Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing gentoo after win7-extended patitions?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pmam
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 12:51 pm    Post subject: Installing gentoo after win7-extended patitions? Reply with quote

Hi,

I want to install gentoo on computer that has already win7, and afterword use multi-boot -
Due to that windows use 3 primary partitions -
Can I define gentoo's partitions as extended or I should change win's partitions to extended (how to do it?)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
warrens
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jan 2005
Posts: 231
Location: Don't Tread On Me!

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can put Gentoo on extended partitions, as with any other Linux distro.
_________________
The BIGGER the GOVERNMENT, the smaller the citizen.

DON'T TREAD ON ME!!!

My Bias #1
The best government is the government that governs least.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Warrens Hi,

So one partition, for instance - BIOS boot partition -
will be Primary and others will be Extended -
It's OK, or all partitions should be Extended?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 566

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam wrote:
Warrens Hi,

So one partition, for instance - BIOS boot partition -
will be Primary and others will be Extended -
It's OK, or all partitions should be Extended?

Thanks


You need only one extended partition. In fact extended it isn't a partition, it's just a container for other partitions

Here is my HDD layout:

Code:
/dev/sdb1   *          63    40965749    20482843+   7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sdb2        40966142   488396799   223715329    5  Extended
/dev/sdb5        40966144    44871679     1952768   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sdb6        44873728    87840767    21483520   83  Linux
/dev/sdb7        87842816   488396799   200276992    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT


sdb1 is a first partition for Windows, sdb2 is extended partition that occupies the rest of HDD space and which includes sdb5, sdb6 and sdb7.
_________________
Intel Core i3-2120 / 4Gb RAM / 250Gb HDD / NVidia GeForce-550Ti
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
warrens
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jan 2005
Posts: 231
Location: Don't Tread On Me!

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam wrote:
Warrens Hi,

So one partition, for instance - BIOS boot partition -
will be Primary and others will be Extended -
It's OK, or all partitions should be Extended?

Thanks


This really depends on whether the disk is partitioned as a GPT or MBR disk.

MBR disks are limited to 4 primary partitions. The boot record on these disks resides in the first 512 byte sector, called sector 0. One of the partitions has the boot flag set, allowing an operating system that is installed on the disk to boot. If more than one OS is installed a boot manger, such as GRUB must be used to select which OS will boot the computer.

By using one of the primary partitions on a MBR disk to hold the extended partition you can get past the 4 partition limitation of MBR and have as many partitions as you need. In this setting the partition that holds the Win7 OS needs to be a primary, while the other NTFS partitions can be on extended partitions. Linux can be booted from an extended partition, though I believe that ideally you would want the /boot partition on a primary partition with the boot flag set.

GPT disk are completely different. You do not have the limitations of MBR disks. You do need a boot partition, format vfat, for your first partition. This is where the boot loaders for various OSes reside. After that you can have has many primary partitions as you need, no need for extended partitions.

Older BIOSes only recognize MBR partitions. To use GPT here you need a hybrid MBR/GPT setup, this something that I do not have any experience with that would be helpful.

Modern systems have UEFI bios. They recognize GPT disk by default and MBR disk in legacy mode. It is better to use GPT disk here rather than MBR, because of GPT's advantages.
_________________
The BIGGER the GOVERNMENT, the smaller the citizen.

DON'T TREAD ON ME!!!

My Bias #1
The best government is the government that governs least.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Creaker Hi,

As I previously said, there is already WIN7 that occupy 3 Primary partitions -
So I do not understand what do you mean by saying that I need only one primary and the other extended?
I have already 3 primary - Do I need to change 2 windows partitions from primary to extended - Can I do it without damage to windows?
Maybe you refer to a situation that win7 is installed after Linux so we can decide the type of partitions...
BTW - Do you have only 2 Linux partitions - sdb5,6?

Warrens Hi,

I assume that UEFI is not relevant to my system - It depends on the motherboard and type of hardware/Bios -
So according to your post I should keep using MBR and gentoo will be installed:
The BIOS boot as primary and the other extended.
I hope this is the right way.

EDIT: I see that I can do the above - I need to define the fourth partition as Extended so all gentoo's partitions will be Extended.
Hope it will workout...

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Randy Andy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 1047
Location: /dev/koelsch

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi pmam.

pmam wrote:
Warrens Hi,

I assume that UEFI is not relevant to my system - It depends on the motherboard and type of hardware/Bios -
So according to your post I should keep using MBR and gentoo will be installed:
The BIOS boot as primary and the other extended.
I hope this is the right way.

EDIT: I see that I can do the above - I need to define the fourth partition as Extended so all gentoo's partitions will be Extended.
Hope it will workout...

Thanks

If you don't have an Windows 7 install DVD, your shouldn't repartition the first 3 partions nor convert your msdos partition scheme, to an GPT scheme. Otherwise your windows gets broken and have to be reinstalled.
I bet Windows uses the whole disc capactity, so you have shrink down the latest windows partition, if there is enought free space into, to get enought space for a Linux/Gentoo installation.

After that, you could repartition partition 4 to a extended partition, then you create into this conatnier so much logical partitions you may need (at least one is necessary).
Before shrinking your existing partition no. 3, you should backup your whole system, including MBR and space between it and the beginning of your 1st. partition, before doing such critical operations like shrinking and later the installation of a Bootloader.

Only then, you are able to reverse your system to the same state as before doing any faults.
Yo know now, where you could read all the basics to get the relevant information. :wink:

Much success, Andy.
_________________
If you want to see a Distro done right, compile it yourself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 566

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam wrote:

So I do not understand what do you mean by saying that I need only one primary and the other extended?
...
BTW - Do you have only 2 Linux partitions - sdb5,6?


I didn't said that you need only one primary partition and the other extended. You didn't read my message carefully.
You need only one extended partition.

As for my Linux partitions - I have one for root filesystem and one for swap (but swap not activated, so in fact I use only one partition).

OK, the best thing you can do is just boot into any linux livecd, run "fdisk -l" command as root and post your current HDD partitioning scheme. At least we will see whether you have free space for new partition or not.
_________________
Intel Core i3-2120 / 4Gb RAM / 250Gb HDD / NVidia GeForce-550Ti
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Creaker,

Sorry - I did not read your post well, I am quite tired :(
Anyway, as you and Andy suggested, I created the fourth partition,
as extended, and afterword create all the other 4 partitions -
I do it according the Handbook - I see that you use only one linux partition -
Interesting! I did not know it is possible...
Yes, I have enough free space and the installation is running ok.
The problem now is that grub2 does not find WIN7 - so by now I do not have multi-boot -
I do not know why this happens?

Dear Andy,

I did not change the Windows partitions.
No, Windows did not use the whole disk so I had space for gentoo.
As said, Grub2 do not find win7 - I hope no damage to windows but how can I make multi boot?
Your article is really comprehensive and essential for at least a beginner like me -
however it is quite difficult to read it after the 'damages' of google translator... :D
But I will do my best to read it because it has very important information to me!

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 566

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam wrote:

The problem now is that grub2 does not find WIN7 - so by now I do not have multi-boot -
I do not know why this happens?

Assuming you already installed Gentoo. If so, did you have installed os-prober? Grub will not find your windows without os-prober.
_________________
Intel Core i3-2120 / 4Gb RAM / 250Gb HDD / NVidia GeForce-550Ti
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Creaker,

I did not know os-prober is needed! Yes, Gentoo already installed and now installing a package.
After got your tip I googled 'os-prober' and saw that maybe sys-fs/ntfs3g is needed for WINDOWS -
Is it right? Anyway, I will install it after finish the current package.

EDIT: After installing os-prober (maybe this app is suitable when we have some Linux os, without windows), it did not work - so I installed sys-fs/ntfs3g -
at the end of the installing I got the message: "config_fuse_fs is not set when it should be".
grub2 still do not find win7.
Please advise!

Thanks a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 856
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam wrote:
at the end of the installing I got the message: "config_fuse_fs is not set when it should be".
grub2 still do not find win7.
Please advise!

Thanks a lot

That's no surprise, for it seems your running kernel does not have support for filesystems in userspace.

CONFIG_FUSE_FS (FUSE (Filesystem in Userspace) support) is under the File systems section when browsing via menuconfig. It's simply a matter of re-configuring and compiling a new kernel with this support enabled, and you should be good to go on this part.


I hope this helps! ^^
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Chiitoo,

After re-configuring and compiling with CONFIG_FUSE_FS, as you informed me -
Grub2 find win7 and it is solved! :D

I have another problem regarding grub2: I wanted to keep old kernels in case that something goes wrong, so I add '.old1' (I have already another old kernel '.old') - however the default booting kernel is not the new one but '.old1' - so I need to choose the new kernel each booting - Usually grub takes the kernel without 'old' as default - I do not know why now it is not ok and how to fix it? Here is the grub2 output and the list of kernels in /boot - so you can see the wrong kernels order:
Code:
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
Generating grub.cfg ...
Found linux image: /boot/kernel-3.12.13-gentoo.old1
Found linux image: /boot/kernel-3.12.13-gentoo
Found linux image: /boot/kernel-3.12.13-gentoo.old
  No volume groups found
Found Windows 7 (loader) on /dev/sda1
done

Code:

boot # ls -l
total 16391
drwxr-xr-x 6 root root    1024 Apr 17 16:07 grub
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 5613552 Apr 17 11:21 kernel-3.12.13-gentoo
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 5578256 Apr 16 00:36 kernel-3.12.13-gentoo.old
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 5578512 Apr 16 00:41 kernel-3.12.13-gentoo.old1
drwx------ 2 root root   12288 Apr 15 16:02 lost+found


Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum