Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Acovea-4.0.0 : Try out my ebuilds (and scripts)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 6:03 am    Post subject: Acovea-4.0.0 : Try out my ebuilds (and scripts) Reply with quote

For all you optimization nuts out there, I have made ebuilds for the new Acovea version 4.0.0:

http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=39089

Have fun!

EDIT: disregard the ebuild labeled "the ebuild", which is old; use the next three ebuilds (you can tell by the dates).

EDIT (4/18/04): Go to page 2 for latest scripts!
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme


Last edited by Hypnos on Sun Apr 18, 2004 11:12 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright, thx .
_________________
linux: #232767


Last edited by ikaro on Fri May 14, 2004 9:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigMichi1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Location: Dresden, Deutschland

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to interprete the result-file? where are the options wich produces the fastest code in the run-file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:fixed:
_________________
linux: #232767


Last edited by ikaro on Fri May 14, 2004 8:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For AMD, you need to have either an Opteron or to hack the config specs in /usr/share/acovea/config
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BigMichi1 wrote:
How to interprete the result-file? where are the options wich produces the fastest code in the run-file?

They're the ones with the highest numbers on the right at the end of the run files.

EDIT: Actually, that's no longer right. This new version lists "optimistic" and "pessimistic" options at the end of a run. My almabench just finished :)
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snakattak3
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 468
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome. Emerges fine. Can't wait to try out the benchmarks.
_________________
Ban Reality TV!
Adopt an Unanswered Post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

snakattak3 wrote:
Awesome. Emerges fine. Can't wait to try out the benchmarks.

Use my script:

Code:
<obsolete>

Obviously, change the config spec to suit your system.
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme


Last edited by Hypnos on Sun Apr 11, 2004 12:10 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snakattak3
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 468
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hypnos wrote:
snakattak3 wrote:
Awesome. Emerges fine. Can't wait to try out the benchmarks.

Use my script:

Code:
BENCHES="alma evo fft huff lin mat1 tree"
 
for bench in $BENCHES; do
        echo ""
        echo "*** $bench ***"
        time runacovea -config gcc33_pentium4.acovea -bench ${bench}bench.c\
                1> ${bench}.run 2> ${bench}.err
done

Obviously, change the config spec to suit your system.

Even Better! Thanks :lol:
_________________
Ban Reality TV!
Adopt an Unanswered Post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hypnos wrote:
For AMD, you need to have either an Opteron or to hack the config specs in /usr/share/acovea/config


I did make two new configs for Amd atlhon-xp but it doesnt run .. just hangs ..
if i run some of the pentium configs it fails to compile everything.
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ikaro wrote:
Hypnos wrote:
For AMD, you need to have either an Opteron or to hack the config specs in /usr/share/acovea/config


I did make two new configs for Amd atlhon-xp but it doesnt run .. just hangs ..
if i run some of the pentium configs it fails to compile everything.

Could you post you hacked config?
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the way i see it, you only have to copy the g++33xxx and the gcc33xxx
and call them gcc33_athlon-xp.acovea and g++33_athlon-xp.acovea

then edit the file and change -march=pentium4 to -march=athlon-xp
both of them.
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 5:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ikaro wrote:
the way i see it, you only have to copy the g++33xxx and the gcc33xxx
and call them gcc33_athlon-xp.acovea and g++33_athlon-xp.acovea

then edit the file and change -march=pentium4 to -march=athlon-xp
both of them.

That seems right. If it hangs, maybe the issue is not with the switches (in which case a run should simply fail) but with your compilation of acovea (or supporting libs). Try re-emerging with conservative optimization ...
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:edit:
there was no problem
_________________
linux: #232767


Last edited by ikaro on Fri May 14, 2004 8:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Each generation takes 20 minutes (on my 1.6GHz Mobile P4), there are 20 generations so ~7 hours per benchmark.
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a Perl script that digests all the data generated by my bash script above:

Code:
<obsolete>


And here's the result it gives me about half-way through the whole deal:

Code:
<obsolete>

Enjoy!

I'll post my results again in ~24 hours when all the benchmarks finish.
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme


Last edited by Hypnos on Sat Apr 10, 2004 10:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigMichi1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Location: Dresden, Deutschland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Hypnos
what means these values in brackets after running your script?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BigMichi1 wrote:
@Hypnos
what means these values in brackets after running your script?


"-O2" -- this flag is included in -O2

"! -O1" -- this flag overrides something in -O1

"fast math" -- this flag takes some math shortcut, which may or may not be safe
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

still running .. going to take the night over ..
:roll:
_________________
linux: #232767


Last edited by ikaro on Fri May 14, 2004 9:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Final results (Intel Mobile P4 1.6 GHz):

Code:
<obsolete>


So I'm going to try CFLAGS:

Code:
<obsolete>

Stability is a concern; we'll see how it goes ....
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme


Last edited by Hypnos on Sat Apr 10, 2004 10:28 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Angel666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Palo Alto, CA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 7:31 pm    Post subject: Running the perl script Reply with quote

Sorry for the simple question, but how do i run the perl script?

I copied and pasted it into a file, and added #!/usr/bin/per/ to the top. But whenever i try to run it, nothing happens:

Code:

[euthydemus][~]$ bin/acovea.digest.pl
[euthydemus][~]$


Am i supposed to be doing something else?
_________________
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Fuhrer" - Adolf Hitler
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 7:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Running the perl script Reply with quote

Angel666 wrote:
Sorry for the simple question, but how do i run the perl script?

I copied and pasted it into a file, and added #!/usr/bin/per/ to the top. But whenever i try to run it, nothing happens:

Code:

[euthydemus][~]$ bin/acovea.digest.pl
[euthydemus][~]$


Am i supposed to be doing something else?

It must be run in the same directory as my bash script batch file, i.e. where all the *.run files are; and, each benchmark must finish 20 iterations to be included, so to have at least one benchmark out of seven takes around 7 hours of real time ....

I should add that the annotations to the switches is only correct for GCC 3.3.
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hypnos wrote:
Final results (Intel Mobile P4 1.6 GHz):

Code:
492     -funsafe-math-optimizations (fast math)
449     -fcse-skip-blocks (-O2)
439     -fforce-mem (-O2)
437     -finline-limit
...


So I'm going to try CFLAGS:

Code:
CFLAGS="-Wall -pipe -O3 -mcpu=pentium4 -march=pentium4 -fprefetch-loop-arrays -ftracer -fomit-frame-pointer -mno-push-args -mno-align-stringops -freduce-all-givs -maccumulate-outgoing-args -finline-limit=600 -fno-merge-constants -fno-guess-branch-probability -fno-thread-jumps -fno-delayed-branch -fno-cprop-registers -fno-if-conversion -fno-defer-pop -fno-crossjumping -fno-if-conversion2"

Stability is a concern; we'll see how it goes ....


How do you know which cflags to use from that huge list ?
ive been looking at it and at the cflags you choose, and at this point I can't see any link between them.
thx.
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2867
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ikaro wrote:
How do you know which cflags to use from that huge list ?
ive been looking at it and at the cflags you choose, and at this point I can't see any link between them.
thx.


* The higher the score for a compiler switch, the more prevalent that "genetic trait" among similarly prepared "populations". So, in general, the higher the better; I therefore remove from consideration switches scoring low.

* I exclude all unsafe switches, like math shortcuts and certains switches like "-malign-double".

* I consolidate a bunch of high-performing switches with "-O2".
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Angel666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Palo Alto, CA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 4:55 am    Post subject: Error Reply with quote

I get this error when i try to run acovea:

Code:
runacovea: relocation error: runacovea: symbol _ZN9__gnu_cxx12__pool_allocILb1ELi0EE8allocateEj, version GLIBCXX_3.4 not defined in file libstdc++.so.6 with link time reference


I am using GCC 3.4 on a pentium 4, here is how i run acovea:

Code:
[euthydemus][~]$ runacovea -config gcc34_pentium4.acovea -bench almabench.c


Does anyone have any idea of how i could resolve my problem?

Thanks for the help.
_________________
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Fuhrer" - Adolf Hitler
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 1 of 16

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum