Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ALSA + Gnome Volume Control?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joeljkp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 316
Location: Starkville, MS, USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 8:51 pm    Post subject: ALSA + Gnome Volume Control? Reply with quote

I just installed development-sources-2.6.4 with the ALSA drivers, but now my Gnome Volume Control says it can't find /dev/mixer. Is there a way to get the volume control to work directly with ALSA? Or do I need to enable OSS emulation for it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
herbo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 145
Location: Land Of Oz

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nah, no oss emulation need, but you do need to install :

--> media-plugins/gst-plugins-oss

dont worry about the name, this will make the gnome volume control work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joem
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Dec 2002
Posts: 508
Location: Bloomington, In

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually there is now a gst-plugins-alsa ebuild. That should take care of your problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Falling_Icaro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2003
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello


dst wrote:
Actually there is now a gst-plugins-alsa ebuild. That should take care of your problem.


im with the same problem and i have the gst-plugins-alsa instaled.

I compiled the kernel (2.6) without oss emulation support (i just tought that gnome would depend on it), i builded the sound support and driver in kernel as modules, and emerge alsa-utils.
I had also unmuted either Master an PCM channels and added alsa support to boot with rc-update.

I also activated esd in gnome Desktop Preferences -> Sound -> Enable Sound Server at Startup

I dont just know what more i will have to do!!! :(. Maybe activate oss emulation in the kernel? it just dont make sense.

Thanks in advance

[EDIT]
Well i just found out that ALSA is working. Just downloaded a Nirvanna mp3, mpg123 it to wav a played via "aplay".
yet it seems gnome mixer cant find it: "Couldn't open mixer device /dev/sound/mixer". and yes, this file does not exist, maybe is related to oss? must i build oss support for alsa? will try it tomorrow if i have no answers...
[/EDIT]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pythagoras1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2002
Posts: 351
Location: trailer park Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same problem here and i installed both gst-plugins-alsa and gst-plugins-oss.
/dev/sound/mixer doesn't exist. I have compiled the alsa drivers into the kernel image and use a Sound Blaster Live.
_________________
Gobo, listen to reason. We wouldn't be in the Land of Having Blown Up if we didn't blow up now would we?!? ~Wembley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Falling_Icaro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2003
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey!

I allready fix it. you must build alsa oss emulation in the kernel, for 2.6.x it'll be:
Device Drivers -> Sound -> ALSA -> OSS Mixer API and OSS PCM API
-
Hoppe this help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pythagoras1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2002
Posts: 351
Location: trailer park Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Falling_Icaro wrote:
you must build alsa oss emulation in the kernel

sounds like a messy solution :cry: i heard that gnome entirely supports alsa, so there must be a way to avoid oss stuff.
_________________
Gobo, listen to reason. We wouldn't be in the Land of Having Blown Up if we didn't blow up now would we?!? ~Wembley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joem
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Dec 2002
Posts: 508
Location: Bloomington, In

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pythagoras1 wrote:
Falling_Icaro wrote:
you must build alsa oss emulation in the kernel

sounds like a messy solution :cry: i heard that gnome entirely supports alsa, so there must be a way to avoid oss stuff.


Did you edit the gstreamer gconf settings to use alsasink instead of osssink?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pythagoras1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2002
Posts: 351
Location: trailer park Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dst wrote:
Did you edit the gstreamer gconf settings to use alsasink instead of osssink?

I already changed the settings with "gstreamer-properties" and it set /system/gstreamer/0.8/default/audiosink to alsasink.

Sound does work inside GNOME, just the volume control doesn't.
_________________
Gobo, listen to reason. We wouldn't be in the Land of Having Blown Up if we didn't blow up now would we?!? ~Wembley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 428
Location: [undef], Lisbon, Portugal, Europe, Earth, SolarSystem, MilkyWay, 23Q Radius, Forward Time

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 12:45 am    Post subject: Hi Reply with quote

Hi there.

I also have the same problem, but since i managed to change gconfs settings to alsasink instead of osssink, the volume meter can now be changed.

However, nothing supposed to make noise, makes it.

Alsa is working properly, in mp3blaster, and other appz (like KDE), but when, for example, i run gnome-alsamixer, it displays
Code:
 Darkness root # gnome-alsamixer
audio_alsa: no cards found!
And it shows a blank form!!

What can this be? This is a bit annoying ;(
_________________
"# cat /dev/urandom >> /tmp/life"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Falling_Icaro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2003
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

there is one thing that i can't understand..

if i have explicit USE="alsa -oss", why does portage enables oss by default on gnome2.6?
The stuppid thing is that it enables oss but doesnt install gst-plugins-oss which results in a gnome new instalation without sound.

and why doesnt gnome Sound configuration tool as the option to choose between oss and alsa? if it can, why not to show it to the users? Honest, it feels a hugly hack to mess with gnomes internal files!

Well these had to be said, :p

- José M. Fernandes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theturner
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Location: United Socialist Republic of Europe

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gnome-mixer just does not support alsa very well because of the feature freeze for gnome 2.6, which apparently came way too early..
just use gnome-alsamixer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 428
Location: [undef], Lisbon, Portugal, Europe, Earth, SolarSystem, MilkyWay, 23Q Radius, Forward Time

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2004 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used gnome-alsamixer.. However, it doesn't find any soundcards... Is it REALLY NEEDED to compile the kernel with OSS support ?
_________________
"# cat /dev/urandom >> /tmp/life"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 428
Location: [undef], Lisbon, Portugal, Europe, Earth, SolarSystem, MilkyWay, 23Q Radius, Forward Time

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Building kernel completely without OSS (only in ALSA's emulation), and carefully configuring gconf-editor for alsasink and alsasrc, instead of osssink and osssrc,

Fixes this... :D
_________________
"# cat /dev/urandom >> /tmp/life"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eniac
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 233
Location: Belgium, Brussels

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did the same installed gst-plugins-alsa changed my settings with gconfi-editor and removed all OSS options from my kernel. But then my applet doesn't work anymore (red cross true it)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 428
Location: [undef], Lisbon, Portugal, Europe, Earth, SolarSystem, MilkyWay, 23Q Radius, Forward Time

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are two possibilities:

1) You haven't done everything like we've explained during the post
2) This is a gnome 2.6 problem... Gnome 2.6 is EXCELLENT, however, it is a very very very unstable release....

So, take a deep breath and wait..... or downgrade your little gnome ;)

[]'s
_________________
"# cat /dev/urandom >> /tmp/life"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pythagoras1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2002
Posts: 351
Location: trailer park Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eniac wrote:
I did the same installed gst-plugins-alsa changed my settings with gconfi-editor and removed all OSS options from my kernel. But then my applet doesn't work anymore (red cross true it)

Did you enable OSS emulation in your kernel?
It just bypasses apps without native ALSA support to use the OSS API for access to ALSA. This is just a redirect to ALSA and no OSS any more.

It seems that the GNOME volume control needs the OSS mixer API.
_________________
Gobo, listen to reason. We wouldn't be in the Land of Having Blown Up if we didn't blow up now would we?!? ~Wembley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 428
Location: [undef], Lisbon, Portugal, Europe, Earth, SolarSystem, MilkyWay, 23Q Radius, Forward Time

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another problem with the GNOME volume control, is that it never saves the information of which channel to control (I have to select PCM each time i log in) and the main volume (i have to set it up too).....

Any ideas?
_________________
"# cat /dev/urandom >> /tmp/life"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m1ll3
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here.

Since I emerged Gnome 2.6.1-rc1, the Mixer-Applet can't open the mixer-device /dev/sound/mixer because there is none, although sound works fine and "Open Volume Control", too.
I've got sound support as a module and ALSA is completely disabled in the kernel because I'm using the latest alsa-driver-1.0.4-r1. Also changed the "osssink" and "osssrc"-settings to the alsa-values - but it didn't help.

Any suggestions or is can this be considered as a bug?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slano
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Dec 2003
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try re-emerging gnome-applets without gstreamer in your USE flags. It helped me with the volume applet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EricHsu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 591
Location: Aragon Consulting Group, Beijing, China

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2004 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try:

shell$ gst-register-0.8

it helped me find back my gnome-volumn-control twice :twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m1ll3
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2004 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just found out that somehow my ALSA-OSS-Emulation was kicked out after the Gnome 2.6.1-rc1 update.
I emerged the latest alsa-oss and now the volume control works again because the missing dev's have been created.
Quake 3 also has its sound back now. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

EricHsu wrote:
try:

shell$ gst-register-0.8

it helped me find back my gnome-volumn-control twice :twisted:
Thanks, it kind of worked, altough I'm now with a mixer for both OSS and ALSA. Further, in the ALSA mixer, lots of knobs are in double (two PCM, ...).
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LostControl
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Mar 2004
Posts: 885
Location: La Glane, Suisse

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EricHsu wrote:
try:

shell$ gst-register-0.8

it helped me find back my gnome-volumn-control twice :twisted:


That's also solved my problem with the mixer applet :D

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjv
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 353
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2004 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is happening to alsa+gnome??

These last emerge updates (the last week or so), I've seen the gnome mixer applet slowly degenerate. First my one perfect mixer changed to 3 different mixers with lots of channels. Now the applet is dead. It says it can't find a mixer though everywhere else sound is perfect. Though I can't control the applet's volume, I can still control it with my keys in gnome (osd).

[edit]Now I have the mixers in behind the applet back, but the applet control is still dead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum