Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
problems with edup USB wireless adapter
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 7:01 pm    Post subject: problems with edup USB wireless adapter Reply with quote

I'm trying to configure wirless on my pc using the EDUP ed-1296
I really do not have much information so I just compiled many usb wireless devices as modules so I can find which module is required by this device
after rebooting I found the interface wlan0 and the additional loaded module:
zd1211rw
However I can't seem to be able to use the device:
localhost linux # iwconfig
eth0 no wireless extensions.

lo no wireless extensions.

sit0 no wireless extensions.

localhost linux # iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

here's my kernel config:
http://pastebin.com/0sp96exe

here's my dmesg ebtry:
376.780904] ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: shutdown urb ffff88028d662a80 ep3in-intr
[ 376.790413] zd1211rw 1-2:1.0: error ioread32(CR_REG1): -19
[ 376.818341] usb 1-2: device reset not allowed in state 0
[ 376.818364] usb 1-2: usb_disable_device nuking all URBs
[ 376.922060] hub 1-0:1.0: debounce: port 2: total 100ms stable 100ms status 0x100
[ 380.133110] hub 1-0:1.0: state 7 ports 6 chg 0000 evt 0004
[ 380.133117] ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: GetStatus port:2 status 001803 0 ACK POWER sig=j CSC CONNECT
[ 380.133123] hub 1-0:1.0: port 2, status 0501, change 0001, 480 Mb/s
[ 380.236354] hub 1-0:1.0: debounce: port 2: total 100ms stable 100ms status 0x501
[ 380.287267] ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: port 2 reset complete, port enabled
[ 380.287271] ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: GetStatus port:2 status 001005 0 ACK POWER sig=se0 PE CONNECT
[ 380.338088] usb 1-2: new high-speed USB device number 3 using ehci_hcd
[ 380.388991] ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: port 2 reset complete, port enabled
[ 380.388995] ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: GetStatus port:2 status 001005 0 ACK POWER sig=se0 PE CONNECT
[ 380.452818] usb 1-2: default language 0x0409
[ 380.453066] usb 1-2: udev 3, busnum 1, minor = 2
[ 380.453068] usb 1-2: New USB device found, idVendor=079b, idProduct=004a
[ 380.453070] usb 1-2: New USB device strings: Mfr=16, Product=32, SerialNumber=0
[ 380.453071] usb 1-2: Product: 802.11b/g USB WLAN
[ 380.453073] usb 1-2: Manufacturer: ZyDAS
[ 380.453131] usb 1-2: usb_probe_device
[ 380.453133] usb 1-2: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
[ 380.453320] usb 1-2: adding 1-2:1.0 (config #1, interface 0)
[ 380.453353] zd1211rw 1-2:1.0: usb_probe_interface
[ 380.453355] zd1211rw 1-2:1.0: usb_probe_interface - got id
[ 380.504670] ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: port 2 reset complete, port enabled
[ 380.504674] ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: GetStatus port:2 status 001005 0 ACK POWER sig=se0 PE CONNECT
[ 380.555517] usb 1-2: reset high-speed USB device number 3 using ehci_hcd
[ 380.606388] ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: port 2 reset complete, port enabled
[ 380.606392] ehci_hcd 0000:00:12.2: GetStatus port:2 status 001005 0 ACK POWER sig=se0 PE CONNECT
[ 380.670263] ieee80211 phy1: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel_ht'
[ 380.670361] zd1211rw 1-2:1.0: phy1



thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32328
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakdeath

zd1211rw is only half a device - the other half is firmware.

There is firmware here
search dmesg for errors about firmware loading
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2013 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have installed the corresponding firmware
I cannot verify that the firmware is loading though, I can't find any errors either
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

help! anyone!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32328
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakdeath,

Provoke the driver - rename the firmware so that it cannot be found.
That should get you an error in dmesg. If so, no error means the firmware was found.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've completely removed the firmware, everything is the same in dmesg once I connect the usb stick
ehci_hcd 0000:00:13.2: GetStatus port:6 status 001803 0 ACK POWER sig=j CSC CONNECT
[ 78.966712] hub 2-0:1.0: port 6, status 0501, change 0001, 480 Mb/s
[ 79.070349] hub 2-0:1.0: debounce: port 6: total 100ms stable 100ms status 0x501
[ 79.121264] ehci_hcd 0000:00:13.2: port 6 reset complete, port enabled
[ 79.121269] ehci_hcd 0000:00:13.2: GetStatus port:6 status 001005 0 ACK POWER sig=se0 PE CONNECT
[ 79.172083] usb 2-6: new high-speed USB device number 2 using ehci_hcd
[ 79.222986] ehci_hcd 0000:00:13.2: port 6 reset complete, port enabled
[ 79.222990] ehci_hcd 0000:00:13.2: GetStatus port:6 status 001005 0 ACK POWER sig=se0 PE CONNECT
[ 79.286812] usb 2-6: default language 0x0409
[ 79.287060] usb 2-6: udev 2, busnum 2, minor = 129
[ 79.287062] usb 2-6: New USB device found, idVendor=079b, idProduct=004a
[ 79.287063] usb 2-6: New USB device strings: Mfr=16, Product=32, SerialNumber=0
[ 79.287065] usb 2-6: Product: 802.11b/g USB WLAN
[ 79.287066] usb 2-6: Manufacturer: ZyDAS
[ 79.287136] usb 2-6: usb_probe_device
[ 79.287138] usb 2-6: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
[ 79.287310] usb 2-6: adding 2-6:1.0 (config #1, interface 0)
[ 79.382880] zd1211rw 2-6:1.0: usb_probe_interface
[ 79.382883] zd1211rw 2-6:1.0: usb_probe_interface - got id
[ 79.433425] ehci_hcd 0000:00:13.2: port 6 reset complete, port enabled
[ 79.433430] ehci_hcd 0000:00:13.2: GetStatus port:6 status 001005 0 ACK POWER sig=se0 PE CONNECT
[ 79.484260] usb 2-6: reset high-speed USB device number 2 using ehci_hcd
[ 79.535168] ehci_hcd 0000:00:13.2: port 6 reset complete, port enabled
[ 79.535172] ehci_hcd 0000:00:13.2: GetStatus port:6 status 001005 0 ACK POWER sig=se0 PE CONNECT
[ 79.598996] ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel_ht'
[ 79.599095] zd1211rw 2-6:1.0: phy0
[ 79.599108] usbcore: registered new interface driver zd1211rw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

any new ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32328
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakdeath,

Well, we can be sure the firmware is not loading now.

Is the zd1211rw kernel module built in or a loadable module?
It must be a module if the firmware is in /lib/firmware
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's a loadable modules, lsmod shows the module is loaded automatically
would it make any difference If I build it in the kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32328
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakdeath,

You need to build the firmware in too. Thats harder.
Do you see any firmware related messages in dmesg?

The firmware isn't in linux-firmware. Google leads here
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nope, there aren't any firmware messages in dmesg
If by build the firmware into the kernel you mean check the include in kernel firmware blobs, then I've done so, and the blobs root directory is /lib/firmware/
here's that directory:
localhost linux # ls /lib/firmware/
kaweth radeon zd1211
localhost linux # ls /lib/firmware/zd1211/
zd1211b_ub zd1211b_uphr zd1211b_ur zd1211_ub zd1211_uphr zd1211_ur


if this isn't it, where can I find information about including firmware into the kernel?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32328
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakdeath,

Thats something different. You need to provide a path and file name in

Code:
 │ │    (aoeuidhtns) External firmware blobs to build into the kernel binary      │ │ 
 │ │    (firmware) Firmware blobs root directory

aoeuidhtns is bogus but is the string is empty the second option is hidden.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not sure I quite get this, I've created an entry for each file under the zd directory:
localhost ~ # ls /lib/firmware/zd1211/
zd1211b_ub zd1211b_uphr zd1211b_ur zd1211_ub zd1211_uphr zd1211_ur

just like I did for my radeon card
external firmware blobs:
/ zd1211/zd1211_ub zd1211/zd1211_uphr zd1211/zd1211_ur ...etc

as a result I no longer have the wlan0 interface
don't know exactly what information to provide here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32328
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakdeath,

If │ │ (firmware) Firmware blobs root directory is /lib/firmware/
then zd1211/zd1211b is the form of entries in External firmware blobs to build into the kernel binary
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still need to clear out sth, by adding those entries into 'External firmware blobs to build into the kernel binary'
does that mean they are going to be automatically built in for me, or are there other steps that need to be done?

this is all new to me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32328
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

blakdeath,

In general, there are two ways to make kernel modules that require firmware work.
Build the kernel code al a module and put the uncompressed firmware, including the provided directory structure, into /lib/firmware.
The firmware will be loaded when the module is initialised. Loading the module and firmware require that root is mounted.

The alternative is to build the kernel code into the kernel binary and tell the kernel where to find the firmware at kernel build time, using the kernel options we have been discussing. The two options are concatenated to form full path names.
The firmware is then included in the kernel binary. As above, when the kernel code is initialised, the firmware is loaded from within the kernel before root is mounted.

The other two combinations of modules and firmware both fail. The former is easier to make work as you need less kernel builds while you play.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://cateee.net/lkddb/web-lkddb/EXTRA_FIRMWARE.html

as far as I understand, placing the files that need to be added to the kernel binary under the CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE directive. and here's mine:
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="radeon/CEDAR_me.bin radeon/CEDAR_pfp.bin radeon/CEDAR_rlc.bin radeon/CYPRESS_me.bin radeon/CYPRESS_pfp.bin radeon/CYPRESS_rlc.bin radeon/JUNIPER_me.bin radeon/JUNIPER_pfp.bin radeon/JUNIPER_rlc.bin radeon/REDWOOD_me.bin radeon/REDWOOD_pfp.bin radeon/REDWOOD_rlc.bin zd1211/zd1211b_ub zd1211/zd1211b_uphr zd1211/zd1211b_ur zd1211/zd1211_ub zd1211/zd1211_uphr zd1211/zd1211_ur"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

silly me, apparently I forgot to compile wext into the kernel
the problem is solved now ;D
sorry to have wasted everyone's time
and thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum