Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problems with HDMI
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ozric
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Örebro, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:51 pm    Post subject: Problems with HDMI Reply with quote

I am having problems with my graphics card, specifically the HDMI output. I have connected my box to a TV and my plan is to watch movies using XBMC. My problems evolve around both audio and video. My video problem is that if I switch the TV off and back on again I'm not getting the picture back, I need to reboot my system to get the screen working.

My audioproblem is that while the analog output works, there is no sound from the HDMI output. I don't know if the outputs mirror each other or if they are different - in the sound settings in Gnome I can test my speakers using the analog output and the headphone output and it works, but there is no option to test the HDMI output. Have anyone been running into similar problems and been able to work them out? Are there any specific things I need to think of when compiling the kernel to get HDMI to work properly? I can chose HDMI as audio output in XBMC but if I do there is no sound coming. The analog works fine.


relevant info from lspci -v:

01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RS780L [Radeon 3000] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd Device d000
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 18
Memory at d0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
I/O ports at ee00 [size=256]
Memory at fdee0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
Memory at fdd00000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1M]
Expansion ROM at <unassigned> [disabled]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
Kernel driver in use: radeon

01:05.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RS780 HDMI Audio [Radeon (HD) 3000 Series]
Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RS780 HDMI Audio [Radeon (HD) 3000 Series]
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 19
Memory at fdefc000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel


Any help gladly appreciated. Please let me know what more information I should provide to troubleshoot the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Problems with HDMI Reply with quote

ozric wrote:
I am having problems with my graphics card, specifically the HDMI output. I have connected my box to a TV and my plan is to watch movies using XBMC. My problems evolve around both audio and video. My video problem is that if I switch the TV off and back on again I'm not getting the picture back, I need to reboot my system to get the screen working.


What happens if you try to reconnect the cable instead? (to see if it a "detection" or "must-be-connected-while-computer-boots" problem)

Can you try different drivers to see if it is a problem with your current driver? (it might help pinpoint if it is the driver, hardware or television)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozric
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Örebro, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you kindly for your response TomWij,


Did test a few different methods both from the default shell and from within X with the same results (I thought maybe it had to do something with power-saving); if I turn the television off and back on again there's no detection and the screen goes blank. But when unplugging and plugging the HDMI cable back in again, the screen comes back.

Would you be so kind to point me in the right direction regarding different drivers? I thought 'radeon' was the way to go but then I am not well experienced, neither with ATI or graphic cards in general.

It might be worth mentioning that the television set does not behave this way when connecting a PS3/blueray player or other accessories.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ozric wrote:
But when unplugging and plugging the HDMI cable back in again, the screen comes back.


That's an inprovement; as said, I think the drivers aren't doing good detection of the power state of the remote device or so.

ozric wrote:
Would you be so kind to point me in the right direction regarding different drivers? I thought 'radeon' was the way to go but then I am not well experienced, neither with ATI or graphic cards in general.


In my experience, though I am using NVIDIA, the open-source drivers work less well than the proprietary; so, you could try to set up the proprietary https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Fglrx if you don't mind.

ozric wrote:
It might be worth mentioning that the television set does not behave this way when connecting a PS3/blueray player or other accessories.


Which indeed points to the graphics card and/or the drivers as possible sources of the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebB
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 260
Location: S.O. France

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try with xandr?

What DE are you using?

Can you post emerge --info and aplay -l
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozric
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Örebro, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so I got a bit angry when I was not even able to get fglrx to work so I plugged in an Nvidia 610 card instead in the hope that it would eliminate my problems. It did to some extent, now I can switch the tv off and back on again so I'm feeling 50% satisfied. :)

However the sound problem remains. Before installing the Nvidia card I could only chose to test analog, headphone and digital outputs. From the sound control panel for Gnome I can now chose to test also the HDMI output, but it still doesn't work! The headphones/analog outputs are still good but no sound from HDMI. And in XBMC, the movies I test with start running at a faster speed when selecting the HDMI output instead of analog! Argh! Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozric
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Örebro, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also don't seem to have a command called aplay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2501
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ozric wrote:
I also don't seem to have a command called aplay.


alsa-utils pkg
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4(2010)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozric
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Örebro, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Anon-e-Moose, I didn't find the alsa packet before.

here's output from aplay-l

card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: VT2020 Analog [VT2020 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: VT2020 Digital [VT2020 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 2: VT2020 Alt Analog [VT2020 Alt Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebB
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 260
Location: S.O. France

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Run alsamixer in a terminal and verify if S/PDIF is unmuted "00"

Look if one of this command make sound on your TV
Code:
aplay -D plughw:1,3 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav
aplay -D hw:1,3 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav
aplay -D plughw:1,7 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav
aplay -D hw:1,7 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozric
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Örebro, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2014 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aplay tells me that it's an unknown device. However in alsamixer I notice that it says Card/Chip: Pulseaudio. This is from a terminal from within Gnome.
Aren't alsa and Pulseaudio kind of the same manager for sound? Sorry I'm not too good with this stuff. :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum