Boot Minimal CD (2013) SERIOUS problem on PowerBk and IBook
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Gnttng
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 6:47 pm    Post subject: Boot Minimal CD (2013) SERIOUS problem on PowerBk and IBook Reply with quote

Please I am new in this comunity, I don't know how to move if I ask for the 100dth time the same question please delete my thread.

Question:
I have succesfully installed Gentoo 2006.1 on my Powerbook G4 (1,67 Gh) some years ago (2007).
Now after many years I decided to install a newer edition and I downloaded the current 2013 ppc minimal iso but with my great astonishment it diden't boot any more either on my PowerBook or my IBook (both of them are the last ppc models released in 2005/2006).

I tried all the editions going from 2013 => to 2012 => 2010 => 2009 but unfortunately the error message was always the same.
Something like: "an error occurred.....the memory could not be addressed etc" and then the open firmware prompt tells me to give the command "mac-boot".
The only Cd that still boot is the 2006.1 edition.

What is the problem with the last 7 years of editions ?????

I am really discouraged cause I did not find where is the bug !
Can I use the 2006 edition to have a brand new install with all the new current packages ?
Thank you for listening to my wines.
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:36 pm    Post subject: Re: Boot Minimal CD (2013) SERIOUS problem on PowerBk and IB Reply with quote

Gnttng wrote:
...Can I use the 2006 edition to have a brand new install with all the new current packages ?
Yes you can. Nothing from the install CD actually ends up in the insalled Gentoo. You might also want to check out SystemRescueCD, though.

- John
Gnttng
n00b
n00b