to have the latest version of the patch by running the following:

Code:
wget -O - 'http://www.kde-apps.org/content/download.php?content=16114&id=1' |\
bzcat | sed 's: [.]/: kwin/:g' >\
/usr/local/portage/kde-base/kdebase/files/3.3.0-kwinxcomp.diff


Unfortunately, because of the nature of kde-apps.org's download system, I can't integrate that into the ebuild. Just run that command _after_ unpacking, and you'll be all set with the latest patch version. (You'll still need to remerge kdebase, run 'emerge kdebase' (note the absence of a -u)).


ok now i am confused

After i download ur patch and unpacked to the desired directory
i have to run
Code:

emerge kdebase


Without the -u parameter? Is that correct?

[edit]
Thnx for the .5 patch btw
[/edit]

Thnx again for helping a noob
D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steven Robertson
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 140
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Step by step:

1. Download above patch.
2. Unpack in /usr/local/portage.
3. Make sure that the line 'PORTDIR_OVERLAY=/usr/local/portage' is uncommented in /etc/make.conf.
4. Run command given above (in 'code' segment).
5. Run 'emerge kdebase'.

All of this is done as root.

HTH!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutchie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 70
Location: NL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK thnx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joseh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2004 12:32 am    Post subject: kwin Reply with quote

if kwin crashes and you don't have a konsole open, you can switch to console on the same machine and do

Code:
DISPLAY=:0 kwin &


I know you can make daemons restart automatically system wide any time crashed or killed. There is some program to do this, but I forget. Maybe someone else remembers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sibov
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 147
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

since i update my kdebase with your patch, my konqueror crashs in file mode when ever i try to move with my mouse over it.

could this by due to your kdebase patch or does nobody got this behaviour?

Thanx in advance. :roll:

Code:

[New Thread 1095751584 (LWP 17007)]
[KCrash handler]
#2  0x4225acfb in KonqSoundPlayerImpl::mimeTypes() ()
   from /usr/kde/3.3/lib/kde3/konq_sound.so
#3  0x41548479 in KonqIconViewWidget::slotOnItem(QIconViewItem*) ()
   from /usr/kde/3.3/lib/libkonq.so.4
#4  0x4154943d in KonqIconViewWidget::qt_invoke(int, QUObject*) ()
   from /usr/kde/3.3/lib/libkonq.so.4
#5  0x40bc5c36 in QObject::activate_signal(QConnectionList*, QUObject*) ()
   from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#6  0x40f304dd in QIconView::onItem(QIconViewItem*) ()
   from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#7  0x40d8c2bd in QIconView::contentsMouseMoveEvent(QMouseEvent*) ()
   from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#8  0x41545575 in KonqIconViewWidget::contentsMouseMoveEvent(QMouseEvent*) ()
   from /usr/kde/3.3/lib/libkonq.so.4
#9  0x40cdb122 in QScrollView::viewportMouseMoveEvent(QMouseEvent*) ()
   from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#10 0x40cda859 in QScrollView::eventFilter(QObject*, QEvent*) ()
   from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#11 0x40d909ff in QIconView::eventFilter(QObject*, QEvent*) ()
   from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#12 0x40bc35ee in QObject::activate_filters(QEvent*) ()
   from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#13 0x40bc351c in QObject::event(QEvent*) () from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#14 0x40bfbcaf in QWidget::event(QEvent*) () from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#15 0x40b6987f in QApplication::internalNotify(QObject*, QEvent*) ()
   from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#16 0x40b68ce4 in QApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) ()
   from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#17 0x406ed23a in KApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) ()
   from /usr/kde/3.3/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#18 0x40afef40 in QETWidget::translateMouseEvent(_XEvent const*) ()
   from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#19 0x40afcba3 in QApplication::x11ProcessEvent(_XEvent*) ()
   from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#20 0x40b13cd4 in QEventLoop::processEvents(unsigned) ()
   from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#21 0x40b7ba48 in QEventLoop::enterLoop() () from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#22 0x40b7b8f8 in QEventLoop::exec() () from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#23 0x40b69ad1 in QApplication::exec() () from /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#24 0x4191408a in kdemain () from /usr/kde/3.3/lib/libkdeinit_konqueror.so
#25 0x418a77bc in kdeinitmain () from /usr/kde/3.3/lib/kde3/konqueror.so
#26 0x0804d2ac in QGList::clear() ()
#27 0x0804e8c1 in QGList::clear() ()
#28 0x0804eeba in QGList::clear() ()
#29 0x0805009d in QGList::clear() ()
#30 0x413f4f4e in __libc_start_main () from /lib/libc.so.6

_________________
Gentoo 2.6.17-gentoo-r5 with dmraid Raid0 Dualboot
AMD64 X2 3800+, 4x512MB DDR PC3200Pro Corsair Geforce EN6600GT silencer @ 256MB
4x250GB SATAII Samsung SP120, Asus A8N Premium, Plextor PX712SA DVDRW
Logitech Dinovo, SB Audigy4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steven Robertson
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 140
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may well be (although I haven't experienced the said fault). However, I am not the maintainer of the patch; just of the ebuild which auto-applies it for us lucky Gentoo folks. The place to contact the author of the patch would be through the kde-apps.org page linked in the third post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flocchini
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 1124
Location: Milano, Italy

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to update the .diff to 0.7 version with che provided command but doesn't work...

Code:
utopia_planitia root # wget -O - 'http://www.kde-apps.org/content/download.php?content=16114&id=1' |\
-bash:  : command not found
--13:09:24--  http://www.kde-apps.org/content/download.php?content=16114&id=1
           => `-'
Resolving www.kde-apps.org... 66.111.55.80
Connecting to www.kde-apps.org[66.111.55.80]:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Found
Location: /content/files/16114-kwinxcomp.diff.bz2 [following]
--13:09:24--  http://www.kde-apps.org/content/files/16114-kwinxcomp.diff.bz2
           => `-'
Connecting to www.kde-apps.org[66.111.55.80]:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 9,652 [text/plain]

 0% [                                       ] 0             --.--K/s


Cannot write to `16114-kwinxcomp.diff.bz2' (Broken pipe).
utopia_planitia root # bzcat | sed 's: [.]/: kwin/:g' >\
bzcat: I won't read compressed data from a terminal.
bzcat: For help, type: `bzcat --help'.
utopia_planitia root # /usr/local/portage/kde-base/kdebase/files/3.3.0-kwinxcomp.diff
-bash: /usr/local/portage/kde-base/kdebase/files/3.3.0-kwinxcomp.diff: Permissiondenied
utopia_planitia root #
                         


tnx :wink:
_________________
~~ Per amore della rosa si sopportano le spine... ~~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flocchini
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 1124
Location: Milano, Italy

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my fault... please ignore my previous post, the question is solved :)

Now I have another problem. I have selected trasparency only for inactive windows and it works. But when I minimize a window in taskbar, when it returns on top (active) si still translucent and not solid. How to solve? Tnx :wink:
_________________
~~ Per amore della rosa si sopportano le spine... ~~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Illissius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 395
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can I get this to apply to 3.3.1 somehow? I took a look at the ebuild, but I'm not very good at them and didn't see any immediately obvious way...
_________________
Work is punishment for failing to procrastinate effectively.
last.fm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum