Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde oxygen style resets without a reason
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
_artem_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 1:48 pm    Post subject: kde oxygen style resets without a reason Reply with quote

hi there :)

I have a very annoying issue. don't know since when I got this. oxygen looks very crappy, the only way to fix it, is to reapply oxygen widget style. BUT it helps only for all opened applications, when I open another one, it looks again awful
I have already killed .kde and .kde4 folders. relogged in, theme was set to default as expected (I used a custom theme). but issue is still there. I don't know who's causing it. any ideas?

crapped styles window: http://i.imgur.com/JaMmIhI.png
reapplied oxygen style: http://i.imgur.com/J8tWbmQ.png
opened new application (new one is crapped): http://i.imgur.com/OL429cD.png
reapplied oxygen style again: http://i.imgur.com/nvXlM6v.png

any help? 100% it's not the local kde config ( ~/.kde4 ) because I killed the whole directory, relogged in, it was recreated with default settings but problem is still there

another issue (I think it's related to this one) - context menu items: only every second is highlighted when mouse cursor is over. it's in absolutely every app. when begin from bottom - quit is highlighted, second from bottom isn't, third is again highlighted when mouse is over
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_artem_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the awful dark crap look was caused by qtcurve. it just shows default qtcurve style HOWEVER oxygen is selected. reapply oxygen works only for opened applications... all the new opened are again displayed with qtcurve - BUT oxygen is set to be the widget style. WTF???

unmerged qtcurve... and guess what? all the new applications are displayed with another installed engine.. BESPIN. but why the hell does it happening??? oxygen is selected in style settings.
if I unmerge bespin I'm pretty sure it will display every new launched app with crap like CDE or Motif

I already killed the whole /usr/share/config directory together with /usr/share/kde4 - problem still present :(((
deleting these two directories "killed" plasma desktop... just used `equery b /usr/share/{config,kde4}` and recompiled all the applications that put their files into those two directories... but it still displayes another widget style HOWEVER oxygen is always set to be default. what's wrong? is it a kde bug? or some config file gone crazy?

bespin installed + qtcurve installed + oxygen selected as widget style -> all apps are displayed with qtcurve style
bespin installed + qtcurve deleted + oxygen selected as widget style -> all apps are displayed with bespin styl

why doesn't it display everything with oxygen? it's default widget style which is set in system settings

any help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 3919
Location: Irgendwo im Nirgendwo

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you move away settings from ~/.config/ that have "Trolltech" and/or qt project in their name?
_________________
"der mac dennoch wesen geil"
Wolfram von Eschenbach, Parzival (Buch 1, Z. 7).
Ein frühes Statement gegen Windows.

My overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_artem_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

franzf wrote:
Could you move away settings from ~/.config/ that have "Trolltech" and/or qt project in their name?


moved Trolltech.conf, killed X, logged in, widget style issue is solved! ))) Thank you

Code:
[~/.config] $ ls -la Troll*
-rw-r--r-- 1 _artem_ _artem_  17210 Aug 25 17:38 Trolltech.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 _artem_ users   117592 Aug 25 14:11 Trolltech.conf.bak
[~/.config] $


but not highlighted menu/context menu items aren't solved :(( every second/third is highlighted when mouse hovers it :((

seams to be gtk related... kde menus are highlighted with default gray color... but opera-developer (version 25) and chrome and dropbox all 3 are highlighted with blue (seams to be some gtk theme of mine) BUT dropbox menu doesn't have such crap - every item is highlighted. chrome and opera-developer instead highlight only second or third item
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 3919
Location: Irgendwo im Nirgendwo

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great - seems you had a plugin cache issue.
Concerning your menu problem: It's an issue with oxygen-gtk (or the way chrome/opera/... use it to style the app). AFAIK both apps still use gtk+:2.
Could you try a different gtk2-theme? If that works better you might want to report your issues on bugs.kde.org.
_________________
"der mac dennoch wesen geil"
Wolfram von Eschenbach, Parzival (Buch 1, Z. 7).
Ein frühes Statement gegen Windows.

My overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_artem_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

franzf wrote:
Great - seems you had a plugin cache issue.
Concerning your menu problem: It's an issue with oxygen-gtk (or the way chrome/opera/... use it to style the app). AFAIK both apps still use gtk+:2.
Could you try a different gtk2-theme? If that works better you might want to report your issues on bugs.kde.org.


switched from oxygen-gtk to some random themes, restarted opera and chrome but both still show the same blue highlight with the same behavior
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 3919
Location: Irgendwo im Nirgendwo

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great. Have a look at your ~/.gtkrc-2.0. Does it contain an include of a file in your home-dir? Something like ".gtkrc.mine" or ".gtkrc-kde4"?
Place a # in front of the line (it's called "comment out the line"). and start chrome/opera/... Does ithis help?
It might be that kde gtk support places bad css in its gtkrc (or you did ;))
_________________
"der mac dennoch wesen geil"
Wolfram von Eschenbach, Parzival (Buch 1, Z. 7).
Ein frühes Statement gegen Windows.

My overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum