Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Immediate reboot after GRUB loading
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
twan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 6:14 pm    Post subject: Immediate reboot after GRUB loading Reply with quote

Before i ask my question: i DID searched through google and on these forums.

Question:
I've been busy these days building a gentoo system on a Via Epia M9000. After some problems i had because of my system that is not very compatible with i686.. i got this weird problem now..

Everything is compiled, umounted everything, then rebooted. Grub shows up fine, i hit enter to speed up the start up process. And then my screen went off again and the computer rebooted. It does that everytime.

I don't really know what i should post here from config files so if you need something let me know.

Thanks in advance

EDIT: Could it be my Use variables in make.conf that are a bit weird ? I forgot the uncomment it (forgot the take away the # ) and compiled the kernel without those use var's. :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psyqil
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 2767

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think you're USE-flags are involved, you should at last see the kernel coming up, post your grub.conf for a start and tell me what an Epia M9000 is :?: :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
D. M. P. inc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 228
Location: /home/dmpinc

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i got that problem 2 days ago, too bad i was piss so i just redid everything. anyhow da ans is in ur grub set to root then ur kernel link just check or post that here
_________________
Live And Learn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
twan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

psyqil wrote:
I don't think you're USE-flags are involved, you should at last see the kernel coming up, post your grub.conf for a start and tell me what an Epia M9000 is :?: :D


an Epia M9000 is a mini itx motherboard. With a onboard cpu from Via. Anyway.. i redid the grub commands

Code:

grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> quit


Then i checked my grub.conf

Code:

default 0
timeout 15
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Kernel 2.4.**
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/bzImage root=/dev/hda3


Partitions:
Code:

/dev/hda1 = boot
/dev/hda2 = swap
/dev/hda3 = root
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psyqil
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 2767

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you do not use a framebuffer and you do not see any grub errors. I assume while 're-grubbing' weren't any errors either, so it's the kernel...first I'd remove any APM/APCI/ACPI-stuff...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
twan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah i heard from some other people that it was the kernel too :(

i'll do what you said, trying it out now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psyqil
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 2767

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now look at this http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=121587

leads to http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=368 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
twan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well yeah, i found that gentoo guide for epia boards too but that links isn't working anymore.

A couple kernel builds later it's still not working. I got one option left.. gonna try that tomorrow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psyqil
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 2767

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

??? Works for me???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
twan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah that links works fine, but i meant the wiki website, but apparently it is mirrored now.

No more reboots after grub now.. it says 'uncompressing linux.. booting kernel' after grub loading.. but the prompt just stays there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
abdul_ado
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:?

i too have one of these boards, picked it up real cheap and am looking at turning it into a firewall/router box and am having the exact same problem with it.

I noticed at the VIAARENA web site they said that you should compile for a 486 or a 586 if you are feeling game as not all of the i686 instructions are supported. i havent tried this on my box as it is at home at the moment an my internet has been suspended temporarily so i cant download any sources at the moment, but i am fairly hopeful this will work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
twan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i found my problem now. Apparently i did something wrong in the kernel. Although i have checked the options several and several times, i gave it up for a while and emerged genkernel to do it automatically. Genkernel gives me a perfect booting kernel and now i see my root.

I have problems with xfree now (font problem). I'm not sure wether it's me of a wrong kernel :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cr0s
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

twan wrote:
i found my problem now. Apparently i did something wrong in the kernel. Although i have checked the options several and several times, i gave it up for a while and emerged genkernel to do it automatically. Genkernel gives me a perfect booting kernel and now i see my root.

I have problems with xfree now (font problem). I'm not sure wether it's me of a wrong kernel :roll:


i think it's just the bad processor type or SMP problems (i have an epia too and i have this problem's sometimes when i make the menuconfig too quickly : )


Processor type and features --->
Processor family --->
VIA C3-2 (Nehemiah)
+
[ ] Symmetric multi-processing support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum