Atheros AR8131 Gigabit Ethernet card not loading
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Typedeph
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 6:38 pm    Post subject: Atheros AR8131 Gigabit Ethernet card not loading Reply with quote

Hello gentoo community. I'm having trouble getting my card recognized on reboot after following the gentoo handbook. For some reason the only interface recognized is the lo interface. My interface wlp3s0 is not listed with ifconfig. I have no idea how to proceed and have tried following this forum as its the only one i've found on the topic: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-895680-start-0.html. I was unable to to still detect the card. If anyone could lend a newbie a hand I would greatly appreciate it. It's probably a linux kernel compilation problem as I've never done this before.

Thank you for your time.
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it would help helpful, if you provide the output of
Code:
ifconfig -a
and
Code:
lspci -k

This is to double check, just in case the network card was labeled as something else or just not configured (i.e. having a ip address). The second is to make sure on what the system is saying the network card is (to help identify the correct driver).

Now, just a quick google search says; the driver for Atheros AR8131 is atl1c. So assuming that is the correct card, you may want to make sure that driver is either compiled in or as a module (I personaly perfer to have that driver compiled in myself)/

Code:

Symbol: ATL1C [=n]                                                                                   
  │ Type  : tristate                                                                       
  │ Prompt: Atheros L1C Gigabit Ethernet support                                         
  │   Location: