Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing Gentoo With Slackware Floppies
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
staked
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jan 2003
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2003 2:11 pm    Post subject: Installing Gentoo With Slackware Floppies Reply with quote

So, as most of us without access to a cdrom know, installing Gentoo without one takes a few extra steps. And with the toms boot floopy no longer an option that leaves us looking for another method. And as I've just done an install with the Slackware 8.1 floppies I've decided to whip up a little document for what I did. And as the Slack floppies offer pretty much everything you need I think they're a pretty good choice.

What you'll need:

7, yes 7, floppy disks.
The appropriate Slackware images. I used bare.i for my boot disk, you'll need to pick the appropriate one for your hardware. IE, xfs.i for xfs support, or the various SCSI hardware disks. The 5 rootdisks (install.1, install.2, etc). The network rootdisk. And, if you need pcmcia during the install, the pcmcia rootdisk.

To format the disks in Linux it's:
Code:

dd if=<image> of=<your floppy drive>
Windows:
rawrite <image> A:




So now you've booted with your floppies. Just type root to log in. From here you can use fdisk to setup your partitions as needed. I'm not going to go into that here as that's covered in the basic Gentoo install doc.

Now you need network access. Do the following:

Code:

# network


It will prompt you to put in the network floppy. Go ahead and let it probe for your card.

Then, so you can access the net, do:

Code:


# ifconfig $IFACE $IPNUM broadcast $BCAST netmask $NMASK
# /sbin/route add -net default gw $GTWAY netmask 0.0.0.0 metric 1


If you need DNS to wget your stage tarball do:

Code:


# vi /etc/resolv.conf
nameserver <ip address>
:wq


Now mount your partitions as instructed in the Gentoo install doc. Then:

Code:

# cd /mnt/gentoo
# wget http://<gentoo mirror>/<whatever stage you want>
# wget ftp://sources.redhat.com/pub/bzip2/v102/bzip2-102-x86-linux24


That second wget grabs you a static bzip2 binary. Which you need since the Slack floppies don't have bzip2.

Your last step that differs from the regular install docs is untarring the tarball. You need to do:

Code:


# chmod +x bzip2-102-x86-linux24
# ./bzip2-102-x86-linux24 -d <stage>
# tar -xvpf <stage>


Now start at step 9, ignoring the part about untarring your stage, and you're good to go.

Any comments, quetions, etc, please feel free to post them.


Last edited by staked on Mon Feb 03, 2003 5:58 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heijs
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jun 2002
Posts: 174
Location: Groningen

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2003 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shouldn't the last step be
Code:

# tar -xvjpf <tarball>

:wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zawze
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2002
Posts: 17
Location: Tau, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2003 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

heijs:
Quote:
This is the part that may make things hard for folks. The slack floppies have no bzip2 support. So you'll need to download, before the install, the stage you want to use. Unbzip it, gzip it and stick it up on a web server where you can grab it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
staked
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jan 2003
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, latexer from #gentoo pointed out what should have been obvious to me from the start. Grabbing a static bzip2 binary so you don't need to worry about gzipping the stage. The mini-howto has been reflected to show the new method.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azambuja
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 257
Location: Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, everything fine...
but how about people that have to configure the network with dhcpd?
im one of them :D

thanx/cheers
_________________
"Slip inside the eye of your mind, don't you know you might find, a better place to play"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
edge3281
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 11:31 pm    Post subject: Re: Installing Gentoo With Slackware Floppies Reply with quote

staked wrote:
And with the toms boot floopy no longer an option that leaves us looking for another method.

Why is toms boot floppy no longer an option? I install about 6 months ago using toms boot floppy. Just wondering what is up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
azambuja
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 257
Location: Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2003 8:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Installing Gentoo With Slackware Floppies Reply with quote

edge3281 wrote:
staked wrote:
And with the toms boot floopy no longer an option that leaves us looking for another method.

Why is toms boot floppy no longer an option? I install about 6 months ago using toms boot floppy. Just wondering what is up.


the problem with the toms boot floppy is that the kernel is too old.

btw, any solution to the ones(yeah, me) that need dhcp to install with the slack boot floppies?

thanx/cheers
_________________
"Slip inside the eye of your mind, don't you know you might find, a better place to play"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2003 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, let's say I can't get the network up, but I can get the cd mounted. Is there a way to start the CD install process instead of the network install process? I'm finding it isn't as simple as chroot'ing.
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3vilinside
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2003
Posts: 56
Location: Graz, Austria

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2003 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

heijs wrote:
Shouldn't the last step be
Code:

# tar -xvjpf <tarball>

:wink:


no, since I've successfully "untared" the stage without the -j option. tar will give you an error saying that the -j option is invalid for this command. Maybe something is different with my setup (I've installed with slackware boot disks) but AFAIK it does not work with the -j tag.
_________________
"To err lies in the nature of humans, but to really fool things up you need a computer"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fatChance
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2003 11:07 pm    Post subject: why 7 Reply with quote

hey noob question I count at most you need is 6 disks , why 7?

bare.i
install.1
install.2
rescue.dsk
pcmcia.dsk
network.dsk

am I missing something?
-fat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
`Lucas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2004 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it can be usefull to someone, I've been using btmgr from:

http://btmgr.sourceforge.net/

So you can boot using this floppy and you'll be able to tell it to boot the Gentoo CD on older computer with a BIOS that won't let you boot from the CD-Rom.

-Luc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mycroes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 110
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:48 pm    Post subject: Disks Reply with quote

Just to let everybody know it works with newer versions too: I am currently installing Gentoo with the 9.1 floppies. The disks I used are:
bare.i
install.1
install.2
network.dsk

The rescue disk may be enough for it all, but I doubt if it has network support (haven't tried it yet)... Anyway, thanks for the little piece on installing from floppy, as my cd-drive doesn't work when support for its chipset is enabled, thus I can't install from any cd which I boot with a kernel with support for it...
Greetings,

Michael
_________________
In a world without walls or fences we don't need windows or gates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mudrii
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to make Gentoo Floppy if is option or why not have Gentoo Boot floopy :-(
_________________
www.gentoo.ro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bollenator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 44
Location: WA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 11:37 pm    Post subject: Re: Installing Gentoo With Slackware Floppies Reply with quote

azambuja wrote:
btw, any solution to the ones(yeah, me) that need dhcp to install with the slack boot floppies?

Good question; I'm thinking of installing on a really old Toshiba laptop with no CD and I'll need to do it on a DHCP network. How do I get that set up? Also, how do I make sure I have PCMCIA support before I start the network stuff (I have a PC-card NIC). Thanks!
_________________
Bollenator

"This one's a mystery, wrapped in an enigma, baked in a conundrum, splashed with brain-twisters, diced, and served cold on a riddle roll with secret sauce."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mycroes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 110
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 6:09 pm    Post subject: PCMCIA and DHCP Reply with quote

I think dhcp is just a matter of passing the right params to the networking setup program, and in the worst case you need to use a static ip on your dhcp network, that tends to work most times. My dhcp server only gives ips in the 192.168.0.2 - 192.168.0.51 range, so I use 52 and up for static ips. To use pcmcia use the pcmcia floppy, if you can't get it to work ask the slackware community how you can get it to work, they probably do know...
Greetings,

Michael
_________________
In a world without walls or fences we don't need windows or gates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PowerFactor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 1693
Location: out of it

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 4:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Disks Reply with quote

mycroes wrote:

The rescue disk may be enough for it all, but I doubt if it has network support (haven't tried it yet)...

The rescue disk does have all the network tools but you still need network.dsk for the drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dinosys
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cheers mate :)
This helped a lot ;)
_________________
<- Dinosys ->
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pseudonym
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

heijs wrote:
Shouldn't the last step be
Code:

# tar -xvjpf <tarball>

:wink:


No, the -j option means "filter through bzip2" which isn't necessary, since the previous command uncompressed it (and doesn't work because tar can't find the bzip2 we installed).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum