Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
installing gentoo always fails
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kewinh95
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:51 pm    Post subject: installing gentoo always fails Reply with quote

i have just been installing Arch linux and plaed a litte bit with it but then i read that i often breaks stuff while updating with pacman..

so then i went to try installing gentoo. and yes i have read that it is a pain in the *** but i have tried to install it now 3-4 times.

i have been following a video on youtube and as i was watching it the same time as i was installing it i was reading the handbook also bit all 3-4 times it failed :/ i have learning a bit trying to install it and i understand linux a little bit more than i did before but it just feels like i have been doing it for nothing since i fail everytime

is there any one who has like a easier fail safe guide or something ? i really would like to try gentoo !
_________________
hi :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 903
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What are you having problems with, booting the first time?
You can always go back and fix just about anything if you chroot back from the livedcd;
Code:

livecd ~ # mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
livecd ~ # mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
livecd ~ # mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
livecd ~ # cd /mnt/gentoo
livecd # cd /
livecd / # mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
livecd / # mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
livecd / # mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
livecd / # cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/
livecd / # chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
livecd / # source /etc/profile


TBH when I do an install I ssh to the box I am installing to and then I can use my current box to ask on irc or search the forums, google etc if I run into problems. You can do the same if you install using something like system rescue cd or even another linux livedvd. I have even used ubuntu and fedora.

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Installation_alternatives#Installation_from_non-Gentoo_LiveCDs

The nice thing about using a live cd/dvd is you have a web browser to troublshoot with, the same way I use my home box and then ssh to the install target box.
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kewinh95
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

comprookie2000 wrote:
What are you having problems with, booting the first time?
You can always go back and fix just about anything if you chroot back from the livedcd;
Code:

livecd ~ # mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
livecd ~ # mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
livecd ~ # mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
livecd ~ # cd /mnt/gentoo
livecd # cd /
livecd / # mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
livecd / # mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
livecd / # mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
livecd / # cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/
livecd / # chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
livecd / # source /etc/profile


TBH when I do an install I ssh to the box I am installing to and then I can use my current box to ask on irc or search the forums, google etc if I run into problems. You can do the same if you install using something like system rescue cd or even another linux livedvd. I have even used ubuntu and fedora.

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Installation_alternatives#Installation_from_non-Gentoo_LiveCDs

The nice thing about using a live cd/dvd is you have a web browser to troublshoot with, the same way I use my home box and then ssh to the install target box.



i have been doing the exact same as this guy has done in this video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wgojSYLoa4g there are 5 of his way of installing gentoo even he is following the hanbook

and when it comes to the first reboot after the basics are done the alst time i got ( error 15 file not found ) i used grub legacy just like he did and his worked but not mine. well he forgot to make useradd -m -G users xxxxxxx <-- user name
so i did that in the beggining

i only did sda1 as swap
and sda2 as one partition for the rest.
_________________
hi :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32088
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kewinh95,

Error 15 means you have told grub to load a file it cannot find.

Boot your CD.
Mount your root at /mnt/gentoo
Do not chroot.
Make a note of the file names in /mnt/gentoo/boot, or use two VTs,

Edit your /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf
Be sure the kernel anh initrd file names are identical in both places.

For more help, post
Code:
ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot
and
Code:
less /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf

Don't copy type. If you only have a CLI, wgetpaste is your friend.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kewinh95
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
kewinh95,

Error 15 means you have told grub to load a file it cannot find.

Boot your CD.
Mount your root at /mnt/gentoo
Do not chroot.
Make a note of the file names in /mnt/gentoo/boot, or use two VTs,

Edit your /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf
Be sure the kernel anh initrd file names are identical in both places.

For more help, post
Code:
ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot
and
Code:
less /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf

Don't copy type. If you only have a CLI, wgetpaste is your friend.


http://i62.tinypic.com/zvtxg9.png

this is how i did. the man in the video changed some names vmlinuz and initrd to make it cleaner maybe that was what screwed everything up? now what do i need to change if i can manage to do it right hehe

i am not that good with al commands that could help xd and how to mount properly but im trying
_________________
hi :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
py-ro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 1493
Location: St. Wendel

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vmlinz vs vmlinuz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kewinh95
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

py-ro wrote:
vmlinz vs vmlinuz


oh god thnx i changed it to vmlinz so now both of them are vmlinz

i booted but now i got this http://i57.tinypic.com/5bogon.png

maybe i should try to install gentoo again without changing grub/grub.conf that i did like he did in the video to make it clean? what do you think ? when i have the time i could try that at least :) its night now and i am tired
_________________
hi :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7835
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kewinh95 wrote:
...i only did sda1 as swap
and sda2 as one partition for the rest. ...
But your /boot/grub/grub.conf file says
Code:
kernel /boot/vmlinz root=/dev/ram0 real_root=/dev/sda3
You don't have a /dev/sda3, do you?

Don't re-install. First, with Gentoo, you can almost always fix it. Second, learning to fix it will hone the skills you will need to maintain it. :wink:

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kewinh95
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John R. Graham wrote:
kewinh95 wrote:
...i only did sda1 as swap
and sda2 as one partition for the rest. ...
But your /boot/grub/grub.conf file says
Code:
kernel /boot/vmlinz root=/dev/ram0 real_root=/dev/sda3
You don't have a /dev/sda3, do you?

Don't re-install. First, with Gentoo, you can almost always fix it. Second, learning to fix it will hone the skills you will need to maintain it. :wink:

- John


no i only have /dev/sda1 as swap
and /dev/sda2 as root,boot,home i think you call it that when it is all in one partition.

i would rather have
/dev/sda1 = root
/dev/sda2 = home
/dev/sda3 = swap

some use var partitions and bios but
i have never done var partitions and bios partitions
_________________
hi :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 4294

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kewinh95 wrote:
Code:
kernel /boot/vmlinz root=/dev/ram0 real_root=/dev/sda3

no i only have /dev/sda1 as swap
and /dev/sda2 as root,boot,home i think you call it that when it is all in one partition.


So you're are saying : hey kernel use sda3 as root... And you have no sda3, you must tell kernel the root, that mean a valid partition and the one that hold your root, in your case sda2.
You should also know, grub allow you to edit a configuration (hit the e key) and change it, this will not be save in grub.conf, so once you have are able to boot, you must edit grub.conf to change it...
But this will allow you to "test" and reboot on failure without having to chroot or boot a livecd after each try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32088
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kewinh95,

Your real_root=/dev/sda3 is certainly incorrect, as others have pointed out.

However, I think its a bigger problem that that.
Your image contains the line
Code:
Could not find the root block device in .

Just before the full stop should be a list of all the block devices the kernel can see.
For you, it should contain at least /dev/sda1 and /dev/sda2

Modern kernels do not need to be told where to find the initrd that is loaded into memory by grub.
Code:
kernel /boot/vmlinz root=/dev/sda2
may be a better kernel line.
I suspect the initrd is no longer at /dev/ram0, so the modules needed to access your hard drive are not being loaded.

As krinn says, you can edit the in memory copy of grub.conf, so its easy to test.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kewinh95
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
kewinh95,

Your real_root=/dev/sda3 is certainly incorrect, as others have pointed out.

However, I think its a bigger problem that that.
Your image contains the line
Code:
Could not find the root block device in .

Just before the full stop should be a list of all the block devices the kernel can see.
For you, it should contain at least /dev/sda1 and /dev/sda2

Modern kernels do not need to be told where to find the initrd that is loaded into memory by grub.
Code:
kernel /boot/vmlinz root=/dev/sda2
may be a better kernel line.
I suspect the initrd is no longer at /dev/ram0, so the modules needed to access your hard drive are not being loaded.

As krinn says, you can edit the in memory copy of grub.conf, so its easy to test.


omg thnx ! i went to

nano -w /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf

and changed the line to what u wrote and it worked! now i dont remember what password i had so i need to go back and fix that too thnx everyone :) !
_________________
hi :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum