Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Issue about kde 3.1.1
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gilles
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 9:36 am    Post subject: Issue about kde 3.1.1 Reply with quote

Hi

This night I have updated kde 3.1 for kde 3.1.1, everythings compiled well, I have updated config files via etc-update.
After an restart of kdm, my kde menu dissappear and no applications start, severals errors messages appear about MIME type that seems to be not installed.

Thanks in advance for your help

Gilles.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aapzak
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have exactly the same problem. Also nothing works.

Every item I click on the Panel results in an error. Except for the logout button. I can open the menu, but there are no program maps or programs there.

Running a command doesn't work either, so this KDE 3.1.1 install is pretty worthless

Are we the only ones? Someone have solution?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
as6o
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 6
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 2:47 pm    Post subject: Me too Reply with quote

I have the exact same issues after emerging KDE 3.1.1 and running etc-update. KDE seems to have lost knowledge of all apps and settings (the panel is tiny). I can't run anything.

-Aaron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codemode
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 9
Location: Worms, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:34 pm    Post subject: Solution Reply with quote

I chatted to 2 people on IRC who had similiar problems.

There are leftover KDE files in /etc/env.d.
Something like 56kdedir-3.0.5 or other version, including KDEDIR=(wrong directory).

So move that file out, and it should work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snorkel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Milwaukee, WI

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

same problem here, moving/deleting those files does nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gilles
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I modified thoses files (56kde.... , 99kde-env). Nothing changed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 10:09 am    Post subject: Now it works! Reply with quote

Hi everybody,

I had the same problem, updating my 3.1 to 3.1.1.

I made these steps:
- I loged in without X
- cd /etc/env.d
- rm 50kdedir-3.0.4 and rm 65kdelibs-3.0.4
- rm -R -f /home/user/.kde*
- init 6

After the reboot, everything worked fine. Of course, I have lost my persional settings, but I can stand this.

Ciao,
Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gilles
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 10:23 am    Post subject: Re: Now it works! Reply with quote

robux wrote:
Hi everybody,

I had the same problem, updating my 3.1 to 3.1.1.

I made these steps:
- I loged in without X
- cd /etc/env.d
- rm 50kdedir-3.0.4 and rm 65kdelibs-3.0.4
- rm -R -f /home/user/.kde*
- init 6

After the reboot, everything worked fine. Of course, I have lost my persional settings, but I can stand this.

Ciao,
Rob


Did you delete the files (99kde...,65kde... ) of kde 3.1.1 in the directory /etc/env.d/ ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danarmak
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Apr 2002
Posts: 23
Location: Matan, Israel

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 6:02 pm    Post subject: bug report to handle this Reply with quote

I'm discussing this issue(s) at http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=17938, please test my suggestions and respond there. (I prefer bugzilla to the forums.)
_________________
Dan Armak
Gentoo Linux developer (KDE)
Matan, Israel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gilles
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot, everything runs well now .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snorkel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Milwaukee, WI

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 8:36 pm    Post subject: Re: bug report to handle this Reply with quote

running a env-update fixed it for me.
I had 3.05a install along with 3.1 and after updating to 3.1.1 the 3.05a splash screen would apear when starting 3.1.1 and nothing would run.
I removed the files from env.d and then did a env-update and then the 3.1.1 splash screen appeared and the control panel reported the version as 3.1.1 :-)

danarmak wrote:
I'm discussing this issue(s) at http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=17938, please test my suggestions and respond there. (I prefer bugzilla to the forums.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vibidoo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2002
Posts: 394

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hip hip hip hourrrrrrrrrrrrraaaaaaaaaaa

env-update

works for me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum