Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Request: Testers for ARM netboot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 5:11 am    Post subject: Request: Testers for ARM netboot Reply with quote

i've posted a nfsboot image for ARM that i'd like feedback on

currently i can only test it on netwinders, but if people have other input/docs, i'd like to hear :)
most likely i need to enable more things in the kernel ...

on to the goods !
http://dev.gentoo.org/~vapier/arm/
http://dev.gentoo.org/~vapier/arm/README
http://dev.gentoo.org/~vapier/arm/nfsroot.tar.bz2
http://dev.gentoo.org/~vapier/arm/vmlinux.bz2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
here i assume:
unpacked files are in /mnt/netboot


Do you just mean the nfsroot.tar.bz2 and vmlinuz.bz2 files, or the whole stage 1?

If the former and everything works (see how much confidence I have in you?) what is the next steps? just follow std install?

Thanks

MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrSums wrote:
Quote:
here i assume:
unpacked files are in /mnt/netboot


Do you just mean the nfsroot.tar.bz2 and vmlinuz.bz2 files, or the whole stage 1?


just nfsroot/vmlinuz ... i'd be silly to unpack the stages in the nfsroot :)

you need the stage files unpacked in the location the machine will be booting from in the future ... in this case, the netwinders have harddrives so you unpack the stages onto that

MrSums wrote:
If the former and everything works (see how much confidence I have in you?) what is the next steps? just follow std install?


pretty much ... fdisk your drive, unpack stage files, configure, run Gentoo :)

Thanks

MrSums[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tester #1 reporting ....

Machine=Netwinder. Partial success only at this stage. This is the bootup message:

Quote:

IP-Config: Complete:
bootserver=192.168.1.6, rootserver=192.168.1.6, rootpath=
Root-NFS: Unable to get nfsd port number from server, using default
Looking up port of RPC 1000005/1 on 192.168.1.6
Root-NFS: unable to get mountd port number from server, using default
mount: server 192.168.1.6 not responding, timed out
Root-NFS: Server returned error -5 while mounting /mnt/netboot/nfsroot
VFS: Unable to mount root fs via NFS, trying floppy


It seems pretty clear what is wrong, but I'm not sure what the fix is. Does /mnt/netboot/nfsroot need to be in /etc/exports ?

Kind regds

MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, my fault - nfs wasn't even running on the server. All ok now as it boots just fine. Let you know how it goes

MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't seem to access the 'net - I think it may be because I have to set up a gateway in the eth1 config. Is this a "setenv" command?

Any ideas?

Thanks
MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

once you boot up, you'll have to setup your dns / routing information ... i didnt look into the firmware to see if you can do it there ...

just run:
route add default gw 192.168.0.1
then edit /etc/resolv.conf and add:
nameserver 192.168.0.1

that is of course, assuming your gateway and dns server is 192.168.0.1 :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brilliant. All ok and current emerge sync-ing

Can you provide your make.conf and kernel-specific options? and finally (at least for now) what do I re-set the setenv options to to boot direct from the new kernel, it is just

setenv kerndev /dev/hda1
setenv rootdev /dev/hda3

Thanks a million, I am so pleased to be getting this to work

MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrSums wrote:
Can you provide your make.conf


the included make.conf should have all the netwinder-specific info you need ... just merge those settings with make.conf.example to get your final make.conf :)

MrSums wrote:
and kernel-specific options?


just `emerge development-sources` and select the netwinder as your machine

MrSums wrote:
what do I re-set the setenv options to to boot direct from the new kernel, it is just


just reset your network, kernel, and root config ... i forget the exact var names / settings (i moved my netwinders a few days and dont have local access to them atm), but you can always try `load-defaults` ...

i'll try to update the handbook to cover netwinder/arm stuff once i figure out where i put the new details :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when I try to emerge anything I get:

Quote:

ACCESS DENIED: open_wr: .dev.console
ACCESS DENIED: open_wr: .dev.console


then it unpacks the source and I get
Quote:

-------- ACCESS VIOLATION SUMMARY -----------
LOG FILE = "tmp/sandbox-sys-apps-_-module etc etc .log"
ACCESS DENIED: open_wr: .dev.console
ACCESS DENIED: open_wr: .dev.console


btw I started with stage3

MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrSums wrote:
when I try to emerge anything I get:
Quote:

ACCESS DENIED: open_wr: .dev.console
ACCESS DENIED: open_wr: .dev.console


you have two choices ...

either ssh into the machine and emerge stuff or edit ebuild.sh, find the line that looks like this:
export SANDBOX_WRITE= ............
and add '/dev/console' to the : seperated list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks again. ssh seems to be working ok, altering the ebuild.sh file didn't work, I used the one in
/usr/lib/portage/bin
is there another somewhere else?

MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
surrealillusion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got my Netwinder (picked it up last week for $30 CDN) up to booting but it complains about not having devfsd. I can't emerge devfsd as it is masked and there are no ports for it. Is devfsd required for the installation? I'll be writing up an installation how-to once I get it completely set up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Absolutely stuck now on the kernel compilation. Does anyone have any hints for processor type, networking etc ? There seem to be loads or ARM-options in the processor

Thanks

MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
surrealillusion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With the kernel configuration what you can do is load the default config file set up for netwinders.

It should be under arch/arm/configs/netwinder_defconfig. Load that up and don't forget to add in support for your filesystems ... everything else is more or less set up for you.

What I'm trying to figure out right now is whether or not devfs is needed for the arm architecture because when i use the gentoo handbook for kernel configuration, upon restarting the kernel loads fine until it gets to devfsd because the package was masked (there's no port for it on the portage tree).

I'm hoping someone here can help me out with that last part and hopefully I'll have a running system by tonight to mess around with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

surrealillusion wrote:
it complains about not having devfsd


use udev since everything is 2.6 based
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Getting there - two questions:
1. trying to emerge various programs (vixie-cron being one) I get
Quote:

arm-netboot bin # emerge -p vixie-cron

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies
!!! all ebuilds that could satisfy "vixie-cron" have been masked.
!!! possible candidates are:
- sys-apps/vixie-cron-3.0.1-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)

On looking at the make.globals file there are no standard USE options set. Should I just use the standard ones (but replacing x86 with arm?)

2. the nfs route seems to work just fine, but how do I reboot on completion? init 0 just comes up with a helpline, but no action

MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrSums wrote:
1. trying to emerge various programs (vixie-cron being one)


the only packages with arm in KEYWORDS are what i use :)

if you want more packages added, then follow these steps (here's an example with vixie-cron):
mkdir -p /etc/portage
echo "sys-apps/vixie-cron arm" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge sys-apps/vixie-cron
<send arm@gentoo.org an e-mail requesting that the arm KEYWORD be added to sys-apps/vixie-cron>

as i get e-mails, i'll add arm to KEYWORDS for packages

MrSums wrote:
On looking at the make.globals file there are no standard USE options set. Should I just use the standard ones (but replacing x86 with arm?)


no ... i dont know about you, but my make.globals doesnt define a default USE ...
the make.profile/make.defaults file does define a default USE and on arm, the default USE is pretty slim ... this is supposed to be embedded remember :)

MrSums wrote:
2. the nfs route seems to work just fine, but how do I reboot on completion? init 0 just comes up with a helpline, but no action


just run `reboot` :)

might be too late now, but here's a few tips about the netwinder:
the partition that holds the kernel cannot be ext3 or you will experience problems down the road ... the nettrom firmware cant read ext3 partitions that havent been unmounted cleanly ...

partition your system like this:
/dev/hda1 ext2 /boot (~50 meg is plenty)
/dev/hda2 swap (~256 meg is plenty)
/dev/hda3 ext3 / (all the rest of your space)

then you tell the firmware to find the kernel on your /dev/hda1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
surrealillusion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 3:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops I went ahead and built my /boot partition as ext3 .. oh well ... I hope that my system won't get hosed for a while then 8O . I managed to get it all working and will probably work on the setup-howto this weekend. I'm in the middle of emerging apps but I'm finding some hard to find. Is there a console based program to play or stream mp3's? I've read that mpg123 supports arm but there is no package nor can I find the specific patch for it. Compiling from source just gives me errors currently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

surrealillusion wrote:
Oops I went ahead and built my /boot partition as ext3


easy to fix ... as long as you have a sep partition :)
just run this (assuming /dev/hda1 is your /boot):
umount /boot
tune2fs -O ^has_journal /dev/hda1
fsck /dev/hda1
mount /boot

surrealillusion wrote:
will probably work on the setup-howto this weekend.


i've started adapting the handbook for arm specific stuff ... i'd suggest adapting the raw .xml files and e-mailing to me them if you get a chance :)
http://www.gentoo.org/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/en/handbook/?root=doc
i've already written a draft hb-install-arm-medium.xml, i just need to adapt the following files:
hb-install-alpha-bootloader.xml
hb-install-alpha-disk.xml
hb-install-alpha-kernel.xml

surrealillusion wrote:
Is there a console based program to play or stream mp3's?


try media-sound/mp3blaster ... i havent KEYWORD-ed it arm, but i use it on my x86/ppc and it works great ... seems pretty cross-architecture friendly ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SpanKY wrote:

if you want more packages added, then follow these steps (here's an example with vixie-cron):
mkdir -p /etc/portage
echo "sys-apps/vixie-cron arm" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge sys-apps/vixie-cron

Sorry, no change, same result as before. I have checked and the package.keywords is in the right place and has the line (properly spelled). I tried it with "vi" too, but no luck their either.

MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for being quite so dense on this. I copied the vmlinux file to /boot in order to test my (osonearly) working Netwinder. All boots up just fine, but on trying to login I get
Quote:

genwinder login: root
login: PAM failure, aborting: Critical error - immediate abort


what have I missed ?

MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrSums wrote:
SpanKY wrote:

if you want more packages added, then follow these steps (here's an example with vixie-cron):
mkdir -p /etc/portage
echo "sys-apps/vixie-cron arm" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge sys-apps/vixie-cron

Sorry, no change, same result as before. I have checked and the package.keywords is in the right place and has the line (properly spelled). I tried it with "vi" too, but no luck their either.


err i got that wrong
sys-apps/vixie-cron x86
that is what you want to add to the file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrSums wrote:
but on trying to login I get
Quote:

genwinder login: root
login: PAM failure, aborting: Critical error - immediate abort


what have I missed ?


try putting 'pam' into your USE in make.conf and then running this:
emerge shadow pam-login

that should fix you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrSums
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 283
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SpanKY wrote:

try putting 'pam' into your USE in make.conf and then running this:
emerge shadow pam-login

that should fix you


According to emerge, I already have both shadow and pam-login installed. Do I need to put in something via rc-update, or just try re-emerging.

The "x86" keyword seems to be working. Could you just explain why?

Thanks

MrSums
_________________
If you dont ask, you wont get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum