Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 1]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 22, 23, 24  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cybermatthieu
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 6:38 pm    Post subject: Re: grub error collection Reply with quote

Hi, I'm having a hard time with installing grub... I get error 15 and when I check the /boot (with "cd /boot; ls") I don't see a thing (only boot,grub and lost+found)! I did compile the kernel but it's not showing a link in the /boot directory.
I tried "ln -s ./ boot" and it gives me "ls: '/boot/.' : canot overright directory.
I'm going insane here!!
thx
idoneus wrote:
[mod edit] stuck -- pilla[/mod edit]

[*]Grub error 15
After hitting return in the grub prompt you get something similar to this one?
Code:
Booting 'gentoo Linux'

root (hd0,0)
Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/kernel-2.4.20 root=/dev/hda3 vga=792

Error 15: File not found
Press any key to continue...
info grub wrote:
15 : File not found
This error is returned if the specified file name cannot be found, but everything else (like the disk/partition info) is OK.

If it's the kernel that it's missing (bzImage, kernel...):make sure that the file it is referring to exists on your boot partition.

To find out what the exact name of your kernel is, first boot from the live-cd or into your existing linux installation. Then mount /boot if you've got a seperate partition, or mount / if you don't. Then do the following:
Code:
cd /boot
ls
This will list all the kernels that you've got on your boot partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7751
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After compiling the kernel, you have to copy it from /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage to /boot (and rename it the way you like). Mount /boot before doing that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grimdonkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Cluj, Romania

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have not seen my problem in all 10 pages... I used only linux for a while and then decided to install win2000 on a spare partition that i've kept for this purpose (hd0,0). So I booted the CD, first step of the install done and reboot. It did not rewrite the MBR like XP does, but when trying to boot it, no error message is prompted and the grub console appears. (I use rootnoverify (hd0, 0) chainloader +1). Installation was not finished but it still has to boot, doesn't it?

Tried with grub 0.94-r1 and 0.93... and i got the same results. Frustrating.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 11:45 pm    Post subject: Error 18 Reply with quote

You can read more about my problem here.

I cannot get GRUB to load anything. I do not believe that I have to move the boot partition to the front of the drive.

Someone please help.

Matt aka Frustrated[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7751
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@grimdonkey: Yes, it should work - can you post your grub.conf?

@Butts: As you probably found out before, error 18 means
Code:

18 : Selected cylinder exceeds maximum supported by BIOS
     This error is returned when a read is attempted at a linear block
     address beyond the end of the BIOS translated area. This generally
     happens if your disk is larger than the BIOS can handle (512MB for
     (E)IDE disks on older machines or larger than 8GB in general).

I'm no real expert on this, but did you look for a BIOS update, changed disk access mode to LBA, tried lilo? Moving the boot partition to the front of the drive should solve it, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joffer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2002
Posts: 585
Location: Arendal, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 1:46 pm    Post subject: Re: grub error collection Reply with quote

This was more or less what problem I had:
idoneus wrote:
Cannnot open root device "hdaX"
Are you getting something like this error?
Code:
VFS: Cannot open root device "hda7" or 03:07
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel Panic: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on 03:07
Make sure your grub.conf reads two times the same (hd0,X) entry. like
Code:
root(hd0,1)
kernel (hd0,1)...

nephros told me a few more possible reasons for this problem:
nephros wrote:
From my expierience, this is 80% of the time caused by an incorrectly configured kernel, specificly either:

    [+]IDE chipset (or SCSI controller) support not compiled or compiled as a module (and no initrd).
    [+]filesystem support used on root partition not compiled or compiled as a module (and no initrd).
    [+]support for MSDOS partition tables not compiled (CONFIG_PARTITION_ADVANCED -> CONFIG_MSDOS_PARTITION)(it happened!)


On fresh installs it's often caused by not having edited /etc/fstab during the install process, and it still contains lines like "/dev/ROOT / ext2 defaults,noatime 0 0".

Solution for both kinds is obviously rebooting the LiveCD or, in the former case, just a sane kernel and fix the configs.



Now, what made my system barf was I had activated ADVANCED PARTITION (but no actuall partitions was compiled in - like CONFIG_MSDOS_PARTITION). This barfed my boot. It didn't help to have CONFIG_MSDOS_PARTITION compiled in either. Then I removed the entire option from my kernel and it worked just fine :)
Code:
cat .config | grep PARTITION
# CONFIG_PARTITION_ADVANCED is not set
CONFIG_MSDOS_PARTITION=y

Why MSDOS_PARTITION is set to 'y' I don't know though..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mmmsoap
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 13
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:07 am    Post subject: Error 18! (Please help!) Reply with quote

I'm getting the dreaded error 18, and I can't boot!!

I have an 8GB drive with Win2k, and an 80GB drive that I repartitioned. Because there was a 32GB data partition that I didn't want to lose, I had to do some funky partitioning. The first time I tried the install, /boot was physical partition hdb1, although it was located near the end of the drive.

I got error 18, which I discovered is grub telling me it barfs on itself if /boot is not near the beginning.

So, I restructured the partitioning scheme, and reinstalled. This time, /boot is hdb7, and it's physically at the beginning of the drive, but it is now a logical partition instead of a physical one.

Unfortunately, I continue to get the dreaded error 18.

Code:

livecd root # fdisk -l
 
Disk /dev/hda: 8622 MB, 8622931968 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1048 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
 
   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *           1        1049     8420800+   7  HPFS/NTFS
 
Disk /dev/hdb: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 155061 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes
 
   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hdb1          133713      155061    10759896   83  Linux
/dev/hdb4               1      133712    67390816+   f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hdb5           66158      133712    34047688+   b  W95 FAT32
/dev/hdb6           29066       66157    18694336+   b  W95 FAT32
/dev/hdb7               1          63       31689   83  Linux
/dev/hdb8              64        1056      500440+  82  Linux swap
/dev/hdb9            1057       29065    14116504+  83  Linux
 
Partition table entries are not in disk order


And here's my grub.conf
Code:

# grub.conf
                                                                               
default 0
                                                                               
# How many seconds to wait before the default listing is booted
timeout 30
                                                                               
# splash image
splashimage=(hd1,6)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
                                                                               
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.7-gentoo-r12
root (hd1,6)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.7-gentoo-r12 root=/dev/hdb9 vga=792
                                                                               
title=Windows 2000
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1
                                                                               


Any ideas? If my only solution is to totally repartition the drive, I can do that (I just will end up waiting a couple of weeks until I have a spare drive to back up my data.) But if anyone can come up with an idea that *doesn't* involve me tossing the FAT32 partition, I'd be grateful!!!

Thanks
mmmsoap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mmmsoap
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 13
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 10:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Error 18! (Please help!) Reply with quote

Okay, interesting update:

I've managed to install GRUB so that i'ts able to show a grub> prompt at boot. However, it cannot "see" anything on my hd1 (a.k.a. /dev/hdb).

When I boot from the CD, chroot, and then run grub, it sees everything just fine.

Anyone have any insight?

Thanks
mmmsoap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karl Sand
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 10:27 pm    Post subject: Another strange issue concerning Grub Reply with quote

Hi,
Here is another problem with grub that didnt appear on this thread yet:
I have a working grub-configuration for a dualboot-system.
On hda1 and hda2 i have Windoze partitions and hda3 up to hda6
are my linux partitions. Everything works perfectly, in the menu
i can choose between Xp or Gentoo and both systems are booted correctly.
After switching to a newer kernel 2.6.7 i wanted to add a third entry
to my boot-menu, that i have the possibilty to choose between old and new
kernel. This is where things are getting strange. After adding the new entry
my grub.conf looks the following:
Code:

# By default, boot the first entry.
default 0

splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash2.xpm.gz

# For booting GNU/Hurd
title  Gentoo Linux Kernel-2.6.4-rc1
root   (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-2.6.4-rc1 root=/dev/hda6

# For booting new Kernel
titel Gentoo Linux Kernel-2.6.7-r14
root  (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-2.6.7-gentoo-r14 root=/dev/hda6

# For booting Windows NT or Windows95
title Stinky WinDoze
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader  +1


When i reboot the menu appears but it contains only the two old entries
and not the third one i added. But when i select the first entry (my old
kernel 2.6.4-rc1) the new kernel 2.6.7 is booted instead. When i remove
the new entry from grub.conf, my old kernel boots normally when selected.
I have no answer for this strange behaviour. Some additional information:
Under /boot/grub i have all kernel-files i reference to in grub.conf.
Also i have a menu.lst symbolically linked to grub.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mmmsoap
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 13
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 1:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Another strange issue concerning Grub Reply with quote

This one's simple, you just needed an extra pair of eyes.

Karl Sand wrote:
This is where things are getting strange. After adding the new entry
my grub.conf looks the following:
Code:

# By default, boot the first entry.
default 0

splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash2.xpm.gz

# For booting GNU/Hurd
title  Gentoo Linux Kernel-2.6.4-rc1
root   (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-2.6.4-rc1 root=/dev/hda6

# For booting new Kernel
titel Gentoo Linux Kernel-2.6.7-r14
root  (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-2.6.7-gentoo-r14 root=/dev/hda6

# For booting Windows NT or Windows95
title Stinky WinDoze
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader  +1


Under /boot/grub i have all kernel-files i reference to in grub.conf.
Also i have a menu.lst symbolically linked to grub.conf.


You've got a typo in your grub.conf. For kernel 2.6.7-r14, it should be title but you've got it as "titel".

Hope that helps
mmmsoap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thunderlove
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 76
Location: Sitting on a stool somewhere in southern oregon

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick hint to those trying to boot from /dev/hdb -- this works for me:

/dev/hdb2 == /boot
/dev/hdb4 == /

Code:
grub> root (hd1,1)
grub> setup (hd1)
grub> quit


Code:
timeout 30
default 0
splashimage=(hd0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title   Linux
root    (hd0,1)
kernel  /kernel-2.6.8-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/hdb4 vesafb=795


The important thing to note is the (hd0,1) in the config file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheClone
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got a problem calling "grub-install". When i call it, the following message appears
Code:

Could not find device for /boot/boot: Not found of not a block device


My hda is paraioned as follows:
1: WinXP (ntfs)
2: swap
3: boot (ext2)
4: root (reiserfs)

my /boot directory has the following content:
Code:

System.map-2.6.8.1
boot -> .
grub
kernel-2.6.8.1
lost+found


Extract from grub.conf:
Code:

timeout 30
default 0
title Gentoo Linux 2.6.8.1
root (hd0.2)
kernel (hd0,2)/kernel-2.6.8.1 root=/dev/hda4


somewhere further down there are additional instructions for booting WinXP.

I already tried to call "grub" and enter
Code:

root (hd0,2)
setup (hd0)

Which should install grub to the MBR of hda (as I learned in this thread) and there where no errors thrown. But when I rebooted at any point of trying, WinXP boots as if nothing has happened.

Can any of you help? Would be fine, since i don't want to set up Debian again, that gave quite some problems. By the way, the mashine is a Toshiba Satellite, if that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7751
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheClone wrote:
I got a problem calling "grub-install". When i call it, the following message appears
Code:

Could not find device for /boot/boot: Not found of not a block device


Did you forget this one?
Code:

Code Listing 6: Updating /etc/mtab
# cp /proc/mounts /etc/mtab

See [1], [2], [3] for details.

Quote:

Extract from grub.conf:
Code:

timeout 30
default 0
title Gentoo Linux 2.6.8.1
root (hd0.2)

[...]

root (hd0.2) is root (hd0,2) in your grub.conf, I guess.

Quote:

I already tried to call "grub" and enter
Code:

root (hd0,2)
setup (hd0)

Which should install grub to the MBR of hda (as I learned in this thread) and there where no errors thrown. But when I rebooted at any point of trying, WinXP boots as if nothing has happened.

Shouldn't happen, I don't know what went wrong though. First try to re-run the grub-install. You'll find instructions on how to do it at [4].

[1] http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=10#doc_chap2
[2] http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/bug-grub/2004-04/msg00044.html
[3] http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/bug-grub/2004-04/msg00045.html
[4] http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-tipsntricks.xml#recover
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheClone
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, i did it. grub-install works. The problem was i read "mstab" instead of "mtab" ;) Quite stupid though.. :-/ But thanks for the help and for this thread :)

Now hes restarting during boot, a few moments after the Grub menu, but that'll be a different topic i think (maybe this is the wrong "mstab"?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7751
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2004 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mtab is calculated dynamically, so it won't be a problem.

Are you sure you selected the right processor in kernel configuration? This is the most common reason for immediate reboots.
Another possibility are problems with acpi/apm/apic. Try to boot with "noacpi noapm noapic" as additional kernel parameters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Klax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thx for the tip Hefelumpman.
Using only boot and kernel solve my problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
To
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Apr 2003
Posts: 1145
Location: Coimbra, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just had an problem with error 22 yesterday.
Finally I realised that by some wierd error while trying to setup grub on hd0 it sets it up on hd1.... don't ask me why, BIOS problably...



_________________

------------------------------------------------
Linux Gandalf 3.2.35-grsec
Gentoo Base System version 2.2
------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheClone
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, that helped a bit. Thx a lot :) since I checked the grub.conf Windows is booting too. I think some reseach on kernels for Toshiba loptops will help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r00d00
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 3:08 pm    Post subject: During install hd2 after install hd3, why? Reply with quote

When I boot from LiveCD and complete the install procedure grub identifies hd2 as the disk I wish to boot from (sda1 in system layout below), but when I boot it then appears to believe hd3 is this disk. Anyone any ideas why and how I can resolve this?

So from liveCD in grub if I do geometry hd2 i get the info for sda and geometry for hd3 is sdb, so i completed set-up on hd2 and this correctly installs.

When I boot if grub.conf reffers to hd2 I always get Error 17 : Cannot mount selected partition

If I change grub.conf to hd3 then I get Error 15 cannot : File not found when its looking for the kernel? I know this is a problem but figure if I can fix the disk Id's it may help with fixing the file not found issue.

Any help really appreciated, I've been looking for an answer for days.


System

ide 0 windows disk
ide 1 windows disk

scsi 0 sda
sda1 64M /boot
sda2 1024M /swap
sda3 raid0 to make up /dev/md0 for /

scsi 1 sdb
sdb1 64M nothing
sdb2 1024M /swap2
sdb3 raid0 to make up /dev/md0 for /
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ibis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Location: Ventura, CA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 11:14 pm    Post subject: After upgrading grub you only get a grub prompt: addition Reply with quote

consider adding additional solution to:
After upgrading grub you only get a grub prompt section
as follows:
Try restoring the /boot/boot symlink
Code:
# cd /boot
# ln -s ./ boot

And then run grub-install again
Code:
# grub-install --root-directory=/boot /dev/hda
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pharaoh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 211
Location: Spring City, PA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I skimmed this quickly and didn't see my problem listed, so I just wanted to note that if you don't have a floppy drive connected and you don't run grub with the --no-floppy, it'll just hang forever. My newb self wasted time thinking I had done something really wrong 8O

Great list though!!
_________________
Intel Core i7 860 Processor 2.80 GHz 8 MB LGA1156
Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3 rev2.0
MSI Radeon HD7850 2GB GDDR5
8GB DDR3 1600 CL8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
palu15
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to install Gentoo on my old K6-3 400, with a AHA 2940UW Scsi controller; the situation is the following
-sda 4 Gb Hd so partitioned:
/dev/sda1 ~100Mb ext3 /boot
/dev/sda2 extended partition
/dev/sda5 swap
/dev/sda6 swap
/dev/sda7 swap
/dev/sda8 /root 3Gb
-sdb 2Gb
/dev/sdb1 Fat 32

I cannot boot my system neither with Grub nor with LILO; I got the boot prompt but when I push return button my system restarts....
This was my Grub setting:
Code:

root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.4.26-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/sda7

I compiled the kernel with SCSI support and my controller support, copied my files as in gentoo handbook.
When I install LILO the system warns me that I switched on my devfs device but I don't mount it; have I got to mount in my /etc/fstab?? Maybe is it responsable for my problems??
I also verified my Disks are recognized in the order I told before during install and during my boot.
Please Help...
_________________
From Slackware 2 Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7751
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let's see if I got you right:
You installed grub but it didn't boot your system, instead an immediate reboot happened.
You called lilo to install lilo, but it didn't install because of an devfs related error.
If this is right, first check/repair your kernel config [1] [2]:
Code:

Code Listing 7: Selecting correct processor family
Processor type and features --->
  (Change according to your system)
  (K6/K6-II/K6-III) Processor family

If this doesn't help, boot with "noacpi noapm noapic" as additional kernel parameters (wait for grub screen, hit "c" and append them in kernel... line)

[1] http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=7#doc_chap3
[2] http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-tipsntricks.xml#doc_chap4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
palu15
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Earthwings wrote:
You installed grub but it didn't boot your system, instead an immediate reboot happened.

Right, I already checked my CPU type before compiling the kernel and it is (K6/K6-II/K6-III) Processor family.

Earthwings wrote:

You called lilo to install lilo, but it didn't install because of an devfs related error.

Not completly right: I'm able to install lilo but it gives me a warning about devfs; when i boot as soon as I hit return Button the PC restarts.
I tried also to compile my kernel without acpi and Power management options but nothing changes
_________________
From Slackware 2 Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aequitas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Aug 2002
Posts: 190
Location: Ooy bij arnhem

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recently moved my root and boot from a smal to a bigger disk.

Now when booting from that disk grub hangs on Loading grub please wait.
And after a while it comes up with: Error 25
Without the disk failure text!

My HD setup is folowing:

Code:

HDA (home directorys):
hda1 (homes reiserfs)

HDB(old disk):
hdb1 (boot ext2)
hdb2 (root reiserfs)
hdb3 (swap)

HDC (cdrom drive)

HDD (new disk):
hdd1 (boot ext2)
hdd2 (root ext3)
hdd3 (raid mirror homes)
hdd5 (spare disk)


I ran with grub:
-> root (hd2,0)
-> setup (hd2)

With no errors, so the mbr of HDD should contain the right grub startup stuff.
Still it does not boot of this disk.

When I boot from HDB (old disk) and edit the default entry to this:
Code:

root (hd2,0)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/hdd2 vga=791

The system boots from the new disk without a problem.

I reformatted the hdd1 partition ext2 again en installed grub with CFLAGS="" but it didn't change a thing.

Can anyone tell me what is wrong or what i am i doing wrong to get this working again?
I now have a work arround for now but i would like to have this problem solved so i can remove the old disk.
_________________
I am not superstitious, that brings bad luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 22, 23, 24  Next
Page 10 of 24

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum