Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Issues with updating due to python-exec changes
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 3923
Location: Irgendwo im Nirgendwo

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:39 am    Post subject: Issues with updating due to python-exec changes Reply with quote

Code:
# emerge -pv "=dev-lang/python-exec-0.3.1" "=dev-python/python-exec-10000.2" --nodeps
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

[ebuild  N     ] dev-lang/python-exec-0.3.1  PYTHON_TARGETS="(jython2_5) (jython2_7) (python2_6) (python2_7) (python3_2) (-pypy2_0) (-python3_3)" 0 kB
[ebuild     U ~] dev-python/python-exec-10000.2:2 [2.0-r2:2] PYTHON_TARGETS="(jython2_5) (jython2_7) (pypy2_0) (python2_6) (python2_7) (python3_2) (python3_3)" 0 kB

I did NOT change defaults for PYTHON_TARGETS. Is there a reason why pypy2_0 and python3_3 got disabled after the recent changes? dev-python/python-exec-0.3.1 has them enabled.
The issue now is that portage wants to force me to install the hardmasked dev-lang/python-exec-0.9999.

Did I miss something?
Is it still "work in progress"?
How to proceed?

On another machine I still can stick to python-exec-10000.1, so I don't face this problem, update went without an issue.

Thx
Franz
_________________
"der mac dennoch wesen geil"
Wolfram von Eschenbach, Parzival (Buch 1, Z. 7).
Ein frühes Statement gegen Windows.

My overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
littletux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not shure about your configuration, but i think you can do it like mine and make a
Code:

emerge -C dev-python/python-exec && emerge dev-python/python-exec

that has done it on my system
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 3923
Location: Irgendwo im Nirgendwo

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, tried it though I already knew it would fail - as it did. Do you use dev-python/python-exec-10000.2? Because with .1 I also have no issue (as stated)
_________________
"der mac dennoch wesen geil"
Wolfram von Eschenbach, Parzival (Buch 1, Z. 7).
Ein frühes Statement gegen Windows.

My overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gienah
Developer
Developer


Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Posts: 127
Location: AU

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have these 2 lines in /etc/portage/package.keywords:

Code:
dev-lang/python-exec
dev-python/python-exec


I added the dev-lang/python-exec to resolve blocks while trying to emerge, and added it like:

Code:
# equery list dev-lang/python-exec   
 * Searching for python-exec in dev-lang ...
!!! No installed packages matching 'dev-lang/python-exec'
# emerge -auvDN --keep-going world =dev-lang/python-exec-2.0


And now I have these versions installed:

Code:
# equery list dev-lang/python-exec dev-python/python-exec   
 * Searching for python-exec in dev-lang ...
[IP-] [  ] dev-lang/python-exec-0.3.1:0
[IP-] [  ] dev-lang/python-exec-2.0:2

 * Searching for python-exec in dev-python ...
[IP-] [  ] dev-python/python-exec-10000.2:2
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike81
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2011
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I think I faced the same problem:

Code:
# emerge --ask --verbose --update --deep --with-bdeps=y --newuse world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild     U  ] app-portage/portage-utils-0.41 [0.40] USE="-static" 394 kB
[ebuild     U  ] sys-apps/openrc-0.12.4 [0.12.3] USE="ncurses netifrc pam unicode -debug -newnet (-prefix) (-selinux) -static-libs -tools" 129 kB
[ebuild  N     ] dev-lang/python-exec-2.0:2  PYTHON_TARGETS="(jython2_5) (jython2_7) (pypy2_0) (python2_6) (python2_7) (python3_2) (python3_3)" 0 kB
[ebuild  N     ] dev-lang/python-exec-0.3.1  PYTHON_TARGETS="(jython2_5) (jython2_7) (pypy2_0) (python2_6) (python2_7) (python3_2) (python3_3)" 0 kB
[uninstall     ] dev-python/python-exec-0.3.1  PYTHON_TARGETS="(jython2_5) (jython2_7) (pypy2_0) (python2_6) (python2_7) (python3_2) (python3_3)"
[ebuild     U  ] dev-python/python-exec-10000.2:2 [2.0-r3:2] PYTHON_TARGETS="(jython2_5) (jython2_7) (pypy2_0) (python2_6) (python2_7) (python3_2) (python3_3)" 0 kB
[blocks b      ] <dev-python/python-exec-10000 ("<dev-python/python-exec-10000" is blocking dev-lang/python-exec-2.0, dev-lang/python-exec-0.3.1)

Total: 5 packages (3 upgrades, 2 new, 1 uninstall), Size of downloads: 523 kB
Conflict: 1 block


After reading changelogs and looking into the ebuild I solved this by unmerging "dev-python/python-exec", which unmerged "dev-python/python-exec-0.3.1" and "dev-python/python-exec-2.0-r3".

Now, I was able to update my system:

Code:
# emerge --ask --verbose --update --deep --with-bdeps=y --newuse world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild     U  ] app-portage/portage-utils-0.41 [0.40] USE="-static" 394 kB
[ebuild  N     ] dev-lang/python-exec-2.0:2  PYTHON_TARGETS="(jython2_5) (jython2_7) (pypy2_0) (python2_6) (python2_7) (python3_2) (python3_3)" 0 kB
[ebuild  N     ] dev-lang/python-exec-0.3.1  PYTHON_TARGETS="(jython2_5) (jython2_7) (pypy2_0) (python2_6) (python2_7) (python3_2) (python3_3)" 0 kB
[ebuild  N     ] dev-python/python-exec-10000.2:2  PYTHON_TARGETS="(jython2_5) (jython2_7) (pypy2_0) (python2_6) (python2_7) (python3_2) (python3_3)" 0 kB
[ebuild     U  ] sys-apps/openrc-0.12.4 [0.12.3] USE="ncurses netifrc pam unicode -debug -newnet (-prefix) (-selinux) -static-libs -tools" 129 kB

Total: 5 packages (2 upgrades, 3 new), Size of downloads: 523 kB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 3923
Location: Irgendwo im Nirgendwo

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I started to rebuild some pkgs that forced dev-lang/python-exec-0.9999, until I got tired and did
Code:
emerge -1avt --nodeps $(qdepends -q -N -C -Q python-exec)

Which only left pygobject:2 as a last pkg (Slot '2' un-remerged through mentioned cmd). Now everything is fine.
I now ask myself why I do (did) have those issues but none of you. Is it because I used paludis until some weeks ago?
_________________
"der mac dennoch wesen geil"
Wolfram von Eschenbach, Parzival (Buch 1, Z. 7).
Ein frühes Statement gegen Windows.

My overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1382
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

franzf wrote:
I started to rebuild some pkgs that forced dev-lang/python-exec-0.9999, until I got tired and did
Code:
emerge -1avt --nodeps $(qdepends -q -N -C -Q python-exec)

Which only left pygobject:2 as a last pkg (Slot '2' un-remerged through mentioned cmd). Now everything is fine.
I now ask myself why I do (did) have those issues but none of you. Is it because I used paludis until some weeks ago?
I currently have the same issue:
Code:
Conflict: 1 block

!!! Multiple package instances within a single package slot have been pulled
!!! into the dependency graph, resulting in a slot conflict:

dev-lang/python-exec:0

  (dev-lang/python-exec-0.9999::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    dev-lang/python-exec:0[python_targets_jython2_5(-)?, python_targets_jython2_7(-)?, python_targets_pypy2_0(-)?, python_targets_python3_2(-)?, python_targets_python3_3(-)?, python_targets_python2_6(-)?, python_targets_python2_7(-)?, -python_single_target_jython2_5(-), -python_single_target_jython2_7(-), -python_single_target_pypy2_0(-), -python_single_target_python3_2(-), -python_single_target_python3_3(-), -python_single_target_python2_6(-), -python_single_target_python2_7(-)] required by (dev-python/python-exec-10000.1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)

  (dev-lang/python-exec-0.3.1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    (no parents that aren't satisfied by other packages in this slot)


!!! Enabling --newuse and --update might solve this conflict.
!!! If not, it might help emerge to give a more specific suggestion.


The following keyword changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.accept_keywords" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by dev-python/PyQt4-4.10.2
# required by kde-misc/synaptiks-0.8.1-r4
# required by @kde_sed
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
=dev-lang/python-exec-0.9999 **

NOTE: The --autounmask-keep-masks option will prevent emerge
      from creating package.unmask or ** keyword changes.

Would you like to add these changes to your config files? [Yes/No] no
I am trying with unmerging python-exec now...

Edit: Didn't work out. I'll try your command over qdepends now, which results in:
Code:
 ~ # emerge -1avt --nodeps $(qdepends -q -N -C -Q python-exec)
 * --tree is broken with --nodeps. Disabling...

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

[ebuild   R    ] app-portage/smart-live-rebuild-1.3  PYTHON_TARGETS="-python2_6 python2_7 (-python3_1%) python3_2 (-python3_3)" 16 kB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 16 kB
That's most unfunny. The issue remains afterwards.

So emerging first dev-lang/python-exec and then de-python/python-exec individually now.
_________________
I *do* know that I easily aggravate people due to my condensed writing. Rule of thumb: If I wrote anything that can be understood in two different ways, and one way offends you, then I meant the other! ;)


Last edited by Yamakuzure on Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:47 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1152

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is the difference:
Code:
 diff /usr/bin/python-exec /usr/lib/python-exec/python-exec2
1c1
< #!/usr/bin/python-exec-c
---
> #!/usr/lib/python-exec/python-exec2-c
26c26,27
<       __file__ = sys.argv[0] + '-' + EPYTHON
---
>       __file__ = os.path.join('/usr/lib/python-exec', EPYTHON,
>                       os.path.basename(sys.argv[0]))
Somewhere in the bugs I read python-exec2 is the precondition to depclean python-exec-0.3
but it isn't, perhaps I have to clean up my python_targets?
Code:
 # emerge -c =dev-lang/python-exec-0.3.1

Calculating dependencies  .. ... done!
  dev-lang/python-exec-0.3.1 pulled in by:
    dev-python/python-exec-10000.2 requires dev-lang/python-exec:0[python_targets_jython2_5(-),python_targets_jython2_7(-),python_targets_pypy2_0(-), ....ALL-OF-PYTHONTARGETS]

[edit] I just saw python-exec-10000.2.ebuild pulls both:
RDEPEND="dev-lang/python-exec:0[${PYTHON_USEDEP}]
dev-lang/python-exec:2[${PYTHON_USEDEP}]"
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1382
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dev-lang/python-exec-0.9999 has the Targets pypy2_0 and python3_3 which dev-lang/python-exec-0.3.1 does not have. But both dev-python/python-exec-10000.2 and dev-python/python-exec-10000.2 want a dev-lang/python-exec:0 with the same target setting.

As those are forced ("masked enabled") maybe the targets (I do not need anyway) could be just unmasked and disabled?
_________________
I *do* know that I easily aggravate people due to my condensed writing. Rule of thumb: If I wrote anything that can be understood in two different ways, and one way offends you, then I meant the other! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2013 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

python-exec is currently problematic due to some mistake that has happened; it'll be resolved as soon as the right way to go forward and the work to do so is done, there might be workarounds available on the forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2013 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Err, oops, accidental double post.

Last edited by TomWij on Sat Nov 02, 2013 1:56 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2322
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2013 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why is python-exec in both dev-lang and dev-python? Is it in transition?
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JiriHorky
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TomWij wrote:
python-exec is currently problematic due to some mistake that has happened; it'll be resolved as soon as the right way to go forward and the work to do so is done, there might be workarounds available on the forum.


Is there a bug opened for this? This problem practically prevents anything from beining emerged and thus making the system almost unusable :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is in our collective memory and talked about in multiple places (multiple IRC channels, the mailing lists, ...) so there isn't really a bug.

There are two ways to solve this; if the former doesn't help, the latter should:

Quote:
emerge -auvDN @world
emerge -1v dev-python/python-exec


You might also need to emerge reverse dependencies again:

Quote:
emerge -1v $( qdepends -NCQ dev-python/python-exec )


(This Last one needs app-portage/portage-utils)

Source: http://article.gmane.org/gmane.linux.gentoo.devel/88686

The entire discussion can be read here (threads) or here (flat).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1382
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@TomWij, unfortunately, for me, none of these helped me. I always ended up with portage insisting of pulling in dev-lang/python-exec-0.9999, which I eventually unkeyworded and emerged.
_________________
I *do* know that I easily aggravate people due to my condensed writing. Rule of thumb: If I wrote anything that can be understood in two different ways, and one way offends you, then I meant the other! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAPHEAD
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jun 2003
Posts: 102
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for me it was sufficient to unmerge dev-python/python-exec and (re)merge the packets in question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1382
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you, like me, keep having problems with python-exec, please take a look into
/etc/portage/package.accept_keywords and
/etc/portage/profile/package.use.mask
I had python 3.3 target unmasked in there to be able to emerge media-gfx/blender - some months ago this was necessary.

After removing the "workarounds" for blender, updating @world just went through fine.
_________________
I *do* know that I easily aggravate people due to my condensed writing. Rule of thumb: If I wrote anything that can be understood in two different ways, and one way offends you, then I meant the other! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bastibasti
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unmerging python-exec worked fine. Thank you for that hint RAPHEAD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgorny
Developer
Developer


Joined: 27 Apr 2007
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Python 3.3 flags are masked through use.stable.mask on stable packages. In order to use them on a stable system, you are supposed to create /etc/portage/profile/use.stable.mask like:

Code:
-python_targets_python3_3
-python_single_target_python3_3


and not play with package.accept_keywords. This mistake seems to be a pretty common cause of issues with updates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
j_c_p
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Aug 2003
Posts: 296
Location: France - Colmar

PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gienah wrote:
I have these 2 lines in /etc/portage/package.keywords:

Code:
dev-lang/python-exec
dev-python/python-exec


I added the dev-lang/python-exec to resolve blocks while trying to emerge, and added it like:

Code:
# equery list dev-lang/python-exec   
 * Searching for python-exec in dev-lang ...
!!! No installed packages matching 'dev-lang/python-exec'
# emerge -auvDN --keep-going world =dev-lang/python-exec-2.0


And now I have these versions installed:

Code:
# equery list dev-lang/python-exec dev-python/python-exec   
 * Searching for python-exec in dev-lang ...
[IP-] [  ] dev-lang/python-exec-0.3.1:0
[IP-] [  ] dev-lang/python-exec-2.0:2

 * Searching for python-exec in dev-python ...
[IP-] [  ] dev-python/python-exec-10000.2:2
#

Thanks gienah : that does the trick for me.
_________________
Lian Li PC60 - AMD Phenom II X6 1100T BE - Asrock 990FX EXTREME9 - MSI 480GTX TFII - M-Audio Delta Audiophile 24/96
Kernel 3.14.4 KDE 4.13.1 GCC 4.8.2 x86_64 05/16/2014
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 3923
Location: Irgendwo im Nirgendwo

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wonderful... Got the same issues as 2 weeks ago. But this time the reemerges did not fix the issues. I am tired. Really... The only thing that fixes it is using dev-lang/python-exec-0.9999. I am going that route now, as it took more than one hour without a result...
_________________
"der mac dennoch wesen geil"
Wolfram von Eschenbach, Parzival (Buch 1, Z. 7).
Ein frühes Statement gegen Windows.

My overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it a blocker this time? Because changes to the Portage tree have been made to solve the blocker for everyone; as a down side, dev-lang/python-exec:0 (and thus that version) needs to be installed but that's just a few kB so shouldn't matter. In the near future the old dev-python/python-exec will be cleaned, which cleans dev-lang/python-exec:0 if you don't need it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 3923
Location: Irgendwo im Nirgendwo

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, it was the PYTHON_USE_DEP again, and the fact that pypy2 and python3_3 were use masked for :0. But after another sync today I saw that for python-exec:0 stable those two pythontargets are magically available (they were not yet after the sync yesterday), so probably this one is finally solved for me, too...
_________________
"der mac dennoch wesen geil"
Wolfram von Eschenbach, Parzival (Buch 1, Z. 7).
Ein frühes Statement gegen Windows.

My overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum